通用汽车公司的提升

由 Nicole Dugan撰写 截止目前,你可能听说了很多关于通用汽车投资五亿美元给Lyft打车应用的事情。这两家公司计划着手在未来减少上路的车辆数量。通用汽车和Lyft认为比起个人用车,汽车行业的未来取决于共乘计划。

通用和Lyft之间的合作伙伴关系揭示了一个我们在过去十年中越来越频繁地看到的现象——大规模的“老式学院派”公司正在开始意识到他们当前的商业模式中的缺陷,并寻求与新的技术公司进行合作以满足消费者需求。

是时候冲破束缚了

随着亚马逊和Netflix制造出他们自己的电视节目和影片,消费者越来越多地“告别”他们的传统有线供应商,转向依赖流媒体服务。苹果早先曾宣布计划要展开一项有线订阅服务,将使客户能够通过苹果电视接收到25个广播电视网,包括美国广播公司、哥伦比亚广播公司以及福克斯电视台。

许多广播电视网如时代华纳,很早就开始寻求与流媒体供应商的合作。2015年4月,时代华纳公司与苹果达成协议,苹果将成为HOB Now应用程序的唯一发布商,使得更多的网络电视公司及有线供应商与互联网流媒体供应商的合作成为可能。

打破银行模式

通常来说,消费者期待能从他们的移动设备上更多地掌控他们生活的方方面面和他们的财务状况。大部分大型银行都提供手机银行软件以及在线账单支付;然而,新一代的投资者开始越来越多地依赖于金融技术公司来满足他们的移动财务需求。

尽管事实是大多数手机银行软件允许客户进行电子转账,类似Venmo这样的电子现金供应商还是如此频繁地被广泛使用,以至于“venmo”这个词已经变成了一个动词,例句如:“你可以直接Venmo给我”。Venmo这样的应用软件的广泛使用说明人们正在远离传统的金融机构管理他们的资金。

在全球范围内,消费者越来越为数字化的、无现金式的支付方式和金融管理方式所吸引。随着时间流逝,我们将越来越多地看到大型银行与金融技术公司合作来满足移动先行的消费者的需求。

一所被称作家的旅馆

大型酒店连锁中的佼佼者,如希尔顿,和Airbnb均声称它们当前并不存在竞争关系。不过,Airbnb最近开始招揽商务旅行客户,对于这些客户来说,大型酒店通常是旅行计划中很重要的一部分。

现在,Airbnb的市场渗透率比较低。经济学人杂志上的一篇文章报道,即使Airbnb按照它当前的增长率继续发展,它也只能在2016年减少经济型酒店约10%的利润,而对于豪华型酒店,它产生的影响微乎其微。然而,如果Airbnb能够与众多在线代理商如Expedia和Travelocity达成合作关系,将可能使酒店们面临一个大问题。

对许多人来说,Airbnb相比众多酒店的经济实惠使得出国旅行变得更加容易实现。即使酒店业现在并未感到来自这个家庭共享式巨头的威胁,他们也可以和Airbnb合作开发出一个新的市场,或是提供类似的服务。

每个人都在构建一个更好的捕鼠器

在许多行业中,应用软件和移动技术的大规模普及正在改变人们消费商品和服务的方式。归功于科技进步,许多存在了数十年的 “蓝筹股”公司给自己标上了在行业中发动变革的“有进取心的”名号。投资者应该继续关注未来在老牌公司与他们的新替代者之间建立的合作关系。如果这样的合作关系是有助于满足消费者需求的,那么公司的价值和涉及的股价就可能受到正向影响。

General Motors Gets a Lyft

image from fox6now.com By Nicole Dugan

By now, you have probably heard a lot about General Motors’ $500 million investment in Lyft. The two companies plan to embark on a journey to decrease the number of cars on the road in the future. General Motors and Lyft collectively believe that the future of the automotive industry lies in ride-sharing, rather than in individual car ownership.

The partnership between General Motors and Lyft illustrates a trend that we’ve seen more and more over the last decade-- large “old-school” companies are beginning to realize the deficiencies in their current business models and are looking to partner with newer tech companies in order to respond to consumer needs.

It’s Time to Cut the Cord

With Amazon and Netflix producing their own television shows and movies, consumers are increasingly “breaking-up” with their traditional cable providers and relying solely streaming services. Apple has previously discussed plans to roll out a subscription cable service, which will offer customers access to 25 networks, including ABC, CBS, and Fox through Apple TV.

Many networks, like Time Warner, Inc., have already taken steps to align themselves with streaming service providers. In April 2015, Time Warner, Inc., made a deal with Apple, which made Apple the sole launch partner of the HBO Now app. Time Warner’s share price responded favorably to the partnership announcement, which makes it probable that more TV networks and cable providers will begin to seek out partnerships with on-demand internet streaming providers.

Breaking the Bank

Generally, consumers expect to have the ability to control most aspects of their lives from their mobile devices and their finances are no different. Most large banks offer mobile banking apps and online bill pay; however, younger generations of investors are beginning to rely more and more on fintech companies to meet their mobile finance needs.

Despite the fact that most mobile banking apps allow their customers to send money electronically, the digital wallet provider, Venmo , is so frequently used that the word “venmo” has become a verb, i.e. “You can just Venmo me.” Widespread use of apps like Venmo illustrate the concept that people are moving away from traditional financial institutions in order to manage their money.

On a global scale, consumers are increasingly attracted to digital, cashless methods of payment and financial management. As time goes on, we will likely see more large banks partnering with companies in the fintech space to meet the demands of mobile-first consumers.

A Hotel to Call Home

Top execs at large hotel chains, like Hilton, and Airbnb claim that they aren’t currently in competition. However, Airbnb has recently begun to touch business travelers, which large hotels consider to be a large portion of their traditional demographic.

Currently, Airbnb’s market penetration is low. An article in The Economist suggests that, even if Airbnb continues to grow at its current rate, it will only decrease the revenue of economy hotels by 10% in 2016 and it’s likely to have little to no impact on luxury hotels. However, if Airbnb is able to forge a partnership with online travel-agents, such as Expedia and Travelocity, hotels could have a big problem on their hands.

For many people, the cost-effectiveness of Airbnb compared to hotels makes travel abroad more attainable. Even if hotels don’t currently feel threatened by the home-sharing giant, they could open up a new market for themselves by partnering with Airbnb or providing a similar service.

Everyone’s Building a Better Mousetrap

In many industries, the widespread use of apps and mobile technology is changing the way that people consume products and services. Because of technological advances, “Blue-Chip” companies that have been around for decades are attaching themselves to “up-and-comers” that are out to revolutionize the industry. Investors should stay tuned for future partnerships between veteran companies and their new age counterparts.  If such partnerships are able to better meet customers’ needs, the value and share price of the companies involved may be positively affected.