你实际用得上的偿还学生贷款专家贴士

由凯丽·叶冬编写,康奈尔大学 我们必须面对这个现实——毕业的大学生们的平均学生贷款债务每年都在上涨。支付学费对于美国人们来说越来越困难。因为要偿还更高额的贷款,年轻人们越来越难以投资。根据MarketWatch,70%拥有学士学位的学生是带着债务毕业的,而2015届的学生们的平均债务为35,051美元。更值得一提的是2015届学生们的债务比2014届学生们的债务要高出2,000美元左右。

随着学生贷款付款的数额增高,你愿意用于投资的金额也许会降低。虽然如此,我们有一些关于有效偿还学生贷款的最佳贴士,让你能够更自由地按自己的心愿投资:

  1. 如果你有能力这样做,请尽快支付数额更高的付款。

解决你的付款。紧接着你离校之后,你还的钱越多,你以后需要还的就越少。而且,通过尽快偿还贷款,你会降低你的利息收费,并长远来看会需要还更少的钱。

  1. 就算你不能马上偿还许多钱,也不要忽视了你的债务。

你不能忘了你的债务。如果你假装你的债务不存在,它依然不会消失。你的处理自己的学生贷款的第一步应该是:

  1. 阅读所有有关你的贷款的材料,并掌握最新动态。

为了能够恰当地处理你的学生贷款付款,你必须首先了解它们。通过阅读你所有的账单和文件,你也许会找到关于你应该还多少钱以及还钱的最好方法的有用信息。而且,通过了解关于你的付款计划的最新动态,你能够确保自己注意到每一个变动,并记得及时付款。

  1. 提前定下付款日期。

这个计划的下一步是实际做出计划。了解你的收入、生活状况和必要开支,并决定你每个月能够具体还多少钱。如果需要的话,你可以使用付款计算器或者财政建议。这一步将要求自制力和潜在的牺牲,但是拥有一个计划将使你未来的付款容易得多。

  1. 如果你仍然在上学,现在就开始攒钱。

你也许在想:“哦,这些都与我无关,我还在上学呢。”暂停。停止阅读这篇文章。从你的钱包里拿出5美元并放进一个罐子里。对于积蓄,我们常说“眼不见,心不想。”如果你不随身带着那些钱,你就不会那么想把它们花在小东西上。更好的是,你会开始积累用于偿还贷款的基金。事实上,你甚至可能会想开始每周定时给你的储蓄罐添钱。从长远角度来看,你现在积累的每一分都会帮到你。

  1. 学会物美价廉地活在当下。

对我们大多数的年轻投资者们来说,我们试图“活在当下”并享受今日——这当然很好。但是,这也同时不可避免地提高了我们的意外开支。我们鼓励“活在当下”,但是你可以物美价廉地找到乐趣。如果你想找些好点子,不妨试试这些。

  1. 和你的雇主谈一谈。

有些雇主提供帮助员工们偿还学生贷款的项目。如果你能够得到帮助,那你何乐不为呢?和你的人力资源代表谈话——尤其是你如果是政府员工的话——看看你是否能得到还贷方面的帮助。

  1. 最重要的是保持积极乐观的心态。

学生贷款也许看似一个可怕的负担——但是保持积极的心态、考虑到每个方面和坚持实行计划都能使偿还债务变得容易一点。相信你自己,你可以做到!

归根结底,更快偿还你的学生贷款的第一步取决于你自己。通过现在采取主动权并做出一些牺牲,你能够在将来为自己减轻负担。更重要的是减轻你的学生贷款负担实际上有两个好处,因为你还能因此更好地准备投资!

Pro-Tips You Might Actually Use When It Comes to Paying Student Loans

By Kayleigh Yerdon, Cornell University Let’s face it – as each year goes by, the average student loan debt of graduating college students rises. It’s getting harder and harder for Americans to pay for education. Subsequently, facing the requirement to repay greater loans, it gets harder and harder each year for young people to invest their money. According to MarketWatch, 70% of bachelor’s degree students graduate with debt – and that debt averaged $35,051 for the class of 2015. Even more notable is that the average debt for the class of 2015 was some $2,000 higher than that of the class of 2014.

As student loan payments increase, the amount of money you feel comfortable adding to your investment portfolio might decrease. With that in mind, here are our best tips about efficiently paying student loans so that you can feel free to invest the way you want to:

  1. If you can afford it, make larger payments as soon as you can.

Get your payments out of the way. The more you pay back as soon as you get out of school, the less you’ll have to pay back later. Furthermore, by putting money down as quickly as possible, you’ll reduce your interest charges and actually end up paying less in the long run.

  1. Even if you can’t make big payments right away, don’t ignore the debt.

You can’t just forget your debt is there. If you pretend it’s not there, it doesn’t go away (even if we wish it did). Instead your first step to address your student loans should be to:

  1. Read all of the material regarding your loans and keep things current.

In order to be able to address your student loan payments properly, you first need to understand them. By reading all of your bills and paperwork, you might be able to find useful information about how much you should pay and the best ways to pay it. Furthermore, by staying up to date with how your payment plan works, you can make sure that nothing changes without you noticing and remember to make your payments on time.

  1. Schedule your payments out in advance.

The next step in this plan is to actually make a plan. Know your income, your living situation, and your necessary expenses and set out exactly how much you’ll be able to pay each month. Use repayment calculators or financial advice if you need to. This step will require discipline and potentially sacrifice, but having a plan will make your future payments much easier.

  1. If you’re still in school, start saving RIGHT NOW.

You might be thinking, “oh, none of these tips apply to me, I’m still in school”. Pause. Stop reading this article. Go grab $5 out of your wallet and put it into a jar. As we like to say with saving, sometimes out of sight means out of mind. Since you won’t be carrying that money around with you, you’ll be less tempted to spend it on the little things. Even better, you’ll have started your fund to repay your loans. In fact, you might even want to start a schedule for yourself to add money to your savings jar each week. In the grand scheme of things, every little bit you can save now will help later.

  1. Learn to live in the moment without spending crazy money.

For most of us young investors, we find ourselves trying to “live in the moment” and enjoy today – which is great. But, this also inevitably rakes up unexpected costs. While we totally encourage “living in the moment”, try to find fun things to do without breaking the bank. If you’re looking for some good ideas, try some of these.

  1. Talk to your employer.

Some employers have programs in place to help employees repay their student loans. If you have the option to get help, why not take it? Talk to your HR representative – especially if you’re a government employee – to see if you’re able to get any assistance with your loan payment.

  1. Most importantly, keep a positive attitude.

Student loans may seem like a looming burden – but keeping a positive attitude, playing all of your angles, and sticking to a plan can make repaying debt a little less painful. Trust yourself – you can do this!

At the end of the day, the first step towards paying your student loans faster is you. By taking initiative now and gearing yourself up to make some sacrifices, you can lighten your burden for the future. What’s more important is that lightening your student loan burden can actually help in two ways, as you’ll then be better prepared to invest your money!