煤炭不再吃香了吗? 千禧一代向绿色能源的转变

由康奈尔大学2015夏季实习生 Kayleigh Yerdon撰写 或许你已经听说了,2015年四月是有史以来第一次美国“从来自煤炭以外的其它能源中获取到最大份额的能量”。等等,你说什么?!是的,让我们进一步了解一下。2015年四月,史上第一次,煤炭不再是美国最大的能量来源了。这一年的这一个月,天然气取代煤炭成为美国最大动力源。虽然自那以后煤炭又重回了第一的位置,但这条新闻展示出能源行业的一个重大的变动方向。

实际上,让我们从数据方面看看这个新闻。根据四月与这条新闻一同发布的统计数据来看,煤炭每年为美国全国提供34.8%的电力来源,而天然气则占电力供应的29.2%。然而,在四月时数据显示电力市场天然气的份额是31.5%,煤炭则是30.2%。这些数字(即使是按照当前市场修正过的有利于煤炭的数据)表明了随着时间过去通过这两种能源产生的电力供应总量差距正在逐渐缩小。

虽然关于四月天然气反转的新闻炙手可热,但你真的认为这次反转是毫无预兆的吗?对于这次反转的调查报告援引了与煤炭相比较低的天然气价格和愈加严格的环境保护规范作为美国从煤炭消耗大国向其它方向转型的原因。不过,这些年来煤炭产量持续递减也是显而易见的。我们应该把这个现象归功于谁呢?千禧一代

伴随着科技进步(当然还有越来越多的环保呼吁),最近的趋势显示人们更倾向于转而使用能够以最低的环境和资金成本提供最多动力的能源品种。有趣的是,许多千禧一代表示他们愿意花更多的钱使用那些不会对环境造成较大污染的能源。虽然目前没有人知道哪种能源是既低成本又环保,同时还具有高产出效率的;但煤炭作为一种污染等级较高、产出效率较低的能源,与以上要求差距较大。并且,随着千禧一代逐渐年长,在能源购买决策中占据更多的地位,污染较少的能源所具有的较高价格也更容易被忽略。因此——我们将会逐渐开始看到煤炭在电力能源中的使用率降低。

为了进一步说明这个趋势,以美国阿奇煤炭公司(Arch Coal)作为例子,这家美国最大的煤矿开采和加工企业之一的公司,在周一早上申请破产。阿奇公司采取这一行动的目的旨在减少它的超过45亿美元的长期负债。除此之外,阿奇煤炭公司的持股人周二收盘时损失了他们对该公司投资的近67%市值。根据这些数字,再考虑到该公司的长期负债,我们有理由认为阿奇公司以及其它煤炭公司在长期的生存能力方面可能遇到问题。

最后,这些信息对于你的股票投资组合意味着什么呢?正如我们常说的那样,时刻关注那些可能对你的持仓产生影响的新闻是个好习惯。现在这个时候,我们似乎很可能将开始见证煤炭作为一种能源资源的衰退。因此,你可能会考虑留心一些关于能源行业的新闻文章,或甚至是思考一下向天然气和可再生能源的转变将会如何影响你所投资的公司。

Coal Isn’t Cool Anymore? The Millennial Switch Towards Greener Energy.

By Kayleigh Yerdon, Summer Intern 2015, Cornell University As you may have heard, April 2015 marked the first time in history that the United States got the “largest share of its power from anything other than coal”. Wait what?! Yeah, let that sink in. April 2015 was the first time ever that coal was not America’s largest source of power.  For one month this year, natural gas overtook coal as the nation’s leading source of power. Although coal has since reclaimed its number one rank, this news showed a drastic change for the direction of the energy industry.

In fact, let’s put some numbers to it. In the year-to-year stats released with this news in April, coal supplies 34.8 percent of the nation’s electricity yearly, while gas supplies around 29.2 percent. However, their market shares in April showed that natural gas represented about 31.5 percent of the electricity market compared to 30.2 percent for coal at the time. These numbers (even with the market’s current correction back in favor of coal) indicate a gradually closing gap in the total amount of electricity supplied by each source over time.

Although the news of natural gas’s April takeover came in hot, does anyone really believe that the shift was unprecedented? Research regarding the shift cites lower natural gas prices and stricter environmental regulations as logical factors contributing to America’s shift away from coal. However, it is evident that coal production has been declining for years. Who can we thank for that? Millennials.

With improving technology (and, of course, increasing environmental outcries) recent trends have shown people’s desire to turn towards energy sources that can provide the most power for the least environmental and monetary costs. Interestingly enough, many millennials have reported that they are willing to pay more for energy sources that do not contribute significantly to pollution. While nobody is sure yet which energy source has the best combination between low cost, environmental safety, and high energy output; it seems that coal, with its high pollution levels and relatively low energy output, ranks pretty far down the list. And, as millennials age and make more of the energy purchasing decisions, a higher price tag may be ignored in favor of less pollution. Thus – we are beginning to see a decline in the use of coal for electric energy.

To further illustrate this trend, the world saw Arch Coal, one of America’s largest coal mining and processing companies, file for bankruptcy on Monday morning. The corporation made this move in hopes of reducing its more than $4.5 billion long-term debt. Furthermore, holders of the Arch Coal stock lost nearly 67% of their investments in the company by the closing bell on Tuesday. With those numbers, in addition to the company’s long-term debt, it is reasonable to say that Arch Coal and other coal companies have some issues to grapple with if they want to have long-term viability.

Lastly, what does all of this mean for your stock portfolio? As we always say, it is good to stay as updated as possible on news that could affect your holdings. At this point, it seems very possible that we could be looking at the beginning of a shift away from the use of coal as an energy source. So, you might consider looking out for news articles related to the energy industry or even think about how a shift towards natural gas and renewable energy will affect the companies you’re invested in.