怎么玩转 Brexit 投票

DriveWealth 市场策略主管布莱恩· 杜兰作 这将是一场势均力敌的投票

首先,给那些不熟悉 Brexit 的人,它指的是即将到来的 6 月 23 日关于英国是留在欧盟(EU)还是退出欧盟的公民投票。在这里了解更多信息。支持退出欧盟的投票结果(Brexit= 英国+离开)很可能会在未来数年破坏英国经济,并具有引发全球市场激烈波动的潜力。从货币到股票和债券的一切都将受到影响,因为投资者逃离风险资产(股票,商品和外汇)并在避险资产里寻求庇护,英国以外则主要是债券将受到影响。

近期的全球股市下跌已经被归因于对 Brexit 的关注,因为最近的民意调查显示现在“离开”的一方领先于“留下”一方。Survation,一个英国调查公司,今天公布的结果显示投票“离开”占 45%,而投票“留下”的占 42%(见下图)。其他的调查都显示了类似的 Brexit 走势,但是“不知道/未定”的回应数量仍高达 13% 左右,这意味着投票结果还是任何人的猜测。

brexit

来源: Bloomberg; Drive Wealth

然而,英国的赔率制定者比如立博和必发,仍然将 Brexit 的投注赔率放在短边,在各地张贴有 60% 的可能性英国会留在欧盟。这些博彩公司表示,他们预计如果最近的赌注趋势继续下去的话, Brexit 在未来几天将会成为大家的最爱。目前投注“留下”赔率的人们的观点是,尚未决定的投票者在投票的时候会摇摆并倾向于保持现状(留下)。类似的情况发生在 2014 年苏格兰投票是否离开英国的时候。我强烈地倾向于这个观点,并且我甚至会冒险预测最后“留下”会以 58% 比 42% 获胜。

波动能带来机遇

市场显然对公投的结果十分敏感,只要投票显示 Brexit 领先就可能会呈现明显的负面风险情绪。我们已经看到英镑(GBP)在过去两周下降了约 5%,欧洲斯托克 600 指数下降了约 10%,并且英国的富时 100 指数也下降了约 7%。美国和亚洲股市也已经受到了负面影响。在避险方面,黄金处在今年的高点,美国国债收益率又回到了我们在今年年初市场动荡时看到的低点。

Brexit 有获胜倾向,负波幅预期就普遍增强。分析人士认为,英镑可能会在 Brexit 投票之后立即下降 10-20%,与此同时英国和欧洲的股市预计会进一步下跌。其他的全球股市很可能跟风,有可能引发短期失去控制的全球范围的崩盘。全球的央行都表示已经准备好了协调一致的步骤,以确保流动性并可能进行干预以稳定货币市场。

那是最坏的情况。我自己的看法是,Brexit 不会发生,并且我认为如果投票结果支持留下的话,市场更有可能会迅速反弹。这表明当前市场的下跌代表了最困难重重的风险资产买入机会,股票一般,欧洲和英国股市和英镑尤其如此。时机,一如既往将是最困难的部分,我建议在六月 23 日最后的投票发起时交错进入剩余疲软中的长定位,并保留一些干燥的弹药,万一 Brexit 发生后市场有进一步下跌。(结果很可能在六月 24 日的亚洲初盘被知晓。)

Brexit 和更多

即使 Brexit 真的赢了,我想长项的风险投资机会仍然会是可追求的最好策略。世界末日不会因为一场 Brexit 投票而到来。市场可能要保持这样好几天,直到尘埃落定。在现实中,英国将需要几年时间才可最终断绝与欧盟和其他消极影响的联系,这就留出了大量可利用的机会利用市场恐慌提供的折现估值。(不过,我不会用任何一种方式,用一根 10 英尺长的杆子碰一下英镑的)。

我的想法是,最大的风险是我是对的:Brexit 输了,风险资产大幅度反弹。但是如果反弹被证明是短命的,并且迅速地扭转局势,这意味着风险资产再次回落了吗?那将意味着目前的疲软不单单是担忧 Brexit 的结果,而是一个更不祥的信号。在我看来,这意味着当全球经济增长的担忧沉重地压抑着投资者的情绪的时候,市场将重新体验今年年初的经历,导致全球股市广泛的清盘。

我们已经有足够的全球经济复苏正在放慢的讯号, 美国的绩效不佳是最显著的负面表现,那在昨天通过一个谨慎的美联储声明被强调。在英国公投以后的几周内,我们会得到几个来自中国的关键更新(财新网 PMI,制造业 PMI),如果他们显示出疲软的话还可能会引发波动。

我们怎么会知道,是不是一个更大的市场抛售正在准备过程中呢?假设 Brexit 输了,随之而来的下降到 Brexit 投票以前的最低值将会是一个信号,表明市场正在展望 Brexit 以后的未来,并且不喜欢他们所看到的东西。

How to Play the Brexit Vote

By Brian Dolan, Head Market Strategist, DriveWealth It’s Going to be a Close One

First off, for those who are unfamiliar with Brexit, it refers to the impending June 23 referendum in the UK on whether to stay in or leave the European Union (EU). Learn more here. A vote to leave (Brexit=Britain+Exit) the EU is likely to undermine the UK economy in the years ahead and has the potential to trigger intense global market volatility. Everything from currencies to stocks and bonds would be impacted, as investors flee risk assets (stocks, commodities, and FX) and seek refuge in safe haven assets, primarily bonds outside of the UK.

Recent worldwide market declines have been attributed to concerns over a Brexit, as the most recent polls suggest the ‘Leave’ side is now ahead of the ‘Remain’ vote. Survation, a UK polling firm, released results today that show the ‘Leave’ vote at 45% vs. 42% for the ‘Remain’ side (see the chart below). Other polls have shown similar leads for Brexit, but the number of ‘don’t know/undecided’ responses remains high at around 13%, meaning the vote is anyone’s guess.

brexit

Source: Bloomberg; DriveWealth

However, UK odds makers, such as Ladbrokes and Betfair, are still placing the odds of a Brexit on the short side, posting around a 60% likelihood that the UK will remain. These betting companies indicate they expect Brexit to become the favorite in the next few days if the trend in recent wagers continues. Underlying the current odds favoring ‘Remain’ is their view that the undecided voters will swing in favor of the status quo (Remain) when it’s time to vote. A similar scenario played out in the 2014 Scottish referendum on whether to leave the United Kingdom. I’m strongly inclined to go with that view, and I’ll even go out on a limb and predict a 58%-42% win for ‘Remain.’

Volatility Can Bring Opportunity

Markets are clearly very sensitive to the outcome of the referendum and as long as polling indicates a Brexit lead, risk sentiment is likely to be distinctly negative. That has seen the British pound (GBP) lose about 5%, Euro Stoxx 600 about 10% and the UK’s FTSE 100 index decline by about 7%, all in the last two  weeks. US and Asian stock markets have also been negatively affected. On the safe haven side, gold is at its highs for the year and US Treasury yields are back at lows last seen during the market turmoil at the start of the year.

Should Brexit prevail, negative volatility is widely expected to increase. Analysts have suggested that GBP could lose between 10-20% immediately following a Brexit vote, while both UK and European shares would be expected to decline further. Other global stock markets are likely to follow suit, potentially triggering a worldwide cascade lower that could easily spiral out of control in the short run. Global central banks are said to have prepared coordinated steps to insure liquidity and possibly intervene to stabilize currency markets.

That’s the worst case scenario. In my own view, Brexit will not happen, and I think markets are more likely to bounce back quickly if the vote is in favor of Remain. That suggests current market declines represent buying opportunities in the most beleaguered risk assets, stocks in general, and European & UK shares and GBP in particular. The timing, as always, will be the hard part and I would suggest staggered entries into long positioning on remaining weakness in the final run-up to the June 23 vote, and keeping some ammunition dry in case Brexit happens and markets fall further. (Results are likely to be known in early Asia on June 24.)

Brexit and Beyond

Even if Brexit does win, I think opportunistic long-risk entries would still be the best strategy to pursue. The world will not end the day following a Brexit vote. It may seem that way for markets for a few days until the dust settles. In reality, it will take several years for the UK to ultimately sever ties with the EU and all the other negative fallout to occur, leaving plenty of opportunities to take advantage of panicked markets offering discounted valuations. (That said, I wouldn’t touch GBP with a ten-foot pole, one way or the other.)

To my thinking, the biggest risk is that I’m right: Brexit loses, and risk assets rebound sharply. But what if that rebound proves short-lived and is quickly reversed, meaning risk assets fall back again? That would suggest current weakness is not solely the result of Brexit fears, but a much more ominous signal. In my view, it would suggest markets are re-living the experience of the start of the year, when global growth concerns weighed heavily on investor sentiment, leading to widespread liquidation in global stock markets.

We’ve had ample signals the global recovery is sputtering, with US underperformance the most notable of the negatives, reinforced by a cautious Fed statement just yesterday. In the weeks following the UK referendum, we’ll get several key updates out of China (Caixin PMI, manufacturing PMI), which could also trigger volatility if they show weakness.

How will we know that a larger market sell-off may be in the works? Assuming Brexit loses, subsequent declines below the lowest low prior to the Brexit vote would be a signal that markets are looking beyond Brexit and don’t like what they see.