保持斗志睁大眼睛

由首席市场策略师Brian Dolan撰写 在我的2016年全球市场展望的文章中,我建议投资者回顾一下短期市场的动荡并持续关注大局。(全球市场展望的文章在webinarpodcast也可以看到)。从大局来看,全球经济增长预计相对于2015年会有所改善(2016年增长3.5%与2015年增长3.1%相比);利率将保持在极低的水平;通货膨胀将很难出现。在正常情况下,这将被视为一个“温和适中”的环境:不太热,不太冷,刚刚好。

关注大局

目前世界市场仍在动荡。在我的全球展望中,我排除了中国市场的波动是2015年夏天零售散户主导型泡沫爆发的余波的结果,官方的失策导致了市场波动的加剧。更重要的是,我强调中国股市与其他主要全球指标之间缺乏任何有意义的历史联系。

Chinese Stock Market

(接近零的相关系数表明两个指标之间没有统计关系,意味着一个指数的变动对于另一个指数没有任何影响。)

越过中国再一次回顾其它市场,在主要发达国家经济体中,我们依然保有温和、前景稳定的增长。由于欧洲中央银行(ECB)和日本银行(BOJ)在接下来几个月的更低的利率,我认为额外的增长可能出现,因为低利率措施会支持当地的经济和市场发展。我也认为美联储会发布一个较低幅度的加息措施的信号,这更加符合当前的市场价格反映了今年只会有两次加息的情况。

可以肯定的是,新兴市场(EM)仍然陷于困境,但在我看来,主要的几个驱动因素如新兴市场疲软、美元的强势和大宗商品的疲软,很大程度上都将走到尽头。然而,新兴市场可能还需要花费几个月的时间稳定下来。我预计美联储今年加息预期的可能性降低也会限制美元的上行,同时支持新兴市场的稳定。

第四季度财报揭示了什么

特别地,让我们转向美国市场,2015年第四季度财报就在我们面前。在关于负收益的议论吓倒你之前,了解一下弱化收益环境的来源非常重要。首先,收益的最大负担来自于美元的升值和石油价格的疲软。尽管还未看到任何显著的回调,美元升值的趋势在2015年的11月到12月似乎达到了顶峰(请见下方美元指数图标)。在未来几个月,我认为美元将会适度走软作为对美联储加息预期的市场反应。

US Dollar Index

资料来源:彭博社;嘉维证券

在过去的一周,石油价格出现了新低,同时,尽管没有即将到来的反弹迹象,动量研究表明最近的市场表现滑坡是过度并且存在潜在分歧的(新的价格低位并未被动量研究确认)。在反向基础上,许多所谓的“专家”也突然冒出来就石油价格下降的风险提出警告。这是真的吗?

从行业的角度来看,油价的大幅度下跌将使能源行业收益受到巨大打击(毫不奇怪;市场价格已经得到反映)。石油和天然气的收益预计在第四季度下降73%。不过,除了能源产业,其它行业的坏消息就不是那么糟糕了。标准普尔500指数涵盖的公司的盈利预计仅下降1.6%。我们在未来几周或许不会看到“天要塌了,收益萎缩”的景象了。

投资策略

保持一个长远的眼界,并尽可能的利用短期反弹,我最关注的还是股票市场。未来持续数年的低利率环境将会支持我的观点,因为没有几种证券能够在这样的环境下获得有意义的回报。我个人的偏好是集中于发达国家的股票指数,并同时开始增加或创建一个新兴市场股票的长期投资。

为远离恐慌和度过此次风暴,投资者还可以利用这次市场机会做些什么呢?以下为一些想法:

  • 资产重新配置: 持有债券的投资者可以考虑将这些资产转向股市。利率在2016年初已见下跌,债券基金可见价格上涨。资产配置转移可锁定利润,将投资方向转移至股票可以在此次价格下跌中获利。

 

  • 将闲置资金用于投资: 根据你的具体情况,你可能将获取一定的年终奖或拿到一些退税,或两者兼具。如果你具备清晰的头脑并且不是花钱如流水的类型,现在是时候该深思熟虑地计划一下将如何使用这些资金了。如果你一直在考虑开始投资,但是从未付诸行动,现在可能是将闲置资金的一部分用于投资的时候。

 

  • 坚持你的投资计划: 如果你正通过一个有规律的工资存款计划在进行投资,比如401K, SEP或其它以受雇为基础的储蓄计划,请坚持下去。在你能负担得起的情况下,如果可能,最好增加你的可投资部分资金(贡献)。你近期的贡献被以较低的投资成本用于投资,从而减少了你整体投资的基础成本。

总之,请记住,市场不是经济。老话说“若根据市场来预测,过去曾有9次被预测为经济大衰退,但实际上仅有4次经济大衰退。”请关注大局,将注意力集中于你的长期投资目标。

Keep Your Chin Up and Eyes Open

By Brian Dolan, Head Market Strategist In my 2016 Global Market Outlook, I suggested investors need to look past the short-term market turbulence and stay focused on the big picture. (The Global Market Outlook is also available as a webinar or a podcast.) In that big picture, global growth is expected to pick up relative to 2015 (+3.5% in 2016 vs. 3.1% in 2015); interest rates are expected to remain exceptionally low; and inflation is nowhere to be seen. In normal circumstances, that would be considered a ‘Goldilocks’ environment: not too hot; not too cold; just right.

Focus on the Big Picture

And yet world markets continue to spasm. In my global outlook, I dismissed the volatility in Chinese markets as the result of a further unwinding of the retail investor-driven bubble that burst in summer 2015, aggravated by official missteps in the market.  More importantly, I highlighted the absolute lack of any meaningful historical relationship between Chinese stock markets and other major global indexes:

Chinese Stock Market

(A correlation near-zero indicates no statistical relationship between the two indexes, meaning movements in one index have little to no meaning for movements in the other.)

Looking past China, again, we’re left with modest, yet stable growth outlooks in major developed economies. I look for additional moves toward lower interest rates from the European Central Bank (ECB) and the Bank of Japan (BOJ) in the coming months, which should support economic and market outlooks there. I also look for the US Fed to eventually signal a lower rate hike path, more in line with current market pricing of only two rate hikes this year.

Emerging markets (EM) remain beleaguered for the time being, to be sure, but the big picture drivers of EM weakness, US dollar (USD) strength and commodity weakness, have largely run their course in my view.  However, it will also likely take several more months at the minimum for EM to stabilize. I expect dissipating US Fed rate hike expectations over the course of the year to also limit USD upside and support EM stabilization.

Look Beyond 4Q Earnings Season

Turning to US markets in particular, 2015 4Q earnings season is upon us. Before being overcome by negative earnings talk, it’s important for investors to understand the sources of a likely weak earnings environment. First and foremost, the biggest drags on earnings have come from USD strength and oil weakness. The trend higher in the USD looks to have peaked in Nov/Dec of 2015 (seen in the US Dollar index chart below), though the greenback has yet to see any significant pullback. In the months ahead, I look for the USD to soften as Fed rate hike expectations are factored out of markets.

US Dollar Index

Source: Bloomberg; DriveWealth

Oil prices have made new lows just this past week, and while there is no sign of an imminent rebound, momentum studies suggest the most recent slide is excessive and potentially divergent (new price lows are not being confirmed by momentum studies). On a contrarian basis, so-called ‘experts’ are now coming out of the woodwork warning about downside oil risks. Really?

On a sector basis, the sharp weakness in oil prices is expected to deliver a huge hit to energy sector earnings (no surprise there; already priced in). Oil and gas earnings are expected to register a 73% decline in the 4Q. Beyond the energy sector, however, the bad news is not so bad. Excluding the energy sector, profits for S&P 500 companies are only expected to fall by 1.6%. Not quite the ‘sky-is-falling, earnings recession’ scenario we’re likely to hear about in coming weeks.

Investing Strategies

Staying with a long-term view, and potentially taking advantage of a short-term rebound, I remain most heavily concentrated on stocks. My view is underpinned by expectations of a low interest rate environment for years to come, leaving few alternatives to equities to generate meaningful returns. My own preference is to focus on developed market stock indexes, but also to begin to add/build a longer-term EM stock index exposure.

Apart from not panicking and riding out the current storm, what else can investors do to take advantage of the opportunities markets have presented us? Here are a few ideas:

  • Asset re-allocation: Investors holding bond investments could consider shifting those assets into stocks. With interest rates having dropped to begin 2016, bond funds will have seen price gains. An allocation shift could lock in those profits and re-deploy to stocks to take advantage of price declines.
  • Invest free cash: Depending on your circumstances, you may be expecting a year-end bonus or possibly a tax refund, or both. Now is the time to make deliberate plans about what you’ll do with that money, while your head is clear and the money is not burning a hole in your pocket. If you’ve always wanted to start investing, but never quite got around to it, now might be the time to invest a portion of that free cash.
  • Stick with your investing plan: If you’re investing through a regular payroll deposit plan, such as a 401k, SEP or other employment-based savings plan, stick with it. If possible increase your contributions if you can afford it and are allowed to. Your recent contributions are being invested at lower costs, reducing the overall cost basis of your investments.

Above all, remember that the market is not the economy. The old saying is that ‘the market has correctly predicted 9 of the last 4 recessions.’  Stay focused on the big picture and your long-term investing goals.