千禧一代的五种购物方式影响我们如何投资

作者: Nicole Dugan 有辛勤工作的婴儿潮一代作为父母,我们千禧一代可能是美国历史上最特殊的一代人。我们同时也是伴随“新世纪”科技长大的第一代人。当我们还是孩子的时候,互联网的大规模普及为电子书籍、智能手机、平板电脑的发展铺平了道路,也使得图书馆、纸质小说以及无线寻呼机失去了用途。归功于互联网,我们得以成长在一个可以轻易获得几乎所有东西的环境下。这使我们有了诸如崇尚物质、即时满足、品牌至上的名声。

由于我们都步入了职场(我们中的大多数人是在大衰退期间就职的),我们眼中关于如何理财的价值观在根本上发生了改变。以下是五种在千禧一代之间流行的消费方式:

1)无缝的在线体验

正如我在上文中提及的,互联网与我们中的大多数人同时问世。因此,我们看重那些提供时髦的应用软件或便捷的在线购物体验的品牌。正如我们中的大多数人所知,你常常可以在仅提供在线服务的零售商那里找到更好的价格,例如亚马逊(Amazon)或Gilt。

最近,城市旅行者(Urban Outfitters)由于推广全渠道零售而被赞誉有加。他们有效地通过实体店、手机应用,以及他们的官方网站向客户销售产品。毫无疑问,城市旅行者抓住了在实体店经历之外同时为客户提供在线购物体验这个重点。

2)害怕大型的财政负担

相信我,我们并不是不想为退休或者买房子进行储蓄。根据time.com的调查,我们中90%的人愿意这么做,问题是我们无法承担首期付款。除了许多千禧一代承受的巨额学生贷款之外,与租房相关的费用也正在以远远高于工资增长率的速度增长。根据Zillow网站统计,我们收入中的约30%被用来租房,因此这么多的千禧一代依赖月薪生存就不足为奇了。这刺激了某种我们都被牵涉其中的恶性循环:我们买不起房,因此我们租房,而我们被迫承受的高额房租使我们无法为买房攒够首付的钱。如此循环往复。

许多千禧一代由于生活中的其它因素更倾向于租用而非购买。举例来说,热布卡(Zipcar)公司为会员提供租车服务而使其不必承担大型的财政负担,伸展台租衣网(Rent the Runway)使用户能够租用他们自己或许买不起的设计师品牌服装。

3)需要别人的买入决定来支持自己的购买决定

千禧一代会展现出品牌忠诚性,但当且仅当他们从一个特定的品牌那里持续地获得积极的体验之后。如果他们获得的体验很糟糕,他们一点也不介意把他们的感受进行在线分享。千禧一代常常在购物之前调查商品的情况以获得商品评价或者寻得最优价格。根据CMO.com网站,72%的千禧一代会在线评估他们的选择,并且常常在实体店都没有去过的情况下做出购买决定。

4)购买自有品牌或者零售商品牌产品

许多具有成本意识的千禧一代已经成为忠诚的自有品牌产品的顾客。根据mediapost.com的调查,比起名牌产品,97%的千禧一代更喜欢购买零售商品牌产品。过去,购买自有品牌产品仅仅是一种省钱的手段,然而现在,许多千禧一代的购物者发现自有品牌产品后发而制人,其质量可以与同类的名牌产品相媲美。

5)关注体验,而非物质产品

根据the Intelligence Group的一项调查,比起大多数物质财产(我相当确定我们中的大多数人会将智能手机排在前面),千禧一代们更看重旅行。根据该调查,千禧一代看重旅行的原因是,与物质财产不同,生活经历无法被夺走。许多千禧一代对将来是否能享受退休计划持怀疑态度,因此,他们不想等到他们的“黄金年代”再去游历世界。

购物如何影响我们的投资喜好

许多千禧一代的购物偏好背后都隐藏着一种购买趋势,即有意识地使用与我们的父母不同的方式处理事情。我们曾见到我们的长辈们辛勤工作数十载,之后却经历了大衰退。这一点引出并且强调了千禧一代常常面临的财富管理问题:大衰退过后对股票市场的恐惧心理。

对我们中的大多数人来说,投资是一个遥远的、甚至从来没有过的想法。我们陷在持续的付租、还贷的循环中,害怕把我们仅剩的那点可自由支配的收入投资于股市中。除了内在的对于投资的恐惧,投资原本也是一个使人胆怯的过程,你只能从你的电脑进入你的投资组合,并且你要么只能完全依靠你自己,要么只能依靠一个“可信的”财务顾问做决定。因此,千禧一代们该如何自信地学习投资?

这就是嘉维证券和Chaikin Analytics公司为您做的事。佳庆指标(Chaikin power gauge)是一种与罗素3000指数(the Russell 3000 Index)挂钩的简单易懂的股票潜在表现评分系统,现在可以在嘉维证券的投资应用软件上使用。

嘉维证券与Chaikin公司一起,为千禧一代们提供一种自己掌控节奏的投资方式,以及为自己想要添加进投资组合的股票获得“第二方观点”的能力。

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­___________________________________________________________________________________

佳庆指标并非买卖股票的推荐意见,也不构成投资建议。佳庆指标系统是作为一种信息性的服务被提供的,投资者须对自己的投资决策负责,佳庆指标不对此负责。取决于模型输入值的变化,佳庆指标评分可能在每日基础上发生变化。例如,一位股票分析员对某家公司未来盈利的估计可能在一天之内发生变化,使得佳庆指标评分也随之发生变化。佳庆指标不能保证理想的投资结果。在此进行完全免责声明。

第三方内容

嘉维证券平台及相关服务所提供的任何第三方信息或内容(第三方提供者)仅代表该第三方的意见。嘉维证券对第三方内容的正确性、质量、精确度、完整度、可靠性、有用性或使用该内容所产生的结果不做任何担保。访问者对评估第三方内容负有责任,本公司对访问者由于依赖或使用第三方内容发生的任何损失概不负责。此类第三方内容包括但不限于以下第三方提供者的相关内容:Chaikin Analytics – 佳庆指标系统

Five Millennial Shopping Trends that Impact How We Invest

by Nicole Dugan With the hard-working Baby Boomers as our parents, millennials may be one of the most privileged generations in American history. We were also the first generation to grow up around internet technology. The internet became widely accessible when many of us were children, paving the way for ebooks, smartphones, and tablets and rendering things like libraries, paperback novels, and beepers unnecessary. Thanks to the internet, we’ve grown up with easy access to almost everything. This gave us a reputation for valuing material items, instant gratification, and designer name brands.

Since we’ve entered the workforce (many of us during the Great Recession), our values are fundamentally changed, which impacts how we manage our money. Below is a list of 5 prevalent money spending trends among millennials.

1) Seamless online experience

As I noted above, the internet came of age at the same time many of us did. Therefore, we value brands that offer sleek apps or convenient online shopping experiences. As many of us know, you can often find better pricing through retailers that operate exclusively online, such as Amazon or Gilt.

Recently, Urban Outfitters has been praised for mastering omni-channel retailing. They effectively sell to their customer base in stores, on mobile apps, and on their website. Clearly, Urban Outfitter is a brand that has grasped the importance of providing an accessible online shopping experience in addition to an in-store experience

2) Fear of large financial commitments

Trust me, it’s not that we don’t want to save for retirement or own a home. According to time.com, 90% of us do- it’s that we can’t afford the down payment. Besides the crushing amount of student debt that many millennials are saddled with, the costs associated with renting homes and apartments are growing much more rapidly than our salaries. According to Zillow, it costs about 30% of our income to rent- it’s no wonder that so many millennials are stuck living paycheck to paycheck. This spurs on the vicious cycle that many of us our stuck in: we can’t afford to own, so we rent and the high rents we are forced to pay prevent us from saving up for a down payment so we can own. And on and on it goes.

Many millennials have extended their inclination to rent versus buy to other facets of their lives. Zipcar, for example allows its members to have access to cars without making a large financial commitment. Rent the Runaway allows users to rent designer apparel that they may not otherwise be able to afford.

3) Need to get “buy in” from others

Millennials exhibit brand loyalty, but only after continuously having positive experiences with a certain brand. If they have a bad experience, they aren’t afraid to share their feelings online.  Millennials often research items before making a purchase in order to read reviews and find the best possible price.  According to CMO.com, 72% of millennials assess their options online, and often make a purchasing decision, before even setting foot in a brick and mortar store.

4) Buying private label or store brand products

Many cost conscious millennials have become loyal private label product consumers. According to mediapost.com, 97% of millennials are more likely to buy store brand products than brand name products. In the past, buying private label products was merely a cost saving measure. However, many millennial shoppers have discovered that private label brands have stepped up their game and their quality is comparable to their brand name counterparts.

5) Focus on experiences, rather than material items

According to a survey conducted by the Intelligence Group, millennials value travel above most material possessions (I say most as I am pretty sure smartphones would rank high for many of us). According to the survey, millennials value travel because, unlike material possessions, life experiences cannot be taken away. Many Millennials are suspicious of the retirement plans out there and; therefore, don’t want to wait until their “golden years” to see the world.

How Shopping Impacts Our Investing Habits

One purchasing trend that is underlying in many millennial shopping habits is the conscious effort to do things differently than our parents did. We saw our parents work hard for decades and then suffer through the recession. This brings us to and often highlighted facet of millennial money management: fear of the stock market following the Great Recession.

For many of us, investing is a far off thought, or not even a thought at all. We are stuck in a continuous loop of paying too much rent, paying down debt, and being afraid to invest what little disposable income we have in stocks. Besides the inherent fear that often accompanies investing, investing has traditionally been a daunting process in which you could only access your portfolio from your computer and you either had to make decisions completely on your own or rely on a “trusted” financial advisor. So, how can millennials learn to invest confidently?

This is where DriveWealth and Chaikin Analytics come in. DriveWealth offers an easy-to-use, low cost investing platform and Chaikin supplies investors with the means to make more informed investing decisions through stock research and analysis. The Chaikin power gauge, is an easy-to-understand rating of a stock’s potential performance relative to the Russell 3000 Index and is now available in the DriveWealth investing app.

Together, DriveWealth and Chaikin give millennials a means to invest at their own speed and the ability to get a “second opinion” on stocks they consider adding to their portfolios.

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­___________________________________________________________________________________

Chaikin Power Gauge Ratings are not recommendations to buy or sell particular securities and do not constitute investment advice. Chaikin Power Gauge Ratings are provided as an informational service and users are responsible for their own investment decisions without regard to any Chaikin Power Gauge Rating. Chaikin Power Gauge Ratings can change from day to day depending on changes to the various inputs to the model. For example, a stock analyst's estimate of a company's future earnings could change on a given day, causing the Chaikin Power Gauge Rating to also change. There is no guarantee that Chaikin Power Gauge Ratings will lead to successful investment outcomes. Full disclaimer here.

Third Party Content Any information or content made available on the DriveWealth Platforms and Related Services by third parties (“Third Party Providers”) is solely the content of such third parties (“Third Party Content”). DriveWealth makes no warranties and expressly disclaims all other warranties regarding the correctness, quality, accuracy, completeness, reliability or usefulness of such Third Party Content, or the results that may be obtained from the use of the Third Party Content. Visitors are responsible to evaluate Third Party Content, the Company shall not be liable for any damage or loss caused by visitors’ reliance on or other use of Third Party Content. Such Third Party Content includes, but is not limited to, the content of the following Third Party Providers: Chaikin Analytics - Power Gauge