千禧一代,用你的资产现在就开始投资:五条能帮助到你的小贴士

作者 Neale Godfrey 千禧一代不投资股市。这是一个问题。按照Bankrate组织的一项调查,30岁以下的年轻人只有26%的人投资股市。而婴儿潮一代出生的人有58%的人投资股市。股票自2009年以来已上涨3倍,为什么千禧一代不投资呢?

有许多千禧一代不投资的原因,但是最主要的是这三个:

1.没有钱 – Bankrate组织最近的调查显示,53%的千禧一代受访者认为缺乏资金是不投资的主要因素。 Bankrate提到“从上个世纪最严重的经济衰退之一中走出来,许多美国人已经很难找到一份报酬丰厚的工作,他们已经很难有多余的资金进行储蓄和投资了,这是可以理解的”

  1. 2. 没有管理资金的智慧 - 千禧一代不懂投资的基本知识,从而回避投资。我们没有教给我们的后代关于这个真实世界金融方面的基础知识。这是我的专长。我率先在1980年创建了“孩子和钱”的主题,创造了第一个资源,为孩子讲授金融知识。许多人都加入了,但我们还需要做更多。我们学校没有实施必要的基础课教授投资管理,家长在家中也没有进行这方面的知识教育。Jean Chatzky指出,“......调查显示,他们(千禧一代)几乎不知道管理自己的钱第一件事情需要做什么。”
  2. 缺乏信心 - 高盛对千禧一代进行了一项调查,发现只有18%的年轻人相信股市是为未来储蓄的最好方式。为印证此发现,CNNMoney引用了由第一资本投资单独公布的调查显示,“百分之九十三的千禧一代说,对市场的不信任和缺乏投资知识使他们失去投资的信心。”这一代也“......因受到业界的复杂术语和高费用认知和缺乏透明度使得他们远离投资。”

不管过去几年中有过什么样的牛市,他们并没有参与其中。拿一位千禧一代的纪录片摄影师兼采景人Kendall Waldman作为例子,他说:“我不认为对于投资已经具备了足够的知识,而相比之下最保险的办法似乎是先尽快把我的学生贷款还完。我确定我每个月都可以划拨出一部分钱来,但我想知道与其将它们放在我的床垫底下,我可以拿它们做些什么。”

我们怎样才能帮助千禧一代们开始投资?这里有一些小贴士或许可以鼓励我们的下一代进行一些投资。

小贴士#1:开始着手投资——投资的时机就是现在

千禧一代们,这里是你们能获得的最好的建议:“低价买入并高价卖出。”好吧,我只是在开玩笑,但我们正处在数年来最大的一次廉价出清阶段,而这正是一个完美的试水并开始投资的机会。天不会塌下来的。这是一个调整阶段,主要原因归咎于中国的经济放缓以及对于利率上调的恐惧。事实是我们的经济确实正在回暖,美国依然强大而健壮。

 小贴士#2:奇迹般的金钱也买不来——时间

千禧一代们,你们还年轻并且有着充足的时间。即使是爱因斯坦那样的天才也曾这样引述过:“复利是世界第八大奇迹。懂得这个道理的人将获得回报……不懂这个道理的人……将付出代价。”

“在20世纪时股市平均每年的回报率为10.4%。在1900年仅投资1,000美元就能够在1999年结束时获得1980万美元。在平均每年回报为15%的情况下,只需要30年就可以把1.5万美元变成100万美元。”我的意思并不是我们会获得平均10%的回报率,但这是有可能的。千禧一代们,假设你想现在开始为你的新家进行储蓄。根据2015年7月31日的数据,美国一个新家的平均销售价格是36.16万美元。这意味着你大约需要准备72,320美元的首付款。如果你以每周160美元的数额投资7年,而每年的复利为7%,根据Bankrate网站计算器,你的税前收入将是74542美元。真正的奇迹出现在,如果你将投资回报率增加到8%,依然每周投资160美元,但时间增加到30年,你将会获得100万美元。

 小贴士#3:投资你了解的股票

你了解你穿什么衣服和鞋子,你了解你使用什么电子产品,你了解你吃什么,你了解什么媒体你看和追。这些应该是你投资所选择的股票。这不是一个新的投资哲学。Peter Lynch声称这一投资哲学指导Fidelity’s Magellan基金在1977年到1990年间,资产从2000万美元增加到14亿美元。最近,投资量巨大的Chuck Carnevale 声称了大体上一致的投资哲学。我建议父母,当他们第一次给他们的孩子介绍投资的世界的时候,带孩子走进杂货店就开始讨论他们买的产品和为什么买这些产品。

千禧一代,仅仅是在你生活中的杂货店散散步,你就可以找出自己的投资组合。无论你在新闻媒体上听到什么新闻,无论你听到你的室友给你的什么“好的建议”,关键是要买入并持有股票。坚持到底,养成一个每周投资的习惯,你应该会不错的。

小贴士#4:让投资变得简单

高盛进一步的调查显示,“大约43%的受访者称他们不会花超过一个小时得到关于一项投资的指导,同时有13%的受访者称他们根本不寻求投资建议”。按照CNN资金报告中的资本投资,“年轻的投资者当遇到投资的时候更可能独自做决定。87%的千禧一代他们比68%的老年人更相信他们资金投资做得决定”。

你们是频繁使用手机的一代,有易于使用和成本低廉的网上和移动投资平台。我与一家叫做嘉维证券的公司共事。他们是一家为那些想要在美国股市投资的千禧一代提供低成本开户和交易的证券公司。你可以自己做出你的投资决策。

小贴士#5:停止借口现在就开始投资吧

经济大衰退可能又把你的世界上下颠倒,但我们所有人,无论我们年纪多大,都经历了经济最好和最坏的时期。而且,随着每一天消息越来越好,历史性的股市趋势显示出从长远来看股市具有巨大的回报,为什么不利用今天的市场机会呢。当你退休的时候我也许不在你身边,但是当你在某个海滩享受着你“高级的黄金时代”,你会感谢我的。

千禧一代,有时候我们所需要的就是使用资产开始投资。让我们开始投资吧!

Millennials, Get Off Your Assets And Start Investing Now: 5 Tips To Help You

*This article was originally posted on forbes.com By Neale Godfey, DriveWealth Board of Advisors

Millennials are not investing… and it’s a problem. According to a survey conducted by Bankrate, only 26% of young people under 30-years-old are investing in stocks. That’s compared to 58% of Baby Boomers. With stocks tripling since 2009, why wouldn’t Millennials want to invest?

There are several reasons for the lack of investment by Millennials, but here are the top three:

  1. No Money– In the recent Bankrate survey cited above, 53% of Millennials responded that lack of money is the major factor for not investing.  “Coming out of one of the worst recessions of the last century, where many have had trouble finding gainful employment, it’s understandable that many Americans have had trouble finding money to save and invest,” notedBankrate.
  1. No Money Smarts – Millennials don’t understand the basics of investing, thus shy away from putting money in the market. We have failed to prepare our offspring for the real world by not giving them the basic educational tools around financial literacy. This is my wheelhouse of expertise. I pioneered the topic of “kids and money” in the 1980’s and created the first resources to teach kids about finances.  Many others have joined the fray, but we still need to do more.  Our schools are not implementing the basic courses necessary to teach money management and parents don’t have the knowledge to fill in at home.  Jean Chatzky noted that, “…surveys reveal that they (Millennials) hardly know the first thing about managing their money.”
  1. Lack Of Trust– Goldman Sachs conducted a survey of Millennials and found that only “18 percent of the young adults trusted the stock market as ‘the best way to save for the future.’” To dovetail that finding, a Capital One Investing survey released exclusively by CNNMoney cited that, “Ninety-three percent of millennials say that both distrust of markets and lack of investing knowledge make them less confident about investing.”  This generation is also “… turned off by the industry’s complex jargon and perceived high fees and lack of transparency.”

Despite the bullish market over the last couple of years, they have stayed away. Just take one Millennials’s stance, Kendall Waldman, documentary photographer and location scout: “I don’t really feel informed enough to invest and the safest bet seems to be paying off my student loans as quickly as possible.  I’m sure I could put away a little each month, but I’d want to learn what to do with my money instead of feeling like I’m putting it under my mattress.”

How can we help encourage Millennials to start investing? Here are some tips that will hopefully inspire our next generation to put some money into the market.

Tip #1: Start Investing – The Time To Invest Is Now

 Millennials, here is the best advice you can get: “Buy low and sell high.”  Okay, I’m being facetious, but we are in the middle of the biggest sell off in years, and it is a perfect time to put a toe-in-the-water and start investing. The sky is not falling. This is a correction, mostly due to China’s economic slowdown and fears over climbing interest rates. The truth is that our economy is really recovering and the U.S. remains strong and sound.  

Tip #2: The Miracle Money Can’t Buy – Time

Millennials, you are young and you have time on your side. Even genius,Albert Einstein, is quoted to have said, “Compound interest is the eighth wonder of the world.  He who understands it, earns it…he who doesn’t…pays it.”

“During the 20th century the stock market returned an average of 10.4% a year.  Just $1,000 invested in 1900 would be worth over $19.8 million by the end of 1999.  At a 15% average return per year, it only takes 30 years to turn $15,000 to $1 million.” I’m not saying that we will average 10% returns, but we may.  Millennials, suppose you wanted to start to save now for that new home.  The US average sales price for a new home on July 31, 2015 was $361,600.  That means that the 20% down payment you would probably need is $72,320.  If you invested $160 a week for 7 years and that compounded annually at 7%, according to Bankrate’s calculator, before taxes, you would earn $74,542. The real miracle comes in if you increased the return to 8% and did the same $160 a week, but for 30 years, that’s where you approach the $1,000,000 mark.

 Tip #3: Buy What You Know

You know what clothes and shoes you wear, you know what electronics you use, you know what you eat, and you know what media you watch and follow.  Those should be your picks for investing.  This is not a new philosophy.  Peter Lynch professed this and it helped to guide Fidelity’s Magellan Fund from 1977 to 1990, during which time the Funds’ assets grew from $20 million to $14 billion. More recently, investment great,Chuck Carnevale basically professes the same philosophy.  I suggest that parents, when they first introduce their young children to the world of investing, take their kids on a walk through the grocery store and start to talk about the products they buy and why.

Millennials, just take a stroll through the grocery store of your life and you can figure out your own portfolio. The key is to buy and hold your stock regardless of what news you hear in the media and what “great advice” your roommate gives you about a “hot tip.”  Stay your course, make weekly investing a habit and you should do fine.

Tip #4: Make It Simple

The Goldman Sachs survey further revealed that, “About 43 percent of the survey participants said they wouldn’t spend more than an hour getting guidance on an investment, while 13 percent of them said they wouldn’t seek out advice at all.” According to Capital One Investing, in theCNNMoney report, “… young investors are more likely to go it alone when it comes to investing. Eighty-seven percent of millennials say they trust themselves to make investing decisions on their own compared with 68% of seniors.”

You are the mobile generation and there are online and mobile investing platforms that are easy to use and low cost. I work with a company calledDriveWealth. They are a broker-dealer who gives low cost access and education to Millennials, who want to get started investing in the stock market. You get to make your own investment decisions.

Tip #5: Stop The Excuses and Start Investing Now 

The Great Recession may have turned your world upside-down, but all of us, no matter our age, have experienced the best and worst of economic times. And, with the news getting better and better each day, and historical stock market trends showing great returns over the long haul, why not take advantage of today’s opportunity in the market. I may not be around when you retire, but you can thank me when you’re on a beach somewhere enjoying your “Advanced Golden Years.”

Millennials, sometimes all we need is a kick in the assets to get going… so let’s go!