比特币是全球经济的未来吗?

作者:Nicole Dugan 当比特币首次亮相时,许多投资者为此欢呼,因为比特币回应了他们所祈祷的。比特币使得低成本数字式交易成为可能。现在,纽约证券交易所给出比特币基准指数,为这个新兴的投资类别添加了透明度。纽约证券交易所创造出新的比特币指数更大影响将会是什么呢?

首先,让我们快速浏览一下投资的利弊和比特币交易的利弊。

人们为什么想要用比特币交易呢?

许多投资者已经接受比特币作为一种资产类别。一些公司,如福布斯,甚至为自己的员工提供选择通过比特币获得报酬的权利。比特币为什么会如此受欢迎呢?一方面,作为一种支付机制,其交易成本相比传统的支付方式要低。如信用卡或PayPal进行支付的费用大约是2-4%,而比特币进行支付的平均交易成本为1%。这种较低的成本让国际交易变得更加轻松和便宜。使用传统的方式转账,比如电汇,成本可能高达40美元。对于国际转账来说,比特币还有一个优点就是理论上它降低了一些诸如政治动荡国家的汇率风险。

在美国以外的一些国家,人们仍然将多余的钱藏在自己的床垫下。即使在美国国内,开设银行账户也可能会遭遇一些阻碍。 对于“不使用银行服务的人群”来说,比特币或许是一个可行的解决方案。

评论家们是如何看待比特币的?

到现在为止,比特币已被小部分网上商家所接受 - 这可能会随着大型机构,如纽约证券交易所,纳斯达克和高盛等也开始使用比特币而改变。比特币最大的问题就是其潜在的高度不稳定性。其它投资类别,如股票,它的波动受很多确定因素影响,如公司的盈利和预测以及当前的经济状态等。而比特币的波动却很少受这些影响,也很少像股票那样受供求关系影响。

许多投资者有比较好的理由担心这种新货币的相关监管的完善性。在2014年早期,曾经的一间著名比特币交易所Mt. Gox破产了,损失了数百万美元的比特币。据报道,比特币就这样从Mt. Cox的数字账户中消失了,许多潜在投资者对此产生担忧是可以理解的。

纽约证券交易所正在创造一个新的指数 这意味着什么?

纽约证券交易所正在创造一个新诶指数,该指数将跟踪比特币的表现,为投资者设立一个明确的基准,来衡量其价格波动和价值。比特币指数操作方式与其它任何指数相同,如LIBOR(全球利率基准)。有一个指数作参考会给比特币带来更可靠的价值,这可能有助于缓解投资者的担忧情绪。

如果纽交所的比特币指数能够为比特币的价值提供约定的透明度和某种程度的信任,那么比特币可能会更吸引全球消费者和投资者。像比特币这样的货币可能促进国际贸易 - 如果由于纽交所为比特币提供了透明度和可信度,而有更多的商家开始接受比特币,那么人们可以更容易地从其他国家,花费比现在更低的交易成本来购买消费品。全球贸易概念再进一步,广泛使用比特币可以使它的成本优势显示在个人投资方面,投资者将不只局限于可投资于国内的股市,也可以投资于其他国家的股票市场。

Keith Bliss,他是Cuttone & co., Inc公司的高级副总裁兼市场销售总监,他也是纽约证券交易所的场内经纪人,他认为比特币具有全球化经济的潜力。 Bliss说“毫无疑问,比特币在成为 [一个合法的,将全球化经济的货币] 的道路上已经做得很好了,世界领先的金融机构现在在其概念背后增加了其可信度,只要监管到位,可控制世界的法定货币和比特币之间交易的交流机制,那么它确实有加速相互关联的全球经济生态系统的潜力。比特币将改善跨境零售业当前的系统形态。“

让比特币成为一个值得信赖的国际货币,被人们广泛接受和使用还有很长一段路要走。然而,纽交所和其他大型机构开始支付电子货币是朝这个方向迈出了一步。

Is Bitcoin the Future of the Global Economy?

Phote Source: www.engadget.com By Nicole Dugan

When bitcoin made its debut, many investors hailed it as an answer to their prayers. Bitcoin made it possible to transact digitally at a lower cost. Now, The NYSE is producing an index to benchmark Bitcoin and add transparency to this emerging investment class. What are the broader implications of the NYSE’s creation of the new bitcoin index?

First, let’s take a quick look at the pros and cons of investing and transacting in Bitcoins.

Why would people want to transact in Bitcoins?

Many investors have embraced bitcoin as an asset class and some companies, such as Forbes, even offer their employees the option to be compensated in bitcoins. What’s so great about it? For one thing, as a payment mechanism, transaction costs are lower. The costs of more traditional payment options, such as credit cards or PayPal, is about 2-4%. The average transaction costs incurred using Bitcoin is 1%. This lower cost could potentially make it easier and cheaper for people to make international transactions, where using traditional methods of moving money, such as wire transfers, could set you back as much as $40. From an international perspective, the added bonus to using Bitcoin is that it, theoretically, has lower currency risk than many countries- such as those that are in political turmoil.

In some countries outside the US, people still keep their savings under their mattresses, literally. Even domestically, the cost associated with opening a checking account can be a deterrent. Bitcoin is perhaps a viable solution for this “unbanked population.”

What are the critics saying about Bitcoin?

Up to this point, Bitcoin has been accepted by a very small population of online merchants – which could change due to the attention the cryptocurrency is receiving from large institutions like NYSE, NASDAQ, and Goldman Sachs.  One of the biggest knocks on Bitcoin is its potential to be highly volatile. While it’s true that other investment classes, such as stocks, fluctuate, those fluctuations are attributable to many definable factors, like individual company earnings and projections as well as the current state of the economy, for example. Fluctuations in Bitcoin, by contrast, are attributable merely to public opinion and demand.

Many investors are concerned about regulation surrounding this new currency- and with good reason. In early 2014, Mt. Gox, a once prominent Bitcoin exchange, collapsed and lost millions of dollars in Bitcoins. According to reports, the Bitcoins simply disappeared from Mt. Cox’s digital accounts, which is understandably worrisome to many prospective investors.

So the NYSE is making an index- what does that mean?

The NYSE is creating an index which will track the performance of Bitcoin and set a definitive benchmark for investors to gauge price movements and value. The Bitcoin index will operate in the same way as any other index, such as LIBOR (which is a benchmark for global interest rates). Having an index to look to will give Bitcoin a more reliable value, which could help to assuage investor’s fears.

If the NYSE’s Bitcoin index is able to provide the intended transparency and some level of trust in the value of Bitcoin, the currency may become more appealing to global consumers and investors. A currency like Bitcoin has the potential to facilitate international commerce- if more merchants begin to accept Bitcoin due to the transparency and credibility provided by the NYSE, people can purchase consumer goods from other countries much more easily and at a much lower transaction cost than they do today. To take the idea of global commerce one step further, widespread use of Bitcoins could make it more cost effective for individuals to invest not only in their own stock markets, but in the stock markets of other countries.

Keith Bliss, Senior Vice President and Director of Sales and Marketing of Cuttone & co., Inc, a floor- broker on the NYSE, believes that Bitcoin has the potential to globalize the economy. “Without question, Bitcoin was already well on its way to becoming that [a legitimate currency that will globalize the economy], but with the world’s leading financial institutions now getting behind the concept it adds credibility,” says Bliss. “As long as the regulatory and compliance apparatus is in place to control the exchange mechanisms between the world’s fiat currencies and the bitcoin exchanges, then it does have the potential to accelerate the interconnected global economic ecosystem.  Bitcoin will ameliorate the current systems in place for cross border retail commerce.”

We are, of course, a long way away from such widespread, accepted use of Bitcoin as a trusted international currency. The attention that NYSE and other large institutions are paying to the crypto currency is, however, a step in that direction.