日常事物社交化

作者:Nicole Dugan 在过去的24小时内,你有在Twitter上分享了一个趣闻,在Facebook上更新你的状态,在instagram上上传了一张照片,或是在Venmo上还了朋友的钱吗?人类天生具有社交性,但是一项关于日常社交媒体实践的快速分析指出社交媒体让私人事物公开化。许多社交媒体用户会每天(或每小时)更新他们的日常进展、周末计划或者发表对于上周冰球比赛的感想。当你使用Venmo的时候,你的所有联系人会知道你刚还了朋友为你买披萨和啤酒的钱。向朋友还钱这样一个日常事物现在也变得社交化。

在过去的数十年,人们互动的方式发生了巨大的改变。在许多时候,屏幕阻碍了人们面对面的交流,这不仅包括私人交流,也包括商业交流。在你的生活中,你可曾发现你与最好朋友在饭店面对面坐着,但你却在低头看手机吗?你通过app完成你的大多数购物和资金管理。与之前相比,人们花费更多的时间在看屏幕。这种新型社交方式让你的经历与想法可以即刻“分享”,这在以前是无法做到的。

这为什么重要?

人们的行为方式影响着商业的实施。如果日常事务通过社交媒体不断地发布,这就说明越来越多的人花费时间在社交媒体app上。

按照smartinsights.com提供的数据,89%的手机媒体使用发生在手机app上,这使得手机app成为接近客户最好的途径。同时48%的手机互联网用户在搜索引擎上花费大量的时间,26%的用户使用品牌app。一些知名的app,比如Facebook,Instagram和Twitter,他们除了为客户提供方便,也为公司提供广告投放。

根据pewinternet.com的数据,74%使用互联网的成年人都会使用社交媒体。同时,根据marketingland.com的数据,社交媒体的广告收益预计将达到大约84亿美元。在接下去的几年,社交媒体将成为商业广告花费的平台。

使用社交媒体成为一个广告平台,不仅为商业提供了一个很好的机会,也将为顾客提供更好的客户体验。当公司使用传统的横幅广告的时候,他们完全妨碍了顾客对于广告的用户体验。比如,在Facebook和Instagram的广告,你可以点击那些你感兴趣的新闻来满足你的新闻喜好,但是这些广告却不会影响你的操作。这样就消除了客户被广告轰炸的感觉,同时还可以确保公司只需为对他们产品感兴趣的客户支付点击广告的费用。

社交媒体仅仅是广告宣传么?

客户使用社交媒体,对企业来说,虽然广告为最明显的优势,但它肯定不是唯一可以让公司与个人进行互动的方式。这个领域的创新实际上可让客户获益。

 

社交媒体巨头,Facebook,正在加紧进入金融服务领域。这一举动不仅会影响像Paypal这样在线支付的行业先驱,还有可能影响像银行这一类的传统金融机构。如今,Facebook允许其用户在美国境内免费转账。如果Facebook决定将这一业务拓展至全球,那么它对电子商务的影响将是巨大的 - 当你可以通过一个知名并值得信赖的公司进行免费转账时(如Facebook),你还会去支付一笔电汇费用进行传统的电汇转账吗?

 

据TechCrunch报道,Facebook正在等待爱尔兰中央银行的批准,允许其整个欧洲的客户可将资金存入他们Facebook的账户中,使其基本成为一个虚拟的银行。如果获得批准,Facebook可能会成为世界上不使用银行服务人群的金融解决方案。这也将使得在线全球购变得更简单 – 用户还可以与他们的朋友分享他们的购买。

 

随着人们继续选择社交媒体而不是面对面交谈,以及消费者继续选择电子商务而不是传统购物,创新企业将会有更多的机会以创新的方式服务于客户的需求。

The Socialization of Everyday Tasks

by Nicole Dugan Image from www.socialmediajamaica.com

In the last 24 hours, have you shared an interesting news item on Twitter, updated your status on Facebook, uploaded a picture onto Instagram, or reimbursed your friend on Venmo? Humans are social by nature, but a quick analysis of common social media practices indicates that once private tasks have now gone public. Many social media users post daily (or often hourly) updates related to their day, weekend plans, or reaction to last week’s Rangers game. When you use Venmo, for example, all your contacts know that you just sent your friend money for pizza and beer. Paying back a friend- such an everyday task- is now social.

The way in which individuals interact and choose to spend their time has dramatically changed over the past few decades. In many situations, screens get in the way of in-person human interactions- this includes personal interactions as well as commercial interactions. In your personal life, do you find yourself seated across from your best friend at a restaurant with your head bent over your phone? Do you make most of your purchases or keep up with your finances via an app? People spend more time looking at screens than ever before. This new type of socialization facilitates real time “sharing” of experiences and thoughts that were not possible before.

Why does this matter?

The way people behave impacts the way in which business is conducted. If everyday tasks are constantly publicized through social media that means more and more people are spending time on social media apps.

According to smartinsights.com, 89% of mobile media usage takes place in mobile apps, making apps the best place to reach customers. And while 48% of mobile internet users still spend the majority of their media time on mobile search engines, 26% use branded apps. Conveniently enough, some of the most popular apps, Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, offer corporate advertising solutions.

According to pewinternet.com, 74% of adults who use the internet utilize social media. And, according to marketingland.com, social media advertising revenue is forecasted to be around $8.4 billion. Over the next few years, businesses will continue to realize that social media is the place to spend their advertising dollars.

The use of social media as an advertising platform is not only a great opportunity for businesses, it also provides a better experience for the customer. When companies utilize traditional banner ads, they completely interrupt the user experience with an ad. Ads on Facebook or Instagram, however, blend into your news feed- you can click on them if you are interested, but the ads won’t interrupt your actions on the site. This eliminates the feeling of being bombarded by advertisements and also helps to ensure that companies only pay for clicks from people who are actually interested in their products.

Is it just about advertising?

While advertising is the most obvious way for businesses to take advantage of customers’ social media use, it certainly isn’t the only means for companies and individuals to interact. Innovation in this space can actually benefit the customer.

Social media giant, Facebook, is stepping into the realm of financial services. This move doesn’t just impact veterans in the online payments space, like PayPal, it also has the potential to impact traditional financial institutions, like banks. Right now, Facebook allows users in the United States to transfer money for free. If Facebook decides to take this product global, the implications for ecommerce could be huge- why pay for a traditional wire transfer when you can transfer money for free via a well-known, trusted company like Facebook?

According to TechCrunch, Facebook is awaiting approval by the Central Bank of Ireland to allow it to hold funds for customers throughout Europe, essentially making it a virtual bank. If approved, Facebook could become a financial solution for the world’s “unbanked” population. It would also make it easier for individuals across the globe to make online purchases- and share those purchases with their friends.

As individuals continue to choose social media over in-person conversation and consumers continue to choose eCommerce over traditional shopping, there will be more opportunities for innovative businesses to come up with new ways to serve the needs of customers.