理智选择您的财务应用软件

杰米·盖特(Jaime Getto)著 所有那些神奇而新颖的财务应用软件可能您都听说过,但或许您会觉得将自己的银行账号与一个几乎完全不了解的公司链接起来,或者将一些敏感信息如自己的社会保险号或者护照号码与其分享,并非是一件让人放心的事情。

有所怀疑是自然的,但它不应阻止您充分利用这些金融技术创新所带来的优势。 支付解决方案,如Venmo,正在不断改进;自动化储蓄账户,如Digit,正在变得更加智能化;而使用像DriveWealth这样的应用软件则让股市投资变得更加易于操作。

创新是伟大的。 没有创新,我们就不会有Facebook、网上购物、甚至是汽车。 但是,在您紧跟潮流做“下一件大事”之前,必须知道您是在和谁网上分享您的个人信息,这种意识非常重要。 在您信任并使用一个新款金融应用软件之前,需要问自己一些重要的问题:

我是怎样得到保护的? 

我们大多数人都很熟悉传统银行对我们支票账户采取的标准保护措施。 这些账户在联邦存款保险公司(FDIC)的投保金额高达25万美元*。 所以,如果您考虑选择任何一个新的移动银行服务,就要快速浏览它们的网站,看看它们的账户是否符合这一基本标准。

对于经纪交易商来说,了解这些移动银行是否是证券投资者保护公司(SIPC)的成员则非常重要。 在DriveWealth,所有的客户账户都受到SIPC的保护,对其成员的证券客户保额高达50万美元(包括现金索赔额25万美元)。

这些移动银行是否受管制?

如果您通过像DriveWealth这样的经纪交易商开设投资账户,您需要关心的首要事情就是查看它们是否为一个受管制的实体。 比如说,DriveWealth是美国金融业监管局(FINRA)的成员。

所有向美国客户提供交易服务的经纪人都需要在美国金融业监管局(FINRA)注册,它负责监管经纪人的经营行为并核实他们是否遵守金融业的法规。

如果确认该公司是由FINRA监管,您甚至可以了解得更深入。 您可以通过一个名为FINRA经纪检测(FINRA Broker-Check)的工具来搜索该公司,并检查其历史记录。 例如,它们是否有任何可疑的活动或受到过任何罚款? 如果看上去它们的经营是清白的,您在与这家公司做生意时就会更有信心。

如果还是不相信,怎么办? 这里还有几个方法,可以帮助解答一些关于您的信息安全的重要问题:

向朋友咨询

做调查研究是至关重要的,更让人放心的办法是向您的朋友或同事核实: 他们是否听说过该应用软件? 他们使用该软件的感觉如何?

品牌的好口碑就意味着好产品。 如果您的朋友在您未曾询问的情况下对某款产品/服务赞不绝口,那么它一定有独到之处。 我最近就有关于自动储蓄服务工具“Digit”的一些体会。 在这款看不见的应用软件上注册相当简单。 Digit能够分析您的消费习惯,并且只保存您实际上负担得起的消费项目。

尽管我很中意,我的朋友仍然有些问题: 它是否安全? 它是如何免费使用的? 有什么好处吗?

我只快速浏览了一下Digit的常见问题部分,就知道您在那里开设的存款账户是受联邦存款保险公司(FDIC)保护的。 您还可以将钱从您的日常银行账户转进转出,次数不限,全部免费,但您不会赚取存款的利息。 这是有道理的,因为公司需要某种形式的收入来维持运营。 我无需调查更深就能找到这些问题的答案,其实是挺令人欣慰的。 当您觉得某件事情好得令人难以置信时,信息透明就可以扫除疑云,澄清事实。

检验披露的信息 

如果某个信息不在该公司网站的任何主要页面上,

请继续滚动鼠标。 差不多就在这儿了。 是的,通常公司网站最下方的那些链接和一些长篇大论是值得一读的。 这些都是您在注册金融账户之前应参考的重要方面。

您会发现:

- 隐藏费用 - 免费项目是真的免费吗?

- 信息共享 - 还有谁能看到我的个人信息?

测试一下

该应用软件是否提供演示环境? 或者导航? 如果是的话,先试用一番看看它是否适合您。 例如,在DriveWealth,您可以开设一个免费的终身模拟帐户来测试您的投资策略,并熟悉我们的平台。 只有当您觉得有足够的信心进行下一步时,您才开设一个真实的投资账户,这个投资账户将完全和您的模拟账户体验相同。

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

*根据美国联邦存款保险公司(FDIC)的一般存款保险条例,对所有支票账户、储蓄账户、货币市场存款账户以及定期存款证明(CDs)上的存款,为每位存款人、每家投保银行以及每种账户所有权类别的承保额高达25万美元。 对银行个人退休账户(IRAS)上的存款则单独投保,为每位账户持有人承保额高达25万美元。

DriveWealth是个人投资者的移动投资平台,提供交易所交易基金(ETFs)和美国上市股票的各种投资选择。 DriveWealth还提供免费的教育内容,帮助投资者了解金融和投资的基础知识。

它是SIPC的成员,保障其成员证券客户的利益,承保额高达50万美元(包括现金索赔额25万美元)。 您可以向我们索取详细说明手册或上网站 www.sipc.org进行查询

所有用户都可使用模拟账户,无任何风险和费用。 模拟账户仅用于教育学习的目的。 我们向模拟帐户提供虚拟美元,不是真正的美元,这意味着用户不会赚钱也不会赔钱。

所有投资都具有风险。 过往的表现并不代表将来的回报,它随时都有可能改变。 对股票和交易所交易基金(ETFs)的投资可能会贬值,潜在导致本金的损失。 由于交易系统的响应和访问次数受各种因素影响,包括但不限于市场条件和系统性能,因此网上交易具有内在风险。 投资者在交易之前应了解这些事实。 与投资国际证券,如在美国上市的美国储蓄证券(ADRs)以及交易所交易基金(ETFs)所包含的非美国证券相关的风险包括:与当地国家政府相关的国家/政治风险;当地国家货币贬值的汇率风险;以及随着物价和服务成本整体水平上升,当地国家货币贬值所引起的通货膨胀/购买力的风险。

Choose your Financial Apps Wisely

By Jaime Getto You’re hearing about all of these amazing new financial apps, but perhaps you feel a little uneasy about linking your bank account, or sharing sensitive information like your social security or passport number with a company you barely know anything about.

Skepticism is natural, but it shouldn't prevent you from taking advantage of  awesome FinTech innovations. Payment solutions, like Venmo, are improving, automated savings accounts, like Digit, are becoming smarter, and investing in the stock market is becoming more accessible through investing apps like DriveWealth.

Innovation is great. Without it, we wouldn’t have Facebook, online shopping, or even automobiles. However, before you jump on the bandwagon for the “next big thing,” it is important to be conscious about who you are sharing your personal information with online. Here are some great questions to ask yourself before committing to a new financial app:

How am I protected? 

Most of us are familiar with the standard protection of our checking account at a traditional bank. These accounts are FDIC insured up to $250,000*. So, if you’re considering any of these new mobile banking options, do a quick scan of their site to see if their accounts also meet this basic standard.

For broker-dealers, it will be important to look to see if they are a member of SIPC. At DriveWealth, all customer accounts are covered by SIPC, which protects securities customers of its members up to $500,00 (including $250,000 for claims for cash).

Are they regulated?

If you’re opening an investing account, with a broker-dealer like DriveWealth, a great first point of reference is to see if they are a regulated entity. DriveWealth, for example, is a Member of FINRA.

All brokers that offer trading to US customers are required to register with the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (“FINRA”), which monitors brokers conduct and verifies their compliance with financial industry regulations.

If you confirm that the company is regulated by FINRA, you can even dig a little deeper. There is a tool called FINRA Broker-Check where you can search for the firm, and check their history. For example, do they have any questionable activity or were any fines imposed? If it looks like they have a clean bill of health, you can feel more confident about doing business with this firm.

Still not convinced? Here are a few more ways to help answer the looming questions about the safety of your information:

Ask a friend

Research is crucial, but it's always reassuring to check in with your peers: Have they heard of this app? What was their experience with it?

Brand evangelism is always a good sign. If your friend is raving about a product/service without you ever inquiring, there must be something pretty special about it. I recently had this experience with the automated Savings service "Digit". Signing up for this invisible app is super simple. Digit analyzes your spending habits and only saves what you can actually afford.

Despite my excitement, my friends still had a few questions: Is it safe? How is it free? What’s the catch?

Just by taking a quick look at Digit's FAQ section, I learned that your savings account with them is FDIC insured. You can also move money to and from your normal bank account for free, as many times as you'd like, but you do not earn interest on your deposits. It makes sense that the company needs some form of earnings to continue operations. The fact that I did not have to dig too deep to find these answers is comforting. Transparency can help clear the air when you feel that something is too good to be true.

Check the disclosures 

If the information isn’t on any of the main pages of the company’s website….

Keep scrolling. Almost there. Yes, those links and sometimes long paragraphs at the very bottom of a company’s website can be a worthwhile read. These are great places to reference before signing up for something that involves your finances.

Things you'll find:

-Hidden Fees - Does free actually mean free?

-Information Sharing - Who else is seeing my personal details?

Test it out

Does the app offer a demo environment? Or a tour? If so, take it for a spin first to see if it's for you. At DriveWealth, for example, you can open a free, lifetime practice account to test your investment strategies and get familiar with our platform. If and when you feel confident enough to take the next step, you can open a Live Investing account that will mimic that same user experience.

 

---------------------

*Deposits in checking accounts, savings accounts, money market savings accounts and Certificates of Deposit (CDs) are insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per insured bank, for each account ownership category under the FDIC's general deposit insurance rules. Deposits in bank individual retirement accounts (IRAs) are separately insured up to $250,000 per owner.

DriveWealth is a mobile investing platform for individual investors that offers a selection of Exchange Traded Funds (“ETFs”) and US listed stocks. DriveWealth also offers free educational content to help investors understand finance and investing basics.

Member of SIPC, which protects securities customers of its members up to $500,000 (including $250,000 for claims for cash). Explanatory brochure available upon request or at www.sipc.org.

Practice Accounts are available to all users risk free and at no cost to the user. Practice accounts are to be utilized for educational purposes only. Practice accounts are funded with virtual dollars, not real dollars, which means that a user can neither gain nor lose money.

All investing carries risk. Past performance is not indicative of future returns, which may vary. Investments in stocks and ETFs may decline in value, potentially leading to a loss of principal. Online trading has inherent risk due to system response and access times that may be affected by various factors, including but not limited to market conditions and system performance. An investor should understand such facts before trading. The risks associated with investing in international securities, including US-listed ADRs and ETFs that contain non-US securities include, among others, country/political risk relating to the government in the home country; exchange rate risk if the country's currency is devalued; and inflationary/purchasing power risks if the currency of the home country becomes less valuable as the general level of prices for goods and services rises.