月球快车:第一家将真正走出这个世界的公司

作者:Kayleigh Yerdon,康奈尔大学 如果你还没有听说过谷歌月球 XPRIZE 计划,你可以(并且应该)读一读这个。这项竞赛开始于 2007 年,并且将在 2017 年到达它最精彩的一步,届时它肯定能够得到数以万计的媒体争相报道。当竞赛开始时,来自 16 个国家的 29 支队伍接受了谷歌这个看似不可能完成的挑战:将私人资助的探测器降落在月球上,在月球上行走 500 米,并且将高清的视频和图片传回地球。这没啥大不了的。相比于这些挑战,高达 3000 万美金的奖励似乎应该是最后才关心的东西了。

到目前为止,剩余的16 支队伍中,有 4 支已经开始计划向月球发送探测器了。但是,就像许多事一样,在各个队伍实现他们的计划前,仍然有无数的障碍需要克服。其中,队伍们所面临的最大一个问题就是获得在地球轨道上进行商业太空活动的许可——换句话就是得到在月球上开展活动的书面许可文件。如果你问我,我觉得这是整个竞赛的关键。但是,关键和轻松这两个东西并不总是如影相随。事实上,没有任何一家私人公司曾经被获准在月球上进行任何操作。相反,这些公司在地球轨道内部的操作也受到了严格的限制。

直到上周,是的,上一周!一个参赛团队(来自硅谷的一家私人控股公司:月球快车)破天荒地拿到了前往月球的许可,他也成为了有史以来第一家可以前往月球的私人公司。在他们向美国政府提交计划后的几个月,他们终于获得了在 2017 年进行发射的许可。

如果月球快车继续完成谷歌月球 X 竞赛的目标,他们将成为历史上第四个踏上“地球第八大陆”土地的团队。有史以来第四个。在美国、苏联和中国之后。想想看吧!如果有一个公司加入这些超级大国的行列,这将会产生多么伟大的影响啊?

首先,这对于谷歌的影响将会是巨大的。事实上,就连提出这个月球 X 任务的想法(目前来看,月球快车是非常有可能将探测器降落在月球上并完成其任务的),谷歌都会因为其竞争的理念和前瞻性的思维得到大家高度地赞扬。

此外,科技和太空旅行公司很可能结合彼此的创造并且能从发送的探测仪中发现长期的利益。如果越来越多的公司拥有对于“月球的展望”,会怎么样呢?月球快车联合创始人 Naveen Jain 认为对于月球的展望和 Snapchat 或者 Pokémon Go 的出现没有任何不同,他指出: “我们只是不知道太空产业能做什么事情而已。”但是,如果 2017 年月球快车的计划成功了,许多将“月球展望”的实现视为己任的科技公司将看到非常光明的未来。

最近,月球快车做出了一些改变。除了单纯地按照谷歌的竞赛规则来拍摄月球照片,公司更加计划了进行月球开采。最终,月球快车会执行往返地球月球的飞行任务,建立月球表面的油库,并且将资源带回地球。听起来很疯狂?是的,月球快车想要创造一个属于它自己的行业!

尽管现在这些计划对于我们投资者听起来(名副其实地)有些超凡脱俗,但是我们的确也不知道未来会是什么样的。在过去的每一年,对于“月球的展望”已经越来越触手可得,并且月球快车公司可能在接下来的一年内就能够实现这个梦想。在此之前,我们能做的就是看看谷歌及其它下属的公司的股票,多多留意月球快车的发射计划,并且考虑考虑在如何地球“第八大陆”上开展未来的业务吧。

Moon Express: The First Corporation That Will Really Be Out of This World

By: Kayleigh Yerdon, Cornell University If you haven’t heard of the Google Lunar XPRIZE yet, you can (and really should) read up about it here. The competition, which started in 2007, is nearing its culmination in 2017 and it’s almost certain to get tons of media coverage. When the competition began, 29 individual teams from 16 different countries took Google’s seemingly impossible challenge: to land a privately funded rover on the moon, travel 500 meters, and send high definition videos and pictures back to Earth. No big deal. With all of that, the grand prize of up to $30 million seems like the least to worry about.

So far, 4 of the 16 teams remaining have proposed plans for launches to the moon. But, as is the case with many things, there are countless hurdles that these teams will need to jump before their plans can become reality. One of the most important obstacles for the Lunar X teams is getting approval to conduct commercial space activities beyond the Earth’s orbit – literally receiving permission to conduct their business on the moon. That seems pretty vital to the entire competition, if you ask me. But, vital and simple don’t always go hand in hand. In fact, no private corporation has ever been given permission to operate on the moon. Instead, companies have always been limited to operations within the Earth’s orbit.

Until last week, that is. Last week, one of the Lunar X competitors – a privately held company from Silicon Valley called Moon Express – received a milestone judgment, becoming the first private company ever to receive permission to go to the moon. After months of presenting plans to the US government, they were finally approved to launch in 2017.

If Moon Express continues to live up to the dreams of the Google Lunar X competition creators, it could be the fourth entity in history to soft-land on the  “Earth’s eighth continent.” The fourth entity ever. On a list behind the US, USSR, and China. Think about that. What could be the implications of having a corporation added to this list of nations that were all superpowers at the time of their missions?

First and foremost, the implications for Google could be huge. Realistically, if even one of the proposed Lunar X missions – Moon Express looking very promising at the moment – lands on the moon and completes its imaging tasks, Google will see nothing but high praise for its competition idea and its forward thinking.

Furthermore, its possible that the technology and space travel companies involved in both the creation and the launches of the rover(s) being sent could see major long term profits. What if it becomes a common thing for corporations to have “moon aspirations?” Moon Express co-founder Naveen Jain believes that corporate moon aspirations are no different from the founding of Snapchat or Pokémon Go, stating that, “we just don’t know what the thing is for the space industry yet.” But, if Moon Express’ mission is successful in 2017, the various technology companies responsible for turning “moon aspirations” into reality could see very bright futures.

Lastly, Moon Express itself is a little different. Instead of simply following Google’s competition rules and taking images of the moon, the company has gone farther and plans to begin mining the moon. Eventually, Moon Express plans to perform round-trip missions, create a fuel depot on the surface of the moon, and bring back resources to the Earth. Sound crazy? Yeah, Moon Express would essentially be creating it’s own industry!

While some of these plans sound (literally and figuratively) out of this world to us as investors right now, the honest answer is that we don’t know what is to come. With each passing year, corporate “moon aspirations” have become more and more achievable and Moon Express may be on the verge of achieving those dreams within the next year. Until then, the most we can do is watch Google’s stock and those of other affiliated technology companies, keep an eye on the plans for the Moon Express launch, and consider the implications of future business on the Earth’s “eighth continent.”