比特币:一种避险资产?市场似乎表示肯定

特迪·耶尔顿 维克森林大学商学院 2009年,当比特币这一分散化加密货币首次出现时,投资界对它几乎一无所知。但是,自那以后,比特币这个术语变得随处可见,尤其是在关注期货的投资者中。不过,实际上,除了有限的一部分专业人士以外,很少人真正理解比特币。

比特币的基本含义是一种新出现的不依赖任何中央银行“强制集中化”1监管的数字货币。由于它并未被美国中央政府认可为一种货币,政府将其视作一种资产,并对其征税。为了确保用户的诚实度和安全性,比特币使用一种被称为“区块链”的共享的公共分类账目,利用复杂的算法和证明验证交易,防止两次支付——这让它成为一种非常安全的信息传输方式。区块链技术本身是加密学的产物——被定义为数学规划的一个分支,它“让比特币创造出可提供高度安全性的数学证明”2。欲了解更多关于比特币的信息,可参考以下链接:https://bitcoin.org/en/vocabulary#cryptography

随着区块链可靠性的持续提高,世界将继续试验未来的分散化加密货币——没有中央银行或国家政府监管的数字货币。虽然分散化货币的概念可能因多种原因看似很有吸引力,比如比特币的安全性和不同的税收政策,但是这种货币的未来仍扑朔迷离。

比特币过去几个月的增长很值得思考。而假如你仍然在怀疑这种新兴加密货币,那么比特币本月市场价值超过推特可能会让你重新思考。推特公司目前的市值大约是113亿美元,本月它多次被比特币超过,后者的本月最高值达到120亿美元。最近比特币的几次上涨部分原因可能是比特币对英国脱欧决定所带来的市场气氛高度紧张的反应——这说明比特币现在被市场视为一种避险资产。

正当各界猜测英国脱欧的决定时,比特币的价格保持对美元的升值。即将来临的英国脱欧的危险把投资者推向美国国债这样的避险金融资产,于是比特币就经历了一次大幅上涨:从2016年初1比特币430美元左右,到最近的约760美元。要想看到行情,你只需要查看一下6月13日那周开始美国国债收益率和比特币的价格波动图。如这些图表所示,在本周前几天,英国脱欧所产生的张力持续增加,诱使人们购买美国国债(造成收益率下降)。类似的,本周初,人们持续购入比特币,将其作为避险货币,推高了它的价格。

然而,6月17日星期五,全球媒体传出消息,就在前一天英国政治人物乔·考克斯遇刺身亡,这一消息鼓舞了支持英国留在欧盟的人。人们开始重新投资较有风险的资产并卖掉较安全的资产——导致美国国债收益率上升,比特币价格下降。从6月17日的那一刻开始,投资者相信英国可能决定留在欧盟,所以他们决定提高风险,这导致6天内比特币下跌25%,从1比特币750美元左右下跌至550美元。这一波动的原因就是投资者对英国留欧的信心增加,于是他们开始寻求购买更具风险的资产并卖出比较安全的资产。

不过,当英国最终投票脱离欧盟时,很多人无法相信这一结果。尽管投票前几天的市场情绪反映出人们对英国留欧很有信心,然而让人惊讶的是人们的投票(你可能已经知道结果了)赞成英国退出欧盟。投票结果出来以后,比特币就从6月23日周四550美元的低点开始反弹,6月24日周五回升到650美元——进一步印证了比特币是一种避险资产的观点。

____________

  1. https://bitcoinmagazine.com/articles/bitcoin-truly-decentralized-yes-important-1421967133
  2. https://bitcoin.org/en/how-it-works
  3. http://www.investopedia.com/terms/b/bitcoin.asp

Bitcoin: a Safe-Haven Asset? Markets Suggest Yes

Teddy Yerdon, Wake Forest University School of Business When it was first introduced in 2009 the concept of a decentralized cryptocurrency was completely foreign to much of the investing world. But since then, the term Bitcoin has become ubiquitous in the markets, especially among future-focused investors. The truth is, however, other than this finite and specialized group of people, there aren’t many people at all that actually understand much about Bitcoin.

In a basic sense, Bitcoin is a recently introduced digital currency that doesn’t rely on “coercive centralization”¹ by a central bank for regulation. Because it is not recognized by the central government of the US as a currency, it is taxed by the government as property. To guarantee user integrity and security, Bitcoin relies on a shared public ledger called the Blockchain which verifies trades using complex algorithms and proofs which prevent double spending—making it an extremely secure way to transfer information. The Blockchain technology itself is a production of cryptography—defined as a branch of mathematical programming “that lets Bitcoin create mathematical proofs that provide high levels of security”². To learn more about Bitcoin, the following link provides good information https://bitcoin.org/en/vocabulary#cryptography.

As credence in the Blockchain continues to rise, the world will continue to experiment with the future of decentralized cryptocurrencies—digital money that is not regulated by a central bank or national governments. While the idea of a decentralized currency may sound appealing for various reasons including the security that Bitcoin offers and its differing taxation policies, there are still many questions to be answered about the future of the currency.

Bitcoin’s growth over the past several months is definitely something to take into consideration, and, if you still doubt the relevance of this up-and-coming cryptocurrency, maybe the fact that it briefly surpassed Twitter in terms of market value several times this month will make you think again. Twitter, Inc which has a current market value around 11.3 billion USD was surpassed by Bitcoin on several occasions this month, which reached monthly highs of 12 billion USD. These recent highs can partially be attributed to the responsiveness of Bitcoin to high market tension surrounding the Brexit decision—supporting the idea that Bitcoin is now viewed by the markets as a safe-haven asset.

In the midst of all the speculation over the Brexit decision, the price of Bitcoin continued to appreciate against the USD. The impending threat of a Brexit continued to push investors towards safe haven financial assets like US government bonds, and subsequently Bitcoin experienced a large upward movement of its own: jumping from around $430 for one Bitcoin at the beginning of 2016 to recent highs of roughly $760. To see these movements, all you have to do is view price fluctuation graphs for US Treasury Yields and Bitcoin from the week of June 13th. As seen in these graphs, tension over Brexit continued to grow throughout the earlier part of the week, enticing people to purchase US Treasury Bonds (sending the yields down). Similarly, during the beginning of this week people continued to purchase Bitcoin as a safe-haven asset pushing its price up.

By Friday June 17th, however, after the global publication of the previous day’s assassination of British politician Jo Cox provided a boost to the Bremain supporters (British proponents of remaining in the EU), people began to re-invest in riskier assets and sell their safer ones—sending US Treasury Yields back up and the price of Bitcoin down. From that moment on June 17th, confidence in a probable Bremain decision prompted investors to take a more risk-on stance, sending the price of Bitcoin down 25 percent in the 6 days, from around 750 USD for one Bitcoin to 550 USD.  To explain this movement, as confidence grew that the UK would remain in the EU, investors began looking to buy riskier assets and sell safer ones.

After the final votes for a Brexit in the UK came in, however, many people were taken back by what they saw. Although market sentiment just days before the decision reflected confidence that the UK would remain in the EU, the popular vote (as you likely already know) was surprisingly in favor of a Brexit. Since this decision, Bitcoin has since rallied from its recent low of around $550 on Thursday, June 23rd to over $650 the next day, Friday the 24th—further solidifying the argument that people view Bitcoin as a safe-haven asset.

Sources:

  1. https://bitcoinmagazine.com/articles/bitcoin-truly-decentralized-yes-important-1421967133
  2. https://bitcoin.org/en/how-it-works
  3. http://www.investopedia.com/terms/b/bitcoin.asp