致那些认为“我还年轻不需要为退休而储蓄”的人们的一封信

作者:Kayleigh Yerdon(康奈尔大学) 亲爱的青年储蓄者,

让我们直接切入正题:你或许还很年轻,但你已经毫无疑问的到了为退休储蓄的年龄。你也许今年18岁而且只挣一份最低工资,或您已经30岁但依然觉得离退休还很遥远。你觉得自己在退休之前还有大量的时间所以现在没有必要考虑这个问题,对吧?恰恰相反,无论你的个人情况是什么样的,你都应该马上开始为退休而储蓄。

你也许在攒钱买你的第一栋房或第一辆车;你也许在支付每月的房租,或者你只是觉得你没有多余的薪水留出来为退休做准备。这些都是常见的感受,而且它们在短时间内可能不会消失 – 你的人生才刚刚起步。然而,这并不意味着你不能开始储蓄。事实上,你把越多的时间投入到攒钱买房和买车,你将会等待越久才开始为退休储蓄。相信我,你不会想要等到50岁的时候才发现自己没有任何积蓄,即使你终于拥有了房子或车子。

所以,你迟早需要开始储蓄。但钱从哪里来呢?如果你有养老保险——一个让员工在税前保留并投资一部分薪水的计划 – 你可能对这个模式还有些疑惑。(下周我们会发表关于养老保险的详细解析)。但是如果你的雇主不提供养老保险计划,你将不得不通过其它渠道来确保你在退休后有足够的积蓄。

你的第一个问题应该是,拥有多少积蓄才能舒适的退休?这可能是最难回答的问题,因为它没有一个准确的答案。然而,专家一般建议遵循4%的准则。这是说你应该能够在第一年和后续的每一年取出你账户中4%的资金(通货膨胀率考虑在内)。

考虑到这一点,你可以开通一个单独的储蓄账户或退休账户;通过开通前者,你可以告诫自己不要动用你目前的积蓄。如果你开通一个储蓄账户,你获得的利息将会被征税,但你从账户提款将无需缴税。如果你想用你的钱投资并尽可能的获利,则可以考虑开通一个退休账户。此类账户产生的利息无需征税,所以你的钱可以随时间的推移而不断累积;但你提款的时候需要缴税。

退休账户是一个使你可以通过一家投资公司使用你现有的资金为退休投资的计划。一般来说,储蓄无需缴税而提款则按照普通薪水来征税。你可以根据需要合理分配你的资金来投资股票、债券、交易所交易基金或互惠基金直到你退休为止。从这点来说,你只能在59岁半(或更早——如果你愿意支付一些罚款)回收你的资金,这是为了鼓励投资者做长远打算。在我看来,同时开通两种账户是最明智的做法,因为退休账户在投资人50岁之前有$5,500的投资金额限制。不管怎么说,开始储蓄都是理智的选择,无论是通过哪一种方式。

开始储蓄的最佳方式是从小处着手。即使是微不足道的金额也能帮助你逐渐养成储蓄的习惯。所以,尽快决定你储蓄的目标并开始存入小额的资金。你应该保留这些资金在你的账户里直到退休,相信我,等你59岁半时会为你的决定感到庆幸。

 

谨启,

一名青年储蓄者

A letter for those who say: “I’m too young to be saving for retirement”

by Kayleigh Yerdon, Cornell University Dear Young Money-Saver,

Let’s cut to the chase really quick: you may be young, but you are absolutely NOT too young to start saving for retirement. You might be 18 years old and working a minimum wage job or maybe you’re 30 and just see retirement as way too far off. You have so much time before you get to retirement that you might as well just think about it later, right? Wrong. Whatever your situation, you should start saving for retirement right now.

We can be realistic. You might be saving up for your first house or your first car. You might be paying monthly rent or feel that you just simply don’t have enough money in your paychecks to put any aside for retirement. These are normal feelings and they probably won’t go away any time soon – you’re just starting out. However, that doesn’t mean that you can’t start to save. In fact, the more time you spend thinking about how you “have to save absolutely all of your money up for your *insert (car / house / rent / vacation / etc.) here*,” the more time you’ll end up waiting on saving for retirement. Trust me, you won’t want to be the person who wakes up at age 50 with no retirement savings, even if you finally have your nice house/car/etc.

So, you’ll need to start somewhere. Where can the money come from? If you have a 401(k) plan – a plan that lets workers save and invest a portion of their paychecks before taxes are taken out – you may be a little confused about how it works. (Check in with the Weekly Drive next week for a full explanation of 401(k) plans!) But, if your employer doesn’t offer a 401(k) plan, you’re going to have to turn elsewhere to make sure you’re still saving enough money to retire comfortably.

Your first question should be, how much is enough money to “retire comfortably?” This might be the hardest question you come across – there really is no easy answer. However, the rule of thumb from many experts is the 4% Rule. This is the idea that you should be able to withdraw four percent of your account in the first year of use and then four percent (adjusted for inflation) each consecutive year.

With that in mind, you might consider starting a separate savings account or an IRA account. By creating a separate savings account, you might be able to will yourself into not touching your saved assets until later. When you open a savings account, you are taxed on interest, but not on any withdrawals you make from your account. If you’d rather invest your money and see it potentially grow, you might consider an IRA. In an IRA, you are not taxed on interest, so your money has the opportunity to compound over time, and you pay taxes when you make withdrawals.

An IRA is a plan that allows you to invest your money for retirement through an investment firm. In a regular IRA, the contributions are not taxed as income and the withdrawals are taxed as ordinary income. You can choose what stocks, bonds, ETFs, or mutual funds you want to allocate your money to and then leave your money invested until retirement. From that point, you can only receive your money at age 59 ½ (or earlier if you’re willing to pay some penalties), which encourages investors to leave their money saved for later. In my opinion, it is wise to fund both kinds of these accounts for retirement, as there are contribution limits of $5,500 for investors below the age of 50 for IRA accounts. However, either way, it is smart to begin saving as you see fit.

The best way to start saving is to start small. Even the littlest of contributions can end up getting you into a habit of making contributions in the future. So, figure out how much you aim to save early and start making small deposits when you can. The money you put into these accounts should be left until your retirement and trust me, you’ll thank yourself at age 59 ½.

 

Best Wishes,

Another Young Money-Saver