风险处在底端了吗?

DriveWealth嘉维证券首席市场策略顾问Brian Dolan撰写 主要市场似乎终于出现了重大转机。我说“终于”是因为我已经在过去的几周提出,市场已经达到极端水平,而且上周美联储主席Yellen的言论可能引起风险资产持续反弹。然而,以它们无限的智慧,主要市场出现了一次出于悲观情绪的最后挣扎,这次波动试探性地到达了之前的低点,甚至在某些情况下超越了低点。

但是正如从今年开始的下降是突然发生的一样,下降也成为反弹的初始阶段。从上周低点以来,标准普尔500指数已经反弹了大约6%。尽管市场的下降有时令人费解,同时散布出恐慌,但反弹基础应该是更容易被理解和持续的。

我们是如何得出这些结论的呢?

许多高度相关的因素的结合促成了最近的这次下跌。正如我过去讨论的,大多数人夸大了此次下降的开始阶段并且现在许多问题正在被官方的回应所解答。关键是官方的行为为市场稳定提供了基础,我们将看到市场的恐惧情绪消散。按照重要性,我将主要关注以下因素:

  • 中国经济放缓:以我的观点来看,对于中国经济放缓的恐惧从一开始就被夸大了,但是现在我们看到了中国政府的行动,包括放松银行业的监管以释放贷款,同时支持新的基础设施的投资。人民币的迅速贬值也被官方正式进行了处理。可以把中国从经济关注中心的名单中移除了。
  • 美联储升息的预期:美国利率与世界其他国家的差异已经被逆转。虽然没有明确的关于放弃进一步加息的讨论,但是美联储的官员已经非常清楚地表示进一步加息的举措现在处于被长久控制的状态,而今天的联邦公开市场委员会随时可以加固这一措施。这一事实将显著改善全球经济的前景以及美国的表现,这两个利好风险将促进额外的美联储紧缩措施。请把对美联储升息的担忧从负面风险的列表中移除。
  • 美元走强:美元之前可能基于美国加息的预期走强,也被其他因素削弱。现在美元走强的情况已经被逆转,美元指数目前以2015年平均水平(请见下表)进行交易。尽管仍然比2014年有所上升,但是对美元走强的担忧也应该消失了。美元走强?不大可能。
  • 石油价格下降:以上列出的许多因素导致了石油价格的下跌:中国经济疲软à对石油交易不利;美国升息à美元走强à对石油交易不利。现在这些因素很大程度上被削弱了,油价应该会停止下降。然而,最基本的供需失衡很可能至少在接下来的六个月内将持续下去,这意味着在近期石油价格几乎不太可能上浮。(我不排除一些供给引起的价格上的提高,但我倾向于认为这种情况是短暂的。)

market risk

资料来源:彭博社;嘉维证券

我们也看到了日本央行(BOK)正在实行负利率,以试图使日元贬值(支持日本股市)。欧洲央行接下来在3月10日,预计将进一步削减利率进入负利率范畴,同时增加资产购买的数量。市场已经消化了这一举动,欧洲央行的风险是他们再次采取了许多措施以达到预期,但实质上并未改变投资的大环境。

在我看来,大多数产品的基本价格已经下降到足以阻止风险资产暴跌的水平,并为经济的复苏奠定了基础。然而,市场的情绪仍然极其脆弱,并且受到基于新闻和事件产生的进一步短期波动的影响。同时我认为这些影响将变得越来越弱。

一张图表抵千言万语

如果你想超越基本面看事实,图表会告诉我们什么呢?图表表现的非常的乐观,而且似乎贯穿于各资产类别和市场,比如标准普尔500潜在的双重触底,摩根士丹利全球指数和原油(WTI)行情均表现出对风险资产来说一个显著的低位已形成。同样令人鼓舞的是这些市场目前的表现均在Kijun线(黄色线)以上,这条线代表当前下行趋势的一个主要阻力来源。

S&P 500

资料来源:彭博社;嘉维证券

几个关键的价格点请记在脑中(为简洁起见我将专注于标准普尔500指数):1870/1880Tenkan 线(紫色线)或者Kijun 线现在是重要支持;两条线的看涨交叉点也即将来临。颈线(neckline)的突破处即1945/50处的50%回档位将确认双重触底的形成并有望回归到2080的区域。61.8%回档位以及云状基础区集中在1975/1980附近会形成初步阻力。

但是请注意,云区域快速下降且极度稀薄,意味着在接下来的两个星期中它只会带来轻微的阻力。市场在每个交易日收盘的走高将会进一步坐实市场趋势已转向走高。但这一情况必须在短期内发生。如果进入3月后市场趋势仍低于云状区域,市场将在最近几个月的低点位置下随着云区域变得更厚,阻力更强大的情况而失去活力。

 

从基本层面和技术层面来看,触底似乎已经发生。投资者应该密切关注上述提到的关键价格水平以追踪市场反弹进程并适时实施抄底策略。随着阻力水平的消失,我们将可以重新建立信心,最糟糕的时期已经过去了。

Is the Bottom In for Risk?

By Brian Dolan, Head Market Strategist Major markets appear to have finally turned an important corner. I say ‘finally’ because I had suggested over the past several weeks that markets had reached extreme levels and that Fed Chair Yellen’s comments last week could spark a more sustained rebound in risk assets. In their infinite wisdom, however, markets had one final spasm of pessimism, testing prior lows and even exceeding them in some cases.

But just as the decline from the start of the year was especially abrupt, so, too, has been the initial phase of the rebound. Just since the lows last week, the S&P 500 has bounced about 6%. And while the run down was at times inexplicable, and reeked of panic, the foundation for a rebound is more comprehensible and sustainable.

How Did We Get Here?

A combination of highly correlated factors precipitated the recent declines. As I have argued in the past, most were overblown to begin with and many are now being addressed by official responses. The key is that official actions provide a basis for stabilization, which should see market fears dissipate. In order of importance, I would focus on the following factors:

  • China slowdown: fears of a more abrupt Chinese slowdown were exaggerated from the beginning in my view, but now we have movement from the government on relaxing banking regulations to free-up lending as well as renewed infrastructure investments. The rapid depreciation of the Yuan has also been officially addressed. Take China off the list of economic concerns.
  • Fed rate hike expectations: the divergence of US interest rates from the rest of the world has now been reversed. While not explicitly taking further rate hikes off the table, Fed officials have made it very clear they are now on perma-hold, which today’s FOMC minutes reinforced. It would take a marked improvement in the global outlook or US performance, both of which would be risk positive in their own right, to justify additional Fed tightening. Scratch Fed rate hike fears from the list of risk negatives
  • US Dollar Strength: the US dollar strengthened on expected US interest rate hikes/cuts by others. That has now been reversed and the US dollar index is now trading at the average level of 2015 (See chart below). While still elevated compared to 2014, fears of a strengthening dollar should also fade. US dollar strength? No problemo.
  • Oil price declines: Oil price declines were the result of many of the factors listed above: China weaker-bad for oil; US rates higher-US dollar higher-bad for oil. Now that those factors have largely abated, oil prices should stop falling. However, the fundamental supply/demand imbalance is likely to persist for the next six months, at least, meaning there is little upside for oil in the near future. (I can’t rule out some supply-side shocks boosting prices down the road, but I would tend to think they’d be short-lived.)

market risk

Source: Bloomberg; DriveWealth

We also have the Bank of Japan (BOJ) going negative on interest rates, as well as trying to talk down the JPY (supportive of Japanese stocks). The ECB is next up on March 10 and is expected to cut rates further into negative territory and increase the amount of asset purchases. Markets have already priced in such a move, and the risk with the ECB is that they underwhelm again by delivering enough to meet expectations but not alter the investment climate substantially.

In my view, most of the fundamental pieces have fallen into place to stem the rout in risk assets and lay the foundation for a sustained recovery. Market sentiment, however, remains extremely fragile and subject to further short-term spasms based on incoming news and events. At the same time I would expect such setbacks to become increasingly shallow.

A Picture is worth a Thousand Words

If you want to look past the fundamentals, what can the charts tell us? The picture is quite bullish and similar across asset classes and individual markets, e.g. potential double bottoms in S&P500, MSCI World Index and crude oil (WTI), suggesting a significant low has been seen for risk assets. Equally encouraging is that the current rally in those markets is now testing above the Kijun line (yellow), a major source of resistance in the current downtrend.

S&P 500

Source: Bloomberg; DriveWealth

A few key price points to keep in mind (I’m focusing on the S&P500 for brevity): 1870/1880 Tenkan line (purple)/Kijun line is now important support; a bullish crossover of the two also appears imminent. A break of the neckline/50% retracement at 1945/50 would confirm the double bottom formation and target a return to the 2080 area. The 61.8% retracement and the base of the cloud converge at the 1975/1980 area and could offer initial resistance.

Note, however, that the cloud is falling rapidly and is extremely thin, meaning it’s only minor resistance for the next two weeks. A daily close above would further suggest that the trend has shifted higher. This will need to happen soon. If we enter March and are still below the cloud, markets could languish at recent low levels for several more months as the cloud becomes denser and more formidable resistance.

Both from a fundamental and technical perspective, a bottom looks to have been seen. Investors should monitor the key price levels highlighted above to track the progress of the rebound and potentially pursue buy-the-dip strategies. As resistance levels are overcome, confidence can build that the worst is behind us.