投资新手指南:千禧一代版本

由金融教育部主管Brian Dolan撰写  

等待不是一个好计划

关于千禧一代的调查常常显示千禧一代们游离在各种投资活动之外,尽管他们中的很多人承认他们需要为构建未来而进行投资。导致这一状况的原因有很多种,类似于“没有足够的资金”、“缺乏投资知识”、“对股市的不信任“等等。

根据Bankrate.com网站,在年龄30岁以下的人群中,仅26%的人投资于股市,而在婴儿潮一代中,这个数字约为60%。另一个来自高盛投资公司对于千禧一代的调查显示,仅18%的千禧一代相信股市是“为未来储蓄的最好方式”。作为对该调查的呼应,另一个相关调查显示千禧一代中93%的人将“不信任股市”以及“缺乏投资知识”作为对投资缺乏信心的理由。诸如此类的调查结果还有很多。

然而,历史告诉我们,定期投资是积累财富和构建一个更好的未来的经济保障最可靠的方式。并且由于复利的力量,千禧一代们越早开始投资,他们将来的日子越可能过得更好。

采取行动

事情的关键是划拨出一部分专用资金以及构建一个投资策略,然后将它们投入行动。永远地等待下去不在我们的计划中。这里有一些给千禧一代(及其他人)的小贴士,可以帮助他们克服恐惧、树立财务信心、并开始投资旅程。

发掘资金——在你开始投资之前,你需要开始储蓄投资用资金。你或许觉得你没有足够的资金开始投资,但如果你有一个收入来源,创建预算将可以帮助你发掘资金并将他们投入使用。即使一个月只有50美金,随着时间过去这笔资金将会慢慢累积起来。这也将帮助你养成积极的财政习惯,它将在未来你拥有更多资金的时候使你过得更好。

使之自动化——它通常被称为“先为自己买单”。充分利用你的雇主为你提供的任何储蓄或投资计划,例如401k,尤其是当它们提供任何形式的对等资金时。使一项资金扣减活动自动化能够保证规律性和简便性,甚至带来税收优惠。即使你从来没有见到过这些资金你也不会丢失它,它将会一直在那里并持续增长。

还贷还是投资?——许多千禧一代肩负不止一笔学生贷款以及其他类型的债务。即使你把关注点放在还贷上,一旦你有了任何剩余的资金,相比更快地还清你的债务,利用它们进行投资将依然是有意义的。这就不得不说到债务利率和投资可以获得的潜在回报率。你可以尝试使用嘉维证券“债务对投资计算器”来帮助分析现在面临的状况。请记得:你终将会还清你的债务。在一个零债务的基础上还拥有一笔投资资金不是更好吗?

确定你的财务目标——通过创建一个关键性的财务目标来帮助你保持专注。常见的储蓄目标包括为一套房产筹集预付款、购买一辆二手车、为退休做准备、筹备旅行等等。明确实现你的目标所需的时间范围(短期或长期)并使它们尽可能具体而现实。懂得设立目标的人比临时起兴的人通常更可能实现目标。

开始投资,保持投资——即使你开始时的规模很小,你也要开始投资。借此你可以使复利的效果最大化。随着你的收入增加,你也将能够储蓄和投资的更多。养成定期储蓄和投资的习惯,就可以培养出使你终身受益的好习惯。

保持简单——许多年轻人认为他们的知识不足以投资或仅仅是觉得自信不足而不能进行投资。那些华尔街术语确实令人感到胆怯。在市场上有上千支个股可供选择的情况下,一名投资新手要如何决定购买哪一支?什么是市盈率?什么是每股收益?它为什么重要?

与其试图成为一名股票挑选专家,这里有两种简单的投资方法,任何人都可以利用它们来进行投资。

  • 购买你所熟知的。这条来自传奇性的股票投资者Peter Lynch的建议经受住了时间的考验。它的要领是投资于你所熟悉的、日常使用的品牌和企业。喜欢你的苹果手机或者耐克跑鞋吗?那么就考虑一下投资于苹果或耐克公司。本质上,你是投资于生产你所熟悉的产品的公司的未来,而它们长期以来一直都很成功。
  • 投资于指数。指数是由一揽子多种股票组成的,帮你省去了挑选个股的需要。例如,宽基指数如标准普尔500指数和罗素1000指数涵盖了所有最大型的美国企业股票。同样也存在涵盖不同行业领域的规模较小的指数,如科技行业或医疗保健行业,它们将几十种股票整合进一支单一的证券中。最流行的一种投资于指数的方式是购买交易所交易基金ETF:此类证券代表着几十或上百支个股的所有权,并且可以像一支个股那样进行买卖操作。此外还有涵盖特定国家或地区股票的指数ETF,例如代表规模最大的一些欧洲企业的欧洲斯托克50指数(the EURO Stoxx index)。指数化投资也提供了自带的多样性优势,为你省去了处理多样性的烦恼。

你可以找到很多现在不开始投资的理由,但当你从长远角度考虑不进行投资的时候,没有一个理由站得住脚。你要如何实现你的财政目标并构建一个有经济保障的未来?答案是尽早并尽可能频繁地进行投资,然后坚持下去。投资不是一项短期的活动。它是终身的努力以帮助你实现经济保障和更好的生活方式。你还在等什么?

 

 

免责声明:所有投资均有风险。过去表现不能作为未来回报的指示,因为未来回报可能变化。投资于股票和ETF的价值可能降低,由此可能导致本金的损失。受到诸多因素的影响,在线投资由于系统反应和进入时间有其固有的风险,这些因素包括但不限于市场条件和系统表现。其它方面的风险还包括投资于国际性的证券带来的风险,如美国上市的美国存托凭证以及包含非美国证券的ETF组合。此类风险包括与他国政府相关的国家或政治风险、他国货币贬值带来的汇率风险,以及他国货币相对于普遍商品服务价格贬值而带来的通胀或购买力降低的风险。

多数反向ETFs每日“重置”,意味着此类证券被设计为实现每日既定目标。超过一个交易日的投资回报将与目标指数在同时期的回报不完全相同。在波动市场尤为明显,即使指数长期表现盈利也可导致巨大损失。尽管有相对策略,反向ETFs可能不适合长期投资者。

在投资ETF之前,投资者应仔细考虑其投资目标、风险、费用及需支付给投资公司的开支。招股说明书含有此信息及其它有关投资公司的重要信息。您在投资前应仔细阅读招股说明书。您可以在此获得招股说明书的副本drivewealth.com/explore/products.

Getting Started Investing: Millennial Edition

By Brian Dolan, Head of Financial Education

Waiting is Not a Plan

Surveys of millennials routinely find them disengaged from investing, even though many of them also admit that they need to invest to build their financial futures. The reasons cited span the range from ‘not enough money,’ to ‘lack of investing knowledge’, to ‘distrust of stock markets.’

According to Bankrate.com, only 26% of people under 30 are investing in stocks, compared to nearly 60% of Boomers. Another survey of Millennials by Goldman Sachs found only 18% trusted the stock market as the ‘best way to save for the future.’ Echoing that, another survey found that 93% cited a distrust of markets and a lack of investing knowledge as reasons they’re not confident about investing. And the list goes on.

History tells us, however, that regular investing is the most reliable way to accumulate wealth and secure a better financial future. And because of the power of compounding, the sooner Millennials start investing, the better off they’re likely to be in their later years.

Take Action

The key is to put together a dedicated saving and investment strategy and then put it into action. Waiting forever is not a plan. Here are some tips for Millennials (and anyone else) to overcome their fears, build financial confidence and get started investing.

Find the money—Before you can start to invest, you need to start saving funds to invest. You might think you don’t have enough to start investing, but if you have an income, developing a budget can help you find the resources and put them to work. Even if it’s only $50 a month, it will add up over time. It will also encourage positive financial habits that will serve you well when you have more money in the future.

Make It Automatic—It’s frequently called ‘pay yourself first.’ Take advantage of any savings/investing plan offered by your employer, such as a 401k, especially if they offer any kind of matching funds. Automating a savings deduction keeps it disciplined and simple, and may be tax advantaged. If you never see the money you won’t miss it, but it will be there and growing.

Pay Off Debt or Invest?—Many Millennials have more than a fair share of student loans and other types of debt. Even if you’re focused on paying off debt first, it may still make sense to invest any surplus funds rather than pay down debt faster. It comes down to the interest rate on the debt and the potential returns that can be earned by investing. Try the DriveWealth ‘Debt vs. Invest Calculator’ to see how your situation reads.  Remember: eventually, you will pay off your debt. Wouldn’t it be nice to have an investment fund alongside a zero debt balance?

Set Your Financial Goals—Get focused by establishing the key financial goals you’re aiming for. Saving for a down payment on a house or condo; used car; retirement; travel are some of the more common goals. Identify the time frame to reach your goal (short-term/long-term) and make them specific and realistic. People who set goals are more likely to achieve them than people who just wing it.

Start Investing, Keep Investing—Even if you start out small, just get started. Maximize the effects of compounding. As your income grows over time, you’ll be able to save and invest more. Get in the habit of saving and investing regularly and you can develop lifelong positive financial habits.

Keep It Simple—Many young adults believe they don’t know enough to invest or just don’t feel confident enough to put their money to work. All that Wall Street jargon can be intimidating, to be sure. With thousands of individual stocks to choose from, how can a new investor decide which ones to buy? What’s a P/E ratio? What’s earnings per share and why is it important?

Rather than trying to become an expert stock picker, here are two simple investing methods anyone can use to start investing.

  • Buy what you know. That advice from legendary stock investor Peter Lynch has stood the test of time. The idea is to invest in brands and companies that you’re familiar with and whose products you enjoy and regularly consume. Love your iPhone or your Nike sneakers? Then consider investing in Apple or Nike. Ultimately you’re investing in the future of companies whose products you know and that have been consistently successful over time.
  • Invest in indexes. Indexes are baskets of multiple stocks, saving you the need to pick individual stocks. There are broad-based indexes, such as the S&P 500 or the Russell 1000 that cover the whole range of the largest US companies. There are also narrower indexes that cover various business sectors, such as technology or healthcare, combining dozens of stocks into a single security. Among the most popular way to invest in indexes is through ETFs, or exchange traded funds: securities that represent ownership in dozens or hundreds of individual stocks, and can be bought and sold as easily as a single share. There are also index ETFs that cover specific countries or economic regions, such as the EURO Stoxx index of the largest European corporations. Index investing also offers the advantages of built-in diversification, saving you yet another investing issue to tackle.

There are plenty of potential excuses not to get started investing. But none of them really hold up when you consider the long-term consequences of not investing. How will you reach your financial goals and build a secure financial future? The answer is to get started investing as early and as often as you can and to stick with it. Investing is not a short-term exercise. It’s a life-long endeavor that can help achieve financial security and afford you a better lifestyle. What are you waiting for?

 

 

Disclosures: All investing carries risk. Past performance is not indicative of future returns, which may vary. Investments in stocks and ETFs may decline in value, potentially leading to a loss of principal. Online trading has inherent risk due to system response and access times that may be affected by various factors, including but not limited to market conditions and system performance. An investor should understand such facts before trading. The risks associated with investing in international securities, including US-listed ADRs and ETFs that contain non-US securities include, among others, country/political risk relating to the government in the home country; exchange rate risk if the country’s currency is devalued; and inflationary/purchasing power risks if the currency of the home country becomes less valuable as the general level of prices for goods and services rises.

Most inverse ETFs “reset” daily, meaning that these securities are designed to achieve their stated objectives on a daily basis. Their performance over periods longer than one day can differ significantly from the inverse of the performance of their underlying index or benchmark during the same period of time. This effect can be magnified in volatile markets, making it possible that you could suffer significant losses even if the long-term performance of the index showed a gain. While there may be strategies that justify holding these investments longer than a day, buy-and-hold investors with an intermediate or long-term time horizon should carefully consider whether these ETFs are appropriate for their portfolio.

Before investing in an ETF, an investor should consider the investment objectives, risks, charges, and expense of the investment company carefully. The prospectus contains this and other important information about the investment company. You should read the prospectus carefully before investing. You may obtain a copy of the prospectus at drivewealth.com/explore/products