经济衰退,经济泡沫和经济垮台:你需要知道的

该文章由嘉维证券合作伙伴Wall Street Survivor为您提供。点此查看原文。 每个人心中都有一个疑问:我们处在泡沫经济当中吗?

从标普500指数从它的历史最高记录(大约2,100点)下跌以来,投资者们就开始极度焦虑于市场正在向哪里发展。我们是否处在经济泡沫中?市场会垮台吗?如果是的话,我们会不会再一次经历像2008年那样恶名昭彰的大危机?

好的。来看看我们是否能够理出一些头绪。

牛市

截止这篇文章撰写时,当前的牛市(市场价格不断攀升的市场)已经持续了约6.5年。几乎比1932年以来每一次牛市的平均时间多出3年。

如果我们追溯到更久远的历史呢?

如果你关注一下1871年以后的历次牛市,(是的,那时开始便有了历史记录)处于中位数的一次牛市持续了50个月(仅略超过4年)。现在的这次牛市则正处于第79个月中(从2009年3月开始)。这意味着它已经比那场中位数的牛市持续时间长50%了。以防你没有看懂,我们可以这样说:当前的这次股市升温比过去144年发生过的所有牛市中的半数的持续时间都要长50%。

处于中位数的那场牛市也曾在当时提供了124%的股市增长。作为对比,过去6年半中股市增长率将近200%。很简单地可以看出市场已经相当成熟……但尽管已经持续了如此长的时间,牛市并不会仅仅因为年龄过大而走向终结。

当你把这次“泡沫”与其它历时长久的牛市相比时,你会发现它实际上或许还能持续很长的时间。当前的牛市正处于第五位,而排在它前面的是结束于1929年(不祥的预兆……)的那次牛市——共持续98个月——因此本次牛市还需要继续攀升20个月才能超越它。

牛市垮台都一定是有原因的。在2008

 

recession bubble

当你把这次“泡沫”与其它历时长久的牛市相比时,你会发现它实际上或许还能持续很长的时间。当前的牛市正处于第五位,而排在它前面的是结束于1929年(不祥的预兆……)的那次牛市——共持续98个月——因此本次牛市还需要继续攀升20个月才能超越它。

牛市垮台都一定是有原因的。在2008年,牛市垮台的原因是次贷危机的发生。在2001年,则是互联网泡沫破灭——它将许多新创立的互联网公司提前送入了坟墓。诸如pets.com这样的网站彻底垮台,而较知名的公司如Amazon则见证了它们的股价崩溃。

因此,哪些关于泡沫破灭的事情是一名投资者应该了解的?典型的熊市(市场价格不断走低的市场)具有哪些特征?它就是指那些使股价跌到零、人们从高层建筑上一跃而下的灾难吗?

*如果我们已经错失你,我们强烈建议你查阅我们关于经济衰退、泡沫和垮台的深度课程

熊市

自1871年以来的所有熊市中,处于中位数的熊市持续了约24个月(整两年)并带走了股市在此之前约38%的涨幅。应注意到从平均程度来看,熊市持续时间普遍短于牛市。使数字变得吓人的是,由于复利的作用,一次100%的增益仅需要50%的损失就能完全抹去,而一次50%的损失则需要将近100%的获利才能使你回到损失之前的水平。

正如牛市那样,熊市也有许多不同的类型。它们可能时间较短但却影响极强。例如1962年那场仅持续了7个月却几乎抹去了先前市场增益的四分之一的熊市——1910至1921年发生的那次熊市也是如此。

 

recession bubble

 

因此……如果你考虑到所有这些信息,你会得到一个市场当前十分成熟的结论。我们知道一次熊市可能会破坏所有在过去79个月中积攒的收益,并且破坏的速度可能是极快的。

市场维持着微妙的平衡。

你必须问自己:你能否预见这个市场会继续上涨两年,并打败1929年的牛市记录?

总的来说,我们必须承认……不能。许多事实不支持这个预言。

当前石油的价格对于能源板块来说是一个巨大的影响因素,而能源市场占据了美国市场整体的近20%。

中国作为美国的一个重要交易伙伴,正处于困境当中——因此要期待一个强劲持续的增长就变得更加困难。如果对中国的出口占所有美国对外出口额的10%……那么中国开始对美国的出口交易说“不”的话将对美国企业意味着什么?

recession bubble

再加上欧洲和日本带来的麻烦,全球经济前景看起来的确十分凄凉。

于是问题就变成:增长将会来自哪里?

如果能找到什么的话,那或许就是自2009年以来普遍期望的:美国联邦储备局。

美联储作为股市的支持者如今已经有一段时间了,利率水平一直接近于零本质上使得债券对于投资者的吸引力下降,并促使边缘投资者转而投身股票市场。这人为地使得股票价格上涨。

美联储一直作为旁观者目睹着这一切,但由于极其担心升息可能带给股市的影响,截止到目前他们都不愿提高利率水平。

依我们的浅见,我们或许不会看到这次牛市以灾难性的垮台作为结尾,因为人们看起来十分谨慎。过去一年发生的事件或许可以反映这一点。从年初至今,股市表现十分平稳。人们普遍持较为满足的态度观望即将发生的事情。有句名言说道,“牛市在乐观主义中成熟,在兴高采烈中灭亡。”而目前市场上有一些乐观主义的迹象,但并没有太多兴高采烈的情绪存在。

实际上,狂妄自大的市场情绪主要来自科技领域,类似Uber和AirBnB这样创业公司的估价正在达到一个疯狂的比例。但考虑到它们都是私人所有的公司,它们的财富并不一定会受到太多来自股市的影响。

最谨慎的做法是为最坏的结果做好准备。在事情看起来不像是会有任何好转的迹象时,你应该为保护好本金或是初始投资不受损失做好预防的措施。

祝你好运!

___________________________________________________

第三方内容

嘉维证券平台及相关服务所提供的任何第三方信息或内容(第三方提供者)仅代表该第三方的意见。嘉维证券对第三方内容的正确性、质量、精确度、完整度、可靠性、有用性或使用该内容所产生的结果不做任何担保。访问者对评估第三方内容负有责任,本公司对访问者由于依赖或使用第三方内容发生的任何损失概不负责。此类第三方内容包括但不限于以下第三方提供者的相关内容:Wall Street Survivor.

 

 

graphic

Recessions, Bubbles & Crashes: What You Need To Know

This Post is Brought to Your By Our Partner, Wall Street Survivor. See the original post here. The question on everyone’s mind: are we in a bubble?

Ever since the S&P 500 fell from its all-time high (around 2,100) investors have been getting super antsy about where the market is headed. Are we in a bubble? Will the market crash? If so, will we once again see a recession like the infamous one in 2008?

Uhh. Can we get some perspective, here?

Bull Markets

As of this writing, the current bull market (a market in which prices are rising) is around 6.5 years old. Almost 3 years older than the average bull market, if you consider every single one since 1932.

What if we go back even further?

If you look at every bull market since 1871, (yep, there are records from back then) the median bull market has lasted 50 months (just over 4 years). This one is in its 79th month (measured from March 2009). This means it’s more than 50% longer than the median bull market. In case you didn’t get that: this current stock market run-up is 50% longer than half of all the bull markets in the last 144 years.

The median bull market has also delivered 124% in stock market gains in that time. In comparison, the last 6 and a half years has seen the market gain nearly 200%. It’s easy to see that the market is pretty ripe…but while it may be pretty long in the tooth, bull markets don’t die of old age alone.

recession bubble

When you compare this “bubble” to other long-lived bulls, however, you’ll see that it could actually have much further to run. While currently sitting pretty in 5th place, the next longest bull market ended in 1929 (ominous…) – lasting 98 months – so this one would have to continue climbing up for another 20 months to usurp it.

Bull markets tend to come crashing down for a reason. In 2008, there was the sub-prime lending crisis. In 2001, there was the dot-com bubble burst – sending many newly minted internet companies to an early grave. Sites like pets.com completely folded while better known names like Amazon saw their share prices collapse.

So, what can an investor expect from a bubble bursting? What does the typical bear market (a market where prices are falling) look like? Is it just complete mayhem, with stocks dropping to zero and people flinging themselves out of high-rise buildings?

*If we’ve already lost you, we’d highly recommend checking out this in-depth course on recessions, bubbles and crashes.

Bear Markets

Well, of all the bear markets since 1871, the median bear market lasted about 24 months (a full 2 years) and took about 38% of the stock market’s previous gains. Note that a bear market, on average, is shorter than a bull. What makes that number scarier is that, because of the way compounding works, a 100% gain is entirely wiped out by a 50% loss and a 50% loss needs a 100% gain to get you back level.

Just like with bull markets, there are many different types of bear markets. They can be short and intense, like the one in 1962 that lasted just 7 months and wiped out nearly a quarter of the previous market’s gains or long and slow – like the one which ran from 1910 to 1921.

recession bubble

So…if you put it all together, you end up with a market that is currently quite mature. We know that a bear market could undermine all the good work that’s been done in the last 79 months, and it could do so very quickly.

The market is very delicately balanced.

You have to ask yourself: can you see this market growing for another two years and beating the record set by the 1929 bull?

On balance, we’d have to say…no. There’s just so much working against it.

Oil prices are a huge drag on the energy sector right now, a sector which is nearly 20% of the overall U.S. market.

China, one of America’s key trade partners, is experiencing difficulty – which makes it harder to argue for strong, continued growth. If China imports 10% of all U.S. exports…what does that mean for U.S. companies when China starts to say “no thx”?

recession bubble

Add in the troubles in Europe and Japan, and the global economic outlook seems very dismal indeed.

The question then becomes: where will the growth come from?

If there’s any to be found, it’ll probably come from where it’s been coming from since 2009: the Federal Reserve.

The FED has been backing the stock market for a while now, by leaving interest ratesnear zero, essentially making bonds less attractive to investors and pushing the marginal investor into stocks instead. That causes the stock to artificially rise.

The FED is sitting on the sidelines watching all this, but have so far been reluctant to raise interest rates, because they’re super scared of what might happen to the stock market.

The one reason, in our humble opinion, that we may not end up seeing this bull market end in a catastrophic crash is that people seem to be cautious. The events over the last year seem to reflect that. Year-to-date, the stock market has been flat. People are just content to see what happens. There’s a famous quote that states, “bull markets mature amid optimism and die in euphoria”, and so far there’s a little optimism but not much euphoria.

Really, the most hubris is coming from the tech world, where valuations of startups like Uber and AirBnB are reaching crazy proportions. But considering that these are all private companies, their fortunes don’t have too much bearing on the stock market.

The most prudent thing to do is to prepare for the worst. At a point where it just doesn`t seem like things are going to look up, one should take precautions to protect their principal/initial investment.

Good luck!

______________________________________________________

Third Party Content Any information or content made available on the DriveWealth Platforms and Related Services by third parties (“Third Party Providers”) is solely the content of such third parties (“Third Party Content”). DriveWealth makes no warranties and expressly disclaims all other warranties regarding the correctness, quality, accuracy, completeness, reliability or usefulness of such Third Party Content, or the results that may be obtained from the use of the Third Party Content. Visitors are responsible to evaluate Third Party Content, the Company shall not be liable for any damage or loss caused by visitors’ reliance on or other use of Third Party Content. Such Third Party Content includes, but is not limited to, the content of the following Third Party Providers: Wall Street Survivor.

 

graphic