保持冷静

由首席市场策略师Brian Dolan撰写 保持投资的视角

全球市场正在显现出波动性增大的迹象,如果你听从那些电视上发表谈话的人,你会认为世界末日离我们不远了。那些数据确实令人担忧。但是如果你停下来问问你自己,过去的几天或几周中有什么发生了改变,真正的答案是“没有”。

中国被指为最近大规模抛售的最可能的背后元凶。但中国的股票市场崩溃开始于六月中旬,也就是两个多月以前。在那时,其它主流的全球性股票市场基本均未受上海和深圳交易所的影响并且呈现出横向盘整走势,甚至在某些情况下创下新高。这是正确的。中国股市泡沫正在破灭,而其它主流市场不应受到影响。

之后中国政府放宽了货币政策,使人民币对美元贬值约4%,触发了新兴市场货币之间竞相贬值的浪潮。哈萨克斯坦坚戈猛跌超过36%,原因是政府放弃了之前的盯住美元政策。哈萨克斯坦是对的。你最后一次想到哈萨克斯坦是什么时候的事情?(无意冒犯或针对哈萨克斯坦)

这就是重点。当前的市场混战局面是一个经典的市场心理学和定位的案例。自信满满的投资活动被价格的变化打断,促进了清算和大规模抛售,而后由于市场普遍下跌,这种抛售又被程式交易系统加重。时机不可能更好了。八月下旬。所有人都在海边,不想花时间做太多事情。价格开始下跌,系统开始自动出售,价格下跌的更多,然后系统卖出的更多。

当前市场总括

首当其冲受到本轮抛售影响的是新兴市场:MSCI新兴市场指数自四月底的高位以来下跌了约24%。这是理所应当的。众所周知新兴市场的资本流动性差,热钱涌入导致价格虚高,当市场情绪变化时股市就会崩塌。

主流发达市场均被卷入其中,这也是可以预见的。依然是市场心理学和算法论所致。例如,在美国,标准普尔500指数(S&P 500)历史上平均每20个月就会经历一次10%的调整。(这些调整平均会持续约3个月。)我将发达国家市场上近期的价格下跌看作是一次利用低价促进资本运作的机会。下方的图表举例说明了标准普尔指数在最近高位的调整期间的历史表现。

标准普尔500指数(S&P 500)的高位调整

keep calm image

数据来源:嘉维证券;改革性的经纪券商

正如我在今年始终秉持的理论,全球经济状况的前景依然极其脆弱。http://www.benzinga.com/exclusives/15/05/5468334/drivewealth-strategist-sees-fragile-global-economic-outlook  主流市场指数之前一直表现出与该理论背道而驰的稳定性和表面上的反弹收益。我把这些市场看作是一只“半空”的玻璃杯,寻求更好的价格水平以进入长期投资仓位。近期的市场下跌把这只玻璃杯翻转了过来,现在我把它视作是“半满”的,至少从市场价位的角度来讲。永远谨记,金融市场是一个糟糕的潜在经济表现的预报器。或如著名的经济学家保罗·萨缪尔森所说,一旦你注意观察,“对于最近的五次衰退,市场预测中了九次。”

全球经济增长的事件总是突如其来地发生,即使有些文章已经发布了好几个月。http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2014-11-13/world-outlook-darkening-as-89-in-poll-see-europe-deflation-risk

但正如我早些时候提出的问题,过去的几天或几周里有什么真正发生了改变?除了主流股票指数的价格水平,并没有什么发生变化。主流发达国家的经济基础面继续走向稳定,即使低于平均水准,整体也维持着增长态势,一旦恐慌平息下来市场将逐渐意识到这一点。

此外,全球市场动荡及不确定因素扰乱市场的条件下,美国联邦储备局如今更可能在9月17日的会议上避免做出任何改变美国利率的决定,这与我长期秉持的联邦储备局今年将不会采取措施的观点一致。一个稳定的联邦政策通常会对风险情绪和股市有所帮助。

在哪里投资?

最近几周的情形揭示了一个市场真理:如果事情好得不像是真的,那它可能确实不是真的。中国股市经历了2015年2月到6月50-70%的波动,即使是在经济数据持续指向减速的情况下?新兴市场全体性的内向崩塌应该被视作对投资者的提醒,投资依然是充满风险的。

长线投资者需要注意他们所投资的资产标的物的稳定性和安全性。在嘉维证券,我们始终相信美国将是投资浪潮的主要受益人。投资于美国上市证券,无论是交易所交易基金ETF还是个股,投资者都获得了从全球各地投资的机会。最重要的是,他们能够从一个别地方无法比拟的、高度监管的、稳定的投资体制中获益。

决定什么时候进行投资应该立足于对市场和价格水平的考量。决定在哪里投资应该立足于你所持有的账户其监管架构的安全性和可靠性的考量。我把近期的障碍看作是在一个更有利的价格水平下增加长线投资的机会。

Remain Calm

By Brian Dolan, Head Market Strategist Keep an Investing Perspective

Global markets are showing heightened volatility and if you listen to the talking heads, you would think the end of the world is at hand. The numbers are indeed alarming. But if you stop and ask yourself what has changed in the last few days or weeks, the real answer is ‘nothing.’

China is pointed to as the most likely culprit behind the recent sell-off. But China’s stocks began their collapse in mid-June, over two months ago. At the time, other major global stock markets essentially ignored what was happening in Shanghai and Shenzhen and traded sideways and even went on to make new highs in some cases. And rightly so. It was a Chinese bubble that was bursting and there was no reason other major markets should be affected.

And then the Chinese loosened the reins on its currency, allowing the yuan to weaken by about 4% against the US dollar (USD), triggering a wave of competitive devaluations among emerging market currencies. The Kazakhstan tenge plunged by over 36% when the government abandoned its peg to the greenback. That’s right, Kazakhstan. When was the last time you thought about Kazakhstan? (No offense intended to Kazakhstan.)

And that’s the point. The current market melee is a classic example of market psychology and positioning. Complacent investments being disrupted by price movements, forcing liquidations and wholesale selling, aggravated by algorithmic trading systems that sell because the market is going down. The timing could not be better. Late August. Everyone at the beach, not wanting to do much of anything. Prices start falling, machines start selling, prices fall more, and the ‘bots sell still more.

Current Markets in Context

Emerging markets have borne the brunt of the sell-off: the MSCI Emerging Market Index is down about 24% since the highs seen at the end of April. And that is as it should be. Emerging markets are notoriously illiquid, prone to hot money juicing prices higher, only to collapse when the mood shifts.

Major developed markets have been caught up in the whirlwind, and that, too, is to be expected. Market psychology and algorithms, again. In the US, for example, the S&P 500 has historically had a 10% correction every 20 months on average. (Those corrections last for about three months on average.) I look at the current declines in major developed markets as an excellent opportunity to put cash to work and take advantage of discounted prices. The chart below illustrates the historical performance of the S&P during periods of corrections from recent highs.

keep calm image

Source: DriveWealth; The Reformed Broker

 

As I have argued throughout this year, the global economic outlook remains extremely fragile. http://www.benzinga.com/exclusives/15/05/5468334/drivewealth-strategist-sees-fragile-global-economic-outlook  Major market indexes had been defying that outlook with steady and seemingly resilient gains. I viewed the markets as a glass ‘half empty,’ looking for better price levels to enter into long-term investing positions. Recent market declines have turned that glass around, and now I see the glass as ‘half full,’ at least in terms of market price levels. Always remember, financial markets are poor predictors of underlying economic performance. Or as the noted economist, Paul Samuelson, once observed, ‘the market has predicted nine of the last five recessions.’

Global growth concerns have erupted in a rather sudden manner, even though the writing has been on the wall for many months. http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2014-11-13/world-outlook-darkening-as-89-in-poll-see-europe-deflation-risk

But as I asked earlier, what has really changed in the last few days or weeks? Nothing except the price level of the major stock indices. Economic fundamentals in the major developed continue to point to steady, if sub-par, growth overall, which markets will eventually recognize once the panic subsides.

Additionally, given the global turmoil and uncertainty that has roiled markets, the US Federal Reserve is now more likely to refrain from making any changes to US interest rates at the Sept. 17 meeting, in keeping with my long held view that the Fed will take no action this year. A steady Fed should be supportive of risk sentiment and stocks in general.

Where to Invest?

Recent weeks have revealed what should be seen as a market truism: If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Chinese stocks rallying 50-70% between February and June, 2015, even as incoming economic data continued to point to a slowdown? The implosion of emerging markets overall should serve as a reminder to investors that the investing world is still very risky.

Long-term investors need to focus on the stability and security that underlie their investments. At DriveWealth, we continue to believe that the US will be the primary beneficiary of that investing trend. Investors in US-listed securities, whether it’s an ETF or an individual stock, have access to investment opportunities all around the world. Most importantly, they enjoy the benefit of a highly regulated and stable investment regime unmatched anywhere else.

Deciding when to invest should be based on market and price level considerations. Deciding where to invest should be based on the security and reliability of the regulatory framework where you hold your investment account. I view the current pullback as an opportunity to add to longer-term investments at more advantageous price levels.

 

 

**image from ilovetangerine.com