下一站:Chiptopia

由康奈尔大学的Kayleigh Yerdon所作

*image from Fastcompany.com

听说过 Chiptopia 吗?直到星期一,我们还没有听说过。但是,在这即将到来的夏季,Chiptopia 似乎可能是许多爱冒险的游客的热门目的地。那么,Chiptopia 在哪里以及它究竟有什么吸引力呢?

奇怪的是,Chiptopia 可以在一个非常熟悉的位置被找到——您当地的Chipotle 餐厅。在星期一的新闻发行物中,卷饼连锁店宣布了它最新的合资企业,将其命名为“Chiptopia”——一个为期三个月的客户忠诚度计划试用期。该计划本身是一个墨西哥快餐连锁店以前从未决定开始的策略。然而,在一连串的负面新闻和消费者的不信任之后,Chipotle 已经决定给客户忠诚度计划——最近对像星巴克这样的公司行之有效——一次机会。

Chipotle 在过去一年遭受了影响不是什么秘密。流行的卷饼连锁店面临了两个独立的它的食物中有大肠杆菌病毒的爆发,最近的爆发开始于 2015 年十二月。虽然那两个爆发似乎已经结束了,但广泛的疾病所产生的新闻没有结束。第一次爆发导致了十一个州的顾客住院,第二次爆发击中了另外三个州。最终,出于调查目的,许多 Chipotle 参观暂时关闭大门——尤其是在华盛顿和俄勒冈,那里的爆发是最大的。

尽管这两个爆发在今年的 2 月 1 日已经正式宣布过了,Chipotle 的负面消息并没有在那时候就停止。在四月底,连锁店报道了它史上首次的第一季度亏损。这主要是由于同店销售额,在 2016 年第一季度下降了几乎百分之 30 。连锁店也错过了收入预期,以及每个股票在一个季度损失了 88 美分。10 月份以来,Chipotle 的股票已经失去了超过三分之一的价值。那么,在只能被称为  Chipotle 最糟糕的一年至今,为了纠正下跌,该公司的销售和营销团队毫无疑问有很多工作要做。

这就是 Chiptopia 进来的地方。该计划不仅为了奖励 Chipotle 最忠实的客户——因为,即使在听到大肠杆菌爆发的新闻之后,有些客户足够忠实地继续购买食物并碰运气——但是这也是一个为了在最近明显的对品牌的不信任之后,吸引回顾客的策略。不像其他的奖励计划,Chiptopia 旨在根据未来三个月内顾客进入Chipotle 店的次数回报客户——而不是他们购买的金额。出于忠诚,客户将得到“免费赠品”,如免费的薯片和鳄梨酱(是的人们,免费的鳄梨酱),以及买一赠一的卷饼。如果三个月的试验成功,Chipotle 的管理层已经表示会考虑将其延长为一个持续的奖励计划。

你觉得 Chiptopia 对 Chipotle 的股票价格有帮助吗?这样的策略可以帮助重建围绕品牌的消费者信心吗?这样的信息可以帮助你作出更明智的投资决策,或者最起码,你可以在 Chiptopia 得到一些免费的鳄梨酱。

Next Stop: Chiptopia

By: Kayleigh Yerdon, Cornell University *image from Fastcompany.com

Ever heard of Chiptopia? Until Monday, we hadn’t either. But, in these coming summer months, it seems that Chiptopia may be a popular destination for many adventurous travellers. So, where is Chiptopia and what exactly is the appeal?

Strangely enough, Chiptopia can be found at a very familiar location – your local Chipotle restaurant. In a press release on Monday, the burrito chain announced its newest venture, naming it “Chiptopia” – a three-month trial period for a customer loyalty program. The plan itself is a strategy that the Mexican fast food chain had previously decided never to begin. However, after a string of bad press and consumer distrust, Chipotle has decided to give customer loyalty programs – that have recently worked well for companies like Starbucks – a go.

It is no secret that Chipotle has suffered in the past year. The popular burrito chain faced two separate outbreaks of the E. Coli virus in its food, the most recent outbreak beginning in December of 2015. While the two outbreaks appear to be over, the resulting press from the widespread sickness is not. The first outbreak left customers from eleven states hospitalized, and the second hit another three states. Ultimately, for investigative purposes, many Chipotle restaurants temporarily shut their doors – especially in both Washington and Oregon, where the outbreaks were largest.

While the two outbreaks were officially declared over by February 1st of this year, the bad news for Chipotle didn’t stop then. At the end of April, the chain reported its first quarterly loss in history. This was largely due to same-store sales, which fell almost 30 percent in the first quarter of 2016. The chain also missed revenue expectations and each of its shares lost 88 cents in the quarter alone. Since October, Chipotle’s stock has lost more than a third of its value. So, in what can only be called Chipotle’s worst year to date, there’s no doubt that the company’s sales and marketing teams have a lot of work to do to correct the fall.

That’s where Chiptopia comes in. The program is aimed not only to reward Chipotle’s most loyal customers – because, even after hearing the news of the E. Coli outbreak, some customers were faithful enough to continue buying food and taking their chances – but it is also a strategy to lure customers back after the obvious, recent distrust for the brand. Unlike other rewards programs, Chiptopia is designed to reward customers for the number of times they go to Chipotle stores in the next three months – not the dollar amount that they purchase. For loyalty, customers will get “freebies” like free chips and guacamole (that’s right people, FREE guacamole), as well as buy-one-get-one burritos. If the three-month trial is successful, Chipotle management has stated that it will consider lengthening it into an ongoing rewards program.

Do you think Chiptopia can help out Chipotle’s stock price? Can strategies like this help rebuild consumer confidence surrounding the brand? Information like this may help you to make more informed investing decisions or, at the very least, you could end up in Chiptopia with some free guac.