领英获得有史以来最大的投资

image from forbes.com 作者:Kayleigh Yerdon,康奈尔大学

你可能已经听说了,领英在周一获得了微软巨额的投资。周一早上开市之前,微软宣布它使用 262 亿美元收购了这个专业性的社交网站。是的,你没有读错,262 亿美元。这个数字看上去似乎是一笔巨大的投资,事实上它是软件行业历史上最大的收购案。所以,微软为花了这么大一笔钱呢?

第一,通过收购领英,微软终于挥出了社会化媒体的球杆。微软历来是作为一个软件公司而闻名世界。然而,在过去的几年中,许多对于微软的评论都表示,在它开发某种形式的社交媒体平台之前,该公司将面临高科技产业的停顿。通过领英的服务,微软现在不仅可以吸引到通过计算机软件系统,如Outlook,Office和Skype的商务人士,还可以吸引通过社交媒体所连接工作场所。从本质上讲,领英商务导向性的平台,与微软所“失落的一角”恰好能完美地结合在一起。

微软并不仅仅打算拥有领英的服务,并且该公司计划把领英的的功能与其现有的应用程序和服务结合在一起,如Skype,Outlook和柯塔娜(Windows10 微软的“智能个人助理” – “Siri的”竞争者)。因此,我们所知道的每个微软的服务,都可能会向更高级的社会化媒体的认可和能力变化。此外,对于领英的收购将给予微软 433万的活跃用户。这些用户融合到微软的系统能有效地增加一倍Outlook用户的数量和超过两倍 Windows10的用户,它还可以增加 6 倍 Skype的用户。看起来这些对于微软来说都是利多 — 但是,这似乎是微软都好 - 但是,市场会如何反应这个公告呢?

在周一上午开盘之后,领英的股价跃升了 47%。这种反应说明了投资者对于领英的积极情绪 — 其中一个预测认为微软收购社交媒体平台可以帮助领英业务的开展。与此同时,微软的股票跌幅略超过 3%。虽然这种大小的波动并不少见,有趣的是,微软的股票在看似有利的消息公布之后发生了下跌。这可能表明一些投资者对于公司如何处理这种规模的交易的不安全感。许多报告都承认微软在过去历史上的收购案中都遇到了麻烦 — 这笔领英的收购案金额远远高于微软曾经尝试的任何交易。作为回报,微软已经表示,他们将保留现有的领英管理团队,从而保证两家公司之间的平滑过渡。

对于领英的收购和整合的结果能够使我们对于微软的未来作出一个预测。这将是非常有趣的,我们可以继续看看微软的股票如何对于收购领英做出反应。一如往常,保持对于任何事件的敏感度能够帮助你做出正确的投资决策!

LinkedIn’s Biggest Endorsement Ever

image from forbes.com By: Kayleigh Yerdon, Cornell University

You might have heard on Monday that Microsoft endorsed LinkedIn big time. Monday morning before the market opened, Microsoft announced that it had acquired the professional social media site for $26.2 billion. Yes, you read that right, $26.2 billion. That seems like a huge expense – in fact, the largest acquisition in the history of the software industry. So, what’s in it for Microsoft after this huge investment?

First, by acquiring LinkedIn, Microsoft has finally taken a swing in the social media ballpark. Microsoft has historically been known for succeeding as a software company. However, many evaluations of Microsoft in the past few years have stated that the company would face a standstill in the tech industry until it made moves to develop some form of social media platform. By incorporating the services of LinkedIn, Microsoft can now not only appeal to business professionals via computer software systems such as Outlook, Office, and Skype, but also connect workplaces through social media. Essentially, LinkedIn’s business-oriented platform fits perfectly with Microsoft’s supposed “missing piece.”

Microsoft doesn’t just plan to own LinkedIn’s services, though. The company plans to integrate LinkedIn’s features with each one of its existing apps and services such as Skype, Outlook, and Cortana (Microsoft’s “intelligent personal assistant” in Windows 10 – a “Siri” competitor). So, each of Microsoft’s services as we know them could be seeing changes towards more advanced social media recognition and capability. Furthermore, the acquisition of LinkedIn will give Microsoft access to the 433 million active LinkedIn users. Integrating these users into Microsoft systems could effectively double the amount of Outlook users and more than double the amount of Windows 10 users. It could increase the number of Skype users by 6 times, too. This seems to be all good for Microsoft – but, how did the markets react to this announcement?

After the morning bell on Monday, LinkedIn’s stock price jumped 47%. This reaction illustrates positive investor sentiment towards LinkedIn – a forecast that Microsoft’s acquisition of the social media platform might help LinkedIn’s future business. At the same time, Microsoft stock traded down a little over 3%. Although fluctuations of this size are not totally uncommon, it is interesting that Microsoft’s stock traded down after its seemingly beneficial announcement. This may indicate some investor insecurity over how a deal of this size will really play out for the company. Many reports have acknowledged the fact that Microsoft has historically had trouble integrating its large acquisitions in the past – and that this deal with LinkedIn is far larger than any that Microsoft has ever attempted. In return, Microsoft has stated that they plan to keep the existing LinkedIn management team on board throughout the acquisition, so as to ensure a smooth transition between the two companies.

The acquisition and integration of LinkedIn could be a very telling predictor for the near future of Microsoft. It will be very interesting to see how Microsoft’s stock continues to react throughout the progression of integrating LinkedIn. As always, it is best to stay informed as events like these might help you to make your investment decisions!