美联储继续持温和观察态度

作者Brian Dolan, 首席市场策略分析师  

美联储6月保持稳定

从4月28日至29日的FOMC(美联储公开市场委员会)会议纪要虽然没有明确排除加息,但已基本排除美联储6月17日会议加息可能。根据会议纪要“许多美联储官员认为6月加息是不可能的”。六月加息(自目前的0-0.25%联邦基金目标利率的首次加息)的市场预期已经接近于零,因此市场反应相对平静:股市扭转了早期的跌势,债券利率和美元略有下滑。

会议纪要其它关键点:

  • 大多数美联储官员仍认为经济前景的风险接近平衡;
  • FOMC讨论但拒绝加息时间上的明确信号;
  • 一些美联储官员认为第一季度的经济疲软可能持续,但多数官员预计会温和增长至恢复;
  • 一些美联储官员关注消费者支出前景;
  • 美联储官员认为美元强势可能拖累美国经济增长;
  • FOMC会员强调加息后的不稳定风险。

总的来说,还有另一个温和的前景。市场的一致预期现集中在9月17日的会议,它最有可能是自2008年底以来第一次加息的时候。

前景更加依据于数据

美联储之前曾表示,需要看到足以强大的数据才证明可以加息。美联储指出,特别是需要持续改进劳动力市场,一个“合理”的预期是通胀将向其2%的目标迈进。鉴于近期疲软的美国数据显示报告与当前全球不利因素,我们并不指望经济数据在夏季足以触发九月的加息。我们将继续关注十二月早期利率移动,美联储可能直到2016年都不会有任何举动。

无论哪种方式,美联储对市场的展望将大部分依赖于未来几个月的数据报告显示。鉴于夏季通常有较低的流动性,我们认为市场的波动可能会大幅增加。这可能会放大数据报告显示的影响,或好或坏,制造潜在变化莫测的日内价格波动。

市场观点

总体而言,我们预计,在市场经济疲软时股市仍保留买入机会,除非经济数据有一个实质性的更糟转变。债券利率在上个月上涨了1/4%,然而,被迫的流动性可能加剧波动。数据显示越确切,利率越可能走高; 美国10年国库券2.40%的利率看上去像一个利率继续走高的突破点。然而我们的期望是数据更可能是令人失望的,利率可能回落至1.90-2.0%。

除非因欧洲央行7月中旬之前加快债券购买计划导致数据报告显示大幅减弱,否则美元应继续走强。美元走强可能引发大宗商品和石油价格新一轮的下跌。CRB商品指数以及美国原油(WTI)似乎已经破低,提示自三月中旬以来的反弹已经结束。

The Fed Stuck in Dovish Holding Pattern

By Brian Dolan, Head Market Strategist Fed Steady in June

The minutes from the April 28-29 FOMC meeting (Federal Open Market Committee) have all but squashed any chance that the Fed will hike at its June 17 meeting. While not explicitly ruling out a rate increase, “many Fed officials saw a June rate rise as unlikely,” according to the minutes. Market expectations were already close to zero for a June lift-off (the first rate hike from the current 0-0.25% Fed Funds Target rate), so the market reaction was relatively muted: stocks reversed earlier declines and bond yields and the US dollar dipped slightly.

Among other key highlights from the minutes:

  • Most Fed officials still saw risks to the outlook as nearly balanced;
  • FOMC discussed but rejected the idea of an explicit signal on the timing of lift-off;
  • A number of Fed officials saw reasons 1Q weakness may persist, but most expect moderate growth to resume;
  • Some Fed officials were concerned by the outlook for consumer spending;
  • Fed officials saw US dollar strength exerting a drag on growth ‘for a time;’
  • FOMC members highlighted the risks of volatility after lift-off.

All in all, another dovish Fed outlook. Market consensus expectations are now centered on the September 17 meeting as the most likely time for the first rate increase since the end of 2008.

Outlook Increasingly Data Dependent

The Fed has previously indicated it will need to see data sufficiently strong enough to justify a rate increase. In particular, the Fed has pointed to continued improvement in the labor market, and a ‘reasonable’ expectation that inflation will move toward its 2% goal. In light of recent weakness in US reports and ongoing global headwinds, we don’t expect economic data over the summer to be sufficient to trigger a September rate lift-off.  We continue to focus on a Dec. rate move at the earliest, and preferably no action until 2016.

Either way, the outlook for the Fed and markets in general will be increasingly data dependent in the coming months. Given typically lower liquidity during the summer months, we think market volatility may increase substantially. This will likely amplify the impact of incoming data reports, better or worse, and make for potentially treacherous intra-day price movements.

Market Views

Overall, we expect stocks to remain a buying opportunity on weakness unless economic data takes a material turn for the worse. Bond yields have effectively priced in a ¼% rate hike over the last month, but, there especially, constrained liquidity may see heightened volatility. The more solid the data appears, the higher rates can go; 2.40% in US 10 year Treasury yields looks like a break-point for rates to move higher. Our expectation, however, is that data is more likely to disappoint and that yields may drop back to 1.90-2.0% area.

The US dollar should resume strengthening, again unless the data weakens sharply, as the European Central Bank accelerates its bond buying program ahead of mid-July. US dollar strength may trigger a fresh wave of commodity and oil price declines. The CRB commodity index and US crude oil (WTI) appear to have already broken lower, suggesting the rebound since mid-March has run its course.