婴儿潮,拿把铲子帮助千禧儿们掘离债务危机

作者:Neale Godfrey 如果您问一位典型的千禧儿什么让他们最为烦恼,你会窘促地发现恐怖主义、气候变化,甚至失业问题名列榜首之中。 那么,他们最大的担忧是什么? 债务。

随着年龄介入18-34岁的千禧一代的到来,他们7千4百万的人口远远超过了作为人口最多的婴儿潮一代。在千禧一代陷入债务的漩涡里不能自拔之前,事先让婴儿潮一代做足备战措施或许也是个好主意。 那么,债务的主要来源是什么? 助学贷款正在拖垮年轻的一代。 福布斯 最近一篇 由玛吉麦格拉思所写的文章说: “......美国优秀学生的债务已激增到1万2千亿美元并持续增加 - 而青壮年的购房能力、结婚及生育率却呈反方向发展......”

跟据Bankrate,承担着这些债务的千禧儿们之所以遭遇困境的原由是:“陷入债务会削弱您长期财务的健康状况。” 当被问及进一步讨论沉重债务负担的其它后果时,Michael Guillemette 博士兼金融理财师解释说:“一旦您不能再偿还债务,真正的杀伤力就开始了。 也许您的信用评分在下滑。 或许,您的房子会被没收。 更糟的是:失控的债务足以拆散一个家庭。” 此外,根据Bankrate的调查,“超过1/7的联邦贷款的借贷人在偿还的三年内就开始拖欠欠款。”

美国新闻及世界报道指出:“这种债务对于千禧一代来说,可能会导致他们的信用评分降低, 并且将来 可获得的贷款总数也会减少。 如果正如这篇文章所说:新生一代被称为“次级的一代”, 那是非常不幸的。 我们都对贷款和借款的影响非常了解,并知道它们是如何导致经济衰退的。

根据会计日报 的一项调查显示:“百分之四十二的千禧一代说他们的债务‘很巨大’。这个比例是同时也参加调查的婴儿潮一代的两倍。” 其实,我们婴儿潮一代也承认 这一事实, 即使这一代面临着比我们以往都要面临更多的金融挑战。 这些债务将如何影响这一代人呢? 超过一半的人 尚未 为自己的未来储蓄。

我们可以做些什么来帮助我们的千禧儿们走出这个债务的流沙陷阱?

技巧1: 了解信用评分和信用评分管理

在您帮助他们达到他们想要的境地之前,帮助您的千禧一代了解他们现在的处境。 从他们的信用评分和信用报告开始做起。 信用报告包括他们的财务历史;他们如何支付账单,他们是否被起诉或被拘捕或是否已申请破产等等。  征信公司,如:Equifax公司、益百利、环联公司将申请人信用报告的资料出售给债权人、保险公司、雇主等等,以用其资料来评估其信贷申请。 当前有一个大举动,旨在使征信公司对他们所犯的任何错误做出更加积极的回应。 此 公平信用报告法 是对他们保持警惕的举动。

如果您的千禧儿还没有做这个,帮助他们订购一份他们自己信用报告的免费副本,并帮助他们确保它是精确的。 根据 CreditCards.com,如果他们发现错误,他们可通过网上和硬拷贝举报这些错误。 我知道我们都讨厌“蜗牛邮件”,但若您或您千禧年的孩子最后需要聘请律师来解决纠纷,那么硬拷贝就成了追踪书面记录最有效的方式。  我发现有趣的是: CreditCards.com还建议将每个纠纷分别放在不同的信件里。 这一切都应该提前做,而不应等到您的千禧儿在寻求贷款时,或者更糟糕的是在刚刚被拒绝贷款时。

技巧2: 减少债务

我们都知道,什么事都可以商量。 学生贷款的利率可能会比本金容易交涉。 贷款的整合或调整计划是一个降低整体利率的好办法。 如果是这样的话,你您的千禧一代要清楚地解释他们的付款负担有多大以及他们有多么惧怕违约。

根据 Bankrate.com指出,如果您的千禧一代背负“不可能偿还的大额助学贷款,清算仍是可能实现的。”  这将是艰苦的,但它值得一试,以帮助您的孩子应对这个难题。 他们将需要解释为何他们无法按照事先安排的方式偿还贷款。  通常被供给的选择途径是一次性付清贷款。 根据 FinAid.org , 讨债公司有权接受三种解决方案,而无需得到教育部的批准。

窍门3: 制定预算

是时候帮助您的千禧一代明白生活是需要预算这个事实。  先从他们的薪水、税后净收入开始着手,并一步一步地分析每个固定及可变支出。 为什么不玩玩本月初福布斯 文章 里提到的“按时付款游戏”呢?

顺便提一下,支付贷款也是一项固定支付。  我不打算在这里详细叙述过程,但是您不仅必须确保他们做出预算,还要每月检查是否有兑现支票予他们。

千禧一代已经得到了不公正的待遇。针对他们“自我一代”的负面评价就是其中一个例子。 坦率地说,我觉得这个评价对我们的后代很无礼。 在这些年轻人的成长历程中,他们背负着一个巨大的负担。 我认为这种负担将导致这一代人只活在自我及关心自己处境的世界里。

好消息是:现在他们可以际着一些指导来减轻压力。 千禧一代的人肯定都需要工具来做出明智的财务决定。 例如,最近美国 新闻市场趋势报告 文章指出,千禧時代出生的人(指1981年后出生的人)都是 “出生在一个相互关联的世界。他们能夠立即获取丰富的信息量。这些数字時代的[原住民」们已经广泛地接受了自己是'infosumer'(信息消費者)这个身份的认同。  智能手机、谷歌搜索和Yelp的评论对千禧一代来说是垂手可得的。这些都是促使他们习惯在作出任何购买决定之前做足功课。“ 文章接着说,千禧儿们跟我们并没有太多不同,尤其是针对财务理解或者涉及到人生大事和里程碑时。 他们对医疗保健采购和529k投资做足功课。

债务是一种负担,但有了像您一样婴儿潮一代的帮助,千禧年一代的人就可从贷款的重担之下抽身出来。 令人沮丧的是,这是件不容易的事。就让这一句内森·莫里斯的话激励您前进: “您成功的速度仅受限于您的奉献精神以及您所愿意做出的牺牲。”

Baby Boomers, Grab A Shovel And Help Millennials Dig Out Of Debt

This article was originally posted on Forbes by Neale Godfrey

If you asked a typical Millennial what troubles them the most, you’d be hard-pressed to find terrorism, climate change, or even unemployment at the top of the list. So, what is their biggest concern? DEBT.

With Millennials, between the ages of 18-34, numbering 74 million strong and surpassing Baby Boomers as the largest living generation, maybe it’s a good idea for Baby Boomers to rally around Millennials before they sink deeper and deeper into the indebted abyss. So, what is the main source of debt? Student loans are crippling our youth. In a recent Forbes article by Maggie McGrath, “…outstanding student debt in the U.S. has ballooned – $1.2 trillion and counting — and rates of home-buying, marriage and child-bearing among young adults have gone in the opposite direction…”

According to Bankrate, Millennials who are carrying these debt burdens experience hardship because, “Falling into debt can cripple your prospects for long-term financial health…” When asked to discuss other outcomes with this high debt burden, Michael Guillemette, Ph.D., CFP, explains that, “Once you can no longer pay your debts, the true damage begins. Perhaps your credit score takes a tumble. Or maybe you lose your home to foreclosure. Even worse, runaway debt can create pressures that rip apart families.” Also, according to Bankrate, “More than 1 in 7 federal loan borrowers default within three years of starting repayment.”

This debt for Millennials may also cause them to suffer from low credit scores and overall reduction of future access to borrowing, according to U.S. News & World Report. It would be really unfortunate if this emerging generation gets dubbed, “Generation Subprime“ as the article indicates. We are all too familiar with the effects of how lending and borrowing can contribute to economic meltdown.

According to a survey conducted by Accounting Today, “Forty-two percent of millennials said their debt is ‘overwhelming,’ twice the rate of Baby Boomers who were also surveyed for the sake of comparison.” By the way, we Baby Boomers do acknowledge the fact that this generation faces more financial challenges than we ever did. How does this debt affect this generation? Over half are not yet saving for their future.

What can we do to help our Millennials out of this quicksand of debt?

Tip #1: Understand Credit Scores and Credit Score Management

Help your Millennial know where they have been before you can help them get to where they want to go. Start with their credit score and credit report. Their credit report contains information about their financial history; how they pay their bills, whether they have been sued or arrested, or have filed for bankruptcy, etc.  The credit reporting companies, Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion, sell the information in their report to creditors, insurers, employers and others to use that to evaluate their applications for credit. There is a big move to get the reporting companies to be more responsive to any errors they have made. The Fair Credit Reporting Act is looking over their shoulder.

If your Millennial has not done this yet, help them to order a free copy of their credit report and help them to make sure that it is accurate. According to CreditCards.com, if they find mistakes, they are advised to report these online and in hard copy. I know we all hate “snail mail,” but if you or your Millennial ends up hiring a lawyer for a dispute, hardcopy is the most efficient way to pursue a paper trail.  I found it interesting that CreditCards.com also advised to divide each dispute into separate letters. This all should be done proactively and not just when your Millennial is looking for a loan, or worse yet, has just been turned down for a loan.

Tip #2: Reduce Debt

We all know that everything is negotiable. The interest rates on student loans may be easier to negotiate than the principal. Loan consolidation or modification programs are a great way to reduce overall interest rates. Your Millennial will have to clearly explain how burdensome the payments are and that they are in fear of default, if that is the case.

According to Bankrate.com, if your Millennial has “massive student loans that are impossible to pay back, a settlement may be attainable.”  It is going to be hard, but it is worth a try to help your child with this. They will need to explain why they are unable to pay back the loan as it is structured.  Usually a lump sum pay-off option is the route to go. According to FinAid.org, collection agencies are authorized to accept three settlement offers without getting approval from the Department of Education.

Tip #3: Work On Budgeting

It is really time for you to help your Millennial come clean with the budgeting facts of life.  Start with their pay, NET of taxes, and go step-by-step with each fixed and variable expense. Hey, why not play my “Bill-Paying Game,” as referenced in a recent Forbes article written earlier this month?

By the way, a loan payment is a fixed payment.  I’m not going to go through the process here, but you must not only make sure their budget is built, but that you are there to support them with a monthly check in.

The Millennial generation has gotten a raw deal with negative connotations like, “Generation Me.” Frankly, I find that offensive to our offspring. As these young people make their way through adulthood, they are carrying an enormous weight. I believe that this encumbrance has caused this generation to really focus on themselves and their situation.

The good news is that, with a little guidance, they can start to relieve some of the pressure. Millennials certainly have all the tools necessary to make smart money decisions. For instance, in a recentU.S. News Market Trends Report article, Millennials are, “Born into an interconnected world with immediate access to abundant information, these digital natives have widely embraced the ‘infosumer’ identity.  With smartphones, Google search and Yelp reviews at their fingertips, Millennials are hard-wired to do their homework before making any decision or purchase.” The article goes on to say that Millennials are not much different than us, when it comes to understanding finances, especially when it comes down to major life events and milestones. They do their research on health care purchases and 529k investments.

Debt is a burden, but with the help of Baby Boomers like you, Millennials can dig out from under the stockpile of loans. The discouraging news is that it won’t be easy, but let the words of Nathan W. Morris keep you going: “The speed of your success is limited only by your dedication and what you’re willing to sacrifice.”