退休“高峰理论”:千禧一代,请注意啦;你就是下一个

作者 Neale Godfrey 以下场景。。。

妈妈和爸爸正躺在海景房前的躺椅上,喝着Arnold Palmers(也可能是Arnold Palmer),思考着该去哪家高尔夫俱乐部,去哪里旅行,怎样溺爱孙辈。。。所有这些闲适有趣的时光都来自于有社会安全保障的退休收入、养老金和投资。家里房贷借款还清,没有债务……生活幸福。我看到了一幅小矮人在彩虹下翩翩起舞的画面。

按照2014年Credit.com的美国梦调查,没有债务缠身和退休资金有所保障,代表着大多数美国人的美国梦,大多数人对于实现这个梦想都很乐观。36%的受访者的第一美国梦是在65岁退休的时候有退休资金保障,没有任何债务缠身则为第二美国梦,有25%的受访者选择它作为美国梦的定义。

而现实是。。。

正如Bob Carlson在退休新规中所言,“我从未见过如今天这般危险的情境。投资者,尤其是个人退休账户拥有者,对于他们的财政自由正面临着前所未有的威胁。这种趋势正在出现并愈演愈烈。不仅人们储蓄不够,而且储蓄的工具也不如我们预期。”

按照USA Today(美国今日)的说法,“几乎三分之一的工人(28%)说不算他们的主要居所或传统养老金福利计划,他们每月只有剩下不到1000美元可用于养老储蓄和投资。”很不幸,刚刚的画面变得糟糕,下起了雨,彩虹也消失了。雇员福利研究所和Greenwald & Associates公布了他们电话调查得到的结果,其中57%的受访者表示他们的养老储蓄“已经不到2万5千美元”。草地上的小矮人正在找工作。

另一个现实是千禧一代还没开始为他们的养老存钱。我很清楚,这一代已经遭受经济衰退的影响,他们正在努力靠他们自己生活。Bankrate网站近日声称,“不出所料,较晚地开始工作会使他们开始规划职业生涯结束后的生活能力受到阻碍。毕竟,许多年轻人仍然举步维艰地在寻找一份有意义的工作,以支付他们的开销和偿还学生贷款。为养老储备资金对于大多数千禧一代来说还是一种奢侈的举动。。。”这并不是说这一代人只是唱着与主同行,却不了解养老事宜。Bankrate网站也在最近的调查中指出,“对于18到29岁的人群而言,他们最大的养老恐慌是钱被花光了。”

从哪儿开始呢?

你无法决定去哪儿直到你知道你现在在哪儿。是时候驾驭你当前的生活并了解你的生活成本是多少了。也是时候该搞清楚你养老的时候都需要些什么了。养老有许多种计算方式。既然我们在探讨养老,去看看AARP的养老计算器,尝试着去衡量你需要什么。你想要绘制一幅怎样的养老蓝图?从你的心愿单开始。(顺便说一下,我不仅仅是说给婴儿潮一代听的。。。也是说给千禧一代听的)想想你想住在哪儿。是在海边,在城市,还是靠近你的孙辈们。。。?如果你是千禧一代,我知道你会想笑孙辈这个概念。这不是重点;重点是你要开始考虑哪种生活方式适合你。如果你觉得在树林里养老是你的极乐世界的想法,这可能意味着考虑度假别墅,那可能是你最终养老的地方。

核心建议是,“在你买之前试试它。”在你决定你想去哪儿养老之前,在湖边或海边或者城市里租一个房子。我说不出有多少人涌向佛罗里达或亚利桑那,认为气候炎热(干或湿)就是他们的天堂。这个在二月当你的停车道可以用作雪橇练习的时候听起来不错。但是到了8月,你可能会想要翻个面被‘炙烤’。试着自己绘制你的养老蓝图。你想工作吗?你必须工作吗?看看为了未来的健康需求你目前都做了哪些保护应对。

开始储蓄和投资。。。

我知道你经常听这些方式。那是因为这是正确的建议。向自己或他人寻求意见。。。开始着手吧。有许多专业的投资人士可以给你建议。再三强调,考虑看看你后半辈子想要怎么生活,计算下需要花费的成本开支,然后开始用适当的资产建立投资计划,帮助你实现你的养老计划。选择安全的投资方式,了解投资没有保障,仅仅有“是否会看上去好得令人难以置信”,也许是的。如果你是婴儿潮一代,面临着退休‘高峰’,BlackRock公司有一个好的工具,叫做CoRi™,可以帮助到你。如果你是千禧一代并想依靠自己投资,有许多在线和手机产品可供使用,比如嘉维证券,我与之有关联,可以帮助你为未来投资。

重要的是你想要设计你未来的蓝图。你想要这张蓝图用你想要的颜色去绘制,而不仅仅是一个剪切和粘贴的拼贴扔给你。今天拿起你的笔,开始勾勒吧,之后你可以用你自己的颜色填充蓝图。。。还有小矮人!

The "Big Boom Theory" For Retirement: Millennials, Pay Attention; You Are Next

*Image from Yahoo Fiance by Neale Godfrey

Here’s The Scene 

Mom and Dad are lounging around their beach house, sippingArnold Palmers (maybe with Arnold Palmer), deciding which golf club to use, which trip to take, and how to keep spoiling the grandkids… all this leisure and fun financed by the steady stream of guaranteed retirement income, which is, of course, coming from Social Security, pensions and investments. The family home is paid off, there is no debt… life is good. I see a picture painted with rainbows and dancing gnomes.

“Being out of debt and retiring financially secure represent the American Dream for a majority of Americans, and most are optimistic that they can achieve it, according to the 2014 Credit.com American Dream Survey. Retiring financially secure at age 65 represents the ultimate American Dream for 36% of those surveyed, while getting out of debt came in at a close second, with 25% of respondents choosing it as their definition of the ‘American Dream.’

Here’s The Reality…

As Bob Carlson says in The New Rules of Retirement, “…I’ve never seen a situation as dangerous as today’s. Investors, especially IRA owners, are facing unprecedented threats to their financial freedom. The trends are in place and gathering strength. Not only have people not saved enough, but the vehicles for saving may not be what we all expected.” According to USA Today, “Almost a third of workers (28%) say they have less than $1,000 in savings and investments that could be used for retirement, not counting their primary residence or defined benefits plans such as traditional pensions.” Unfortunately, the picture gets darker, the rain has started, and the rainbow has disappeared. Employee Benefit Research Institute and Greenwald and Associates reported results from their telephone survey, in which 57% of their respondents indicate that “they have less than $25,000” in retirement savings. The lawn gnomes are looking for work.

The other reality is that Millennials are not saving for their retirement. I’m very aware that this generation has suffered from the Recession and they are trying hard to get on their feet. Bankrate recently reported, “Unsurprisingly, that late start in the working world may impede their ability to begin planning for the end of those careers. After all, many young people are still struggling to find meaningful employment to cover current expenses and crushing student loan payments. Saving for retirement is a luxury that many in the millennial generation…” It’s not that this generation is just singing Kumbaya and is not aware of the eventuality of retirement. Bankrate also reported in a recent survey that, “the biggest retirement fear among 18-29 year olds is running out of money.

Where Do You Start?

You can’t decide where you are going until you know where you are now. It’s time to get a handle on your current life and how much it costs you to live it. It’s also time to figure out what you are going to need in retirement. There are tons of retirement calculators. Since we are talking about retirement, take a look at AARP’s Retirement Calculator and try to gauge what you will need. You want to “paint” a real picture of what you want retirement to look like. Start with your wish list. (By the way, I’m not just talking to Boomers… I’m also talking to Millennials.) Think about where you want to live. By the shore, the city, near the grandkids…? If you are a Millennial, I know you are laughing about the concept of grandkids. That is not the point for you; the point is that you are beginning to decide on the style of living that suits you. If you think that a retirement home in the woods is your idea of nirvana, it may make sense to consider getting a vacation home that could eventually become a retirement getaway.

The main advice is, “try the suit on before you buy it.” Rent a home by the lake or ocean or in the city BEFORE you make the decision that this is where you want to retire. I can’t tell you how many people have just flocked to Florida or Arizona thinking the heat (dry or wet) is their idea of heaven. It sounds good in February, when your driveway could be used for luge practice, but by August, you may feel that you need to be turned over and basted. Try to paint your own picture for retirement. Do you want to work? Will you have to work? Look at how you have protected yourself for future healthcare needs.

Start to Save And Invest…

I know that you all hear that way too often. That’s because it’s the right advice. Seek advice on this one or do it yourself…just start. There are investment professionals that can give you advice. Again, decide how you want to live in later life and figure out what that will cost, and then build the investment plan with the proper assets to help you get there. Choose safe investments, knowing that there are no guarantees…only that “If it looks too good to be true”, it probably is. If you are a Boomer facing the “Boom” of retirement, BlackRock has a good tool called, CoRi™ that can help you. If you are a Millennial and want to invest by yourself, there are online and mobile products, like DriveWealth, with whom I am associated, which can help you to invest for the future.

The point is that you want to design your own vision of your future. You want the picture to be as pretty as you want it to be colored with your paints and not just a collage of cut-and-paste scraps that have been thrown together for you. Pick up your pencil today and start to sketch so you can later fill it in with all of your own colors… and gnomes!