市场反弹可能结束

首席市场策略师Brian Dolan撰写  

耶伦表示需警惕三月就业报告

在今天的纽约经济俱乐部上,美联储主席耶伦在经济展望上变得异常保守,对未来加息特别小心。耶伦的担忧除了2016年以来全球各国的经济发展,还有“好坏参半”的美国经济数据,这些因素也就成为了联储加息之路上“不可避免的不确定性”。

紧接着在3月16日FOMC最新的经济展望上,耶伦再次强调联储并没有预设加息目标。耶伦明确表示未来是否加息完全取决于未来的经济数据和全球经济发展。并且她强调现在的全球经济状况还没有达到再次加息的条件。

利率市场已经对3月16日的FOMC报告做出回应,市场对四月加息概率的预期大幅降低(从25%的加息概率降低至2%)。耶伦今天的评论同样降低了市场对6月15日加息的预期,从37%的预期加息概率降低至25%(见下图)。而且除非美国经济数据出现强劲反弹否则预期加息概率将持续下滑。

probability of fed rate hike

资料来源:彭博社;嘉维证券

美联储与风险情绪的关系被打破?

最近美联储增强了继续保持低利率的意愿提振了风险资产和股票市场。但这样的情况可能正在发生变化。在今天,股市表现强劲反弹至2056(根据标普500),但是自3月16日美联储发布报告以来市场只上涨了1.5%,这可能预示着美联储不加息的影响已经开始消退。现在投资者的问题是股市是否会在未来3个多月的加息情况渐趋明朗的情况下持续走强。

其他需要关注的风向标:低加息预期决定了美元会走弱。弱势美元将利好美股,同样也验证了耶伦的言论。然而弱势美元通常也会利好大宗商品市场,尤其是原油,而这暂时也未反映在市场表现中。CRB商品指数目前已经回吐了3月16日美联储决议以来的所有涨幅,这意味着未来经济预期偏弱。

这也是过去存在在美联储与风险情绪之间的相关性可能正在消散的原因。耶伦面对的经济发展问题同样也影响着股票市场和风险资产版块:疲软的全球经济增速和美国经济数据,以及下滑的工资和消费水平,导致了大宗商品市场走弱,而且通常情况下商品市场也是反应最快的市场。

数据很重要——美国就业状况

现在的情况使得周五出台的3月美国就业报告变得异常重要。舆论普遍预期非农就业人数增加20.5万(两年平均值大概24万)并且失业率稳定在4.9%。如果报告接近预期,也就是像今天的就业数据报告显示的那样,将表明美国就业市场稳固,不会产生灾难性的结果。这将不会过多地扰乱市场前景,美国年度GDP将继续步履维艰地维持在2.0%-2.3%左右。

另外,更多的焦点可能会集中在收入数据上,预计时薪收入数据月度同比增加0.2%(先前为-0.1%);年度同比则稳定在2.2%。疲软的收入数据将会对市场造成严重影响,也就提醒了投资者美国消费数据仍然脆弱,同时也解释了耶伦谨慎的原因。另一方面,强势的收入报告可能正是市场所需要的,可以继续展开反弹趋势推高指数。

市场展望

S&P momentum

资料来源:彭博社;嘉维证券

从技术分析层面来看,有顶部形成的早期迹象。标普500动量分析显示市场已经处于超买区域(意味着价格可能下跌)。趋势分析仍然显示为无趋势水平表现,意味着动量分析更有参考意义。价格围绕在Tenkan线(紫色线)附近波动,第一支撑点位于2047附近。如果收盘价跌破第一支撑水平,市场将可能继续回落至1981点(黄色基准线);云端顶部区域1945将成为下一支撑点。此外,今天的价格正在形成一个熊市射击之星的顶部(在撰写本文时当日市场还未收盘)将通过明天的大阴线确认。保持谨慎时刻关注,以免措手不及陷入困境。

Market Recovery May Be Stalling

By Brian Dolan, Head Market Strategist  Yellen Signals Caution Ahead of March Jobs Report

In a speech to the Economic Club of New York today, Fed Chair Janet Yellen sounded exceptionally reserved in her economic outlook, saying that caution in raising rates is “especially warranted.” Yellen cited concerns ranging from global developments to “somewhat mixed” US data so far in 2016 as reasons why the Fed rate path remains “necessarily uncertain.”

Following the latest FOMC statement and economic projections on March 16, Yellen’s comments today reinforce the idea that the Fed is not on a pre-determined path to higher rates. Yellen made it plain that the burden of proof is on the incoming economic data and global developments to justify another rate hike. And she also made it clear that the burden of proof is not close to being met.

Interest rate markets had responded to the March 16 FOMC statement by pricing out small expectations (around 25% probability down to 2%) of an April hike. Yellen’s comments today sent market expectations of a June 15 rate hike down sharply from about 37% to around 25%. (See chart below.) They’re likely to keep drifting lower as that meeting approaches unless there is a meaningful and clear rebound in US data.

probability of fed rate hike

Source: Bloomberg; DriveWealth

Is the Fed/Risk Sentiment Relationship Breaking Down?

In the recent past, it has been customary for stocks and risk assets to be buoyed by indications that the Fed would stay lower for longer. That past response may be in the process of changing, though it is too soon to tell. To be sure, stocks have rallied again today and are testing the highs for the current rebound around 2056 (based on the S&P 500), but are only up about 1.5% since the Mar. 16 Fed decision, possibly suggesting that the steady-Fed-effect is beginning to fade. The question for investors now is whether stocks are able to extend gains further, now that the rate hike horizon appears to be clear for the next 3+ months.

Other bellwethers to keep an eye on: the US dollar is decidedly weaker on lowered US rate hike expectations, which is to be expected. A softer US dollar is generally correlated with gains in US stocks, which is also holding up in the immediate wake of Yellen’s comments. However, a weaker US dollar is also typically linked to stronger commodities, oil in particular. And that’s not holding up well at all. Commodities (CRB index) have now given back all of their gains following the Mar. 16 Fed decision, which suggests an underlying weakness in the broader economic outlook.

And that’s the reason for a possible breakdown in the well-worn relationship between the Fed and risk sentiment. The economic reality facing Janet Yellen is the same one facing stock markets and other risk assets: anemic global growth and stuttering US data, highlighted by backsliding in wages and spending. Commodities have simply been the first to react, as they often are.

Data Does Matter—US Jobs on Tap

This set of circumstances shines the spotlight on Friday’s March US employment report more so than usual. Consensus forecasts are for a slightly below-trend NFP increase of +205K (2-year average is about +240K) and a steady 4.9% unemployment rate. If even close to expectations, and today’s ADP report suggests it will be, such a reading would hardly be disastrous, suggesting a still solid US labor market. It would take a major shortfall to rattle markets overall outlook, which is that US continues to trudge along at around 2.0-2.3% annualized GDP.

More likely, the focus will stay on the wages and earnings data, where average hourly earnings are expected to increase +0.2% MoM (prior -0.1%); YoY steady at 2.2%. A weak reading on wages could potentially have an outsized impact on market sentiment, reminding investors that US consumers are still vulnerable and reinforcing Yellen’s reasons for caution. A stronger wages report, on the other hand, could be just what markets need to extend the rebound and push higher still.

Market Outlook

S&P momentum

Source: Bloomberg; DriveWealth

On the technicals, there are some early warning signs of a potential top forming. S&P 500 momentum studies are in overbought territory and potentially showing bearish divergences (meaning prices may fall). Trend readings are still at non-trend levels, suggesting momentum signals are more relevant. Price has been flirting with the daily Tenkan line (purple line), the first line of support on Ichimoku charts, currently at 2047. A daily close below that level would suggest scope for a pullback to 1981 initially (Kijun line-Yellow line); top of the cloud at 1945 is next support. Also, today’s price candle is potentially forming a bearish ‘shooting star’ topping pattern (the daily candle is not finalized as of this writing), which would be confirmed by a large down candle tomorrow. Stay tuned and don’t get caught flat-footed.