三件事情知道的关于你的财运你毕业后

By Nicole Dugan 在接下来的数个月的过程中,刚刚大学毕业新鲜的作物将进入职场。我已经离开大学约五年,了解预算,储蓄和投资,我希望我知道在毕业典礼那天很多教训。你意识到你只有200美元的支票帐户,并支付日不是一个星期有一些经验教训,只能从以下经验一样,第一次的经验教训。在今天的特点是生活和停滞不前的工资,在经济上精明的成本高的经济环境是绝对必要的。这里的一些事情,我希望我知道在毕业那天。

1)你认为你行,你没有太多的时间

退休是遥远,但并非远在你的想法。享受你的20多岁,并采取时间来适应生活后大学生是非常重要的,但不是在未来退休了短期的风险。你可能听说过这之前,但一定要有助于401K,如果你的公司提供的。至少,致力于促进需要得到你的公司,以配合您的贡献(如果可用)的数量。

同样重要的是要设定储蓄目标退休前可能发生的生活事件。这些可能是从买房子采取了急需的假期什么。重要的是要勾勒出一个预算,并尝试每个月遵循它。目标是每个月节省了一定量的;它的确定,如果这一数额是无法达到的每一个为期一个月,只要你正在努力拯救的大部分时间。

尽管有很多不信任我们可能在股市中,重要的是要开始投资。无论您想咨询的顾问或自己做,有无数的选择了开始。

2)你的薪水永远不会上去尽快租金不

当我第一次有了自己的地方,租金为一套两居室的公寓在我区是介于$ 2,0002600美元美元。如果你幸运的话,你甚至可能能够finda隐藏的宝石,是宜居下每月2,000元。现在,在同一地区,租金一套两居室的公寓范围从$ 2,500到3500美元。所以,如果你打算开始,当你变老,变得更加确立在你的职业生涯节约,再想想。这很可能是你收到任何增加工资或促销的一大块将大大有助于保持一个屋顶在你的头上。据MotherJones.com,自1990年以来,工资增长了21%,而生活成本增加了67%。

3)开始自己的企业是艰苦的工作

我在会上介绍到一组大学生在佛罗里达几个月前。一些意想不到的反馈,大部分学生都是有抱负的企业家。飘的日子,其中的华尔街街 - 就业学者的梦想,现在的梦想就是成为自己的老板,并开始自己的公司。我觉得励志,这么多年轻的专业人士有动力和远见成为企业家。我认为这是采取企业和行业的世界回到它的根源。不幸的是,有一个伟大的想法是不够的在今天的经济。

有一点要记住的是,作为一个企业家具有很大的利润以及巨大损失的可能性。此外,您可能需要为确定与不赚钱了一会儿,甚至几年,而你的企业建立。大多数小企业需要风险资金下车在地上,开始翻腾利润。有很多企业在那里投资于新的业务,但他们最有可能,都希望看到的概念证明投资前。

实现从大学生活过渡到生活在所谓的“真实世界”是tough-对我来说是更严厉的比我想象的那样。作为精明的财务是一件事,可以使过渡轻松了许多。

Three Things to Know About Your Finances after You Graduate

by Nicole Dugan Over the course of the next few months, a fresh crop of recent college graduates will be joining the workforce. I’ve been out of college for about five years and learned many lessons about budgeting, saving and investing that I wish I knew on graduation day. There’s some lessons that can only be learned from experience- like that first time you realize that you only have $200 in your checking account and pay-day isn’t for another week. In today’s economic environment characterized by high costs of living and stagnating salaries, being financially savvy is an absolute necessity. Here’s a few things I wish I knew on graduation day.

1) You don’t have as much time as you think you do

Retirement is far away, but not as far away as you think. Enjoying your 20s and taking time to adjust to life post-college is important, but not at the risk of coming up short in retirement. You’ve probably heard this before, but make sure you contribute to a 401k if your company offers one. At minimum, commit to contributing the amount needed to get your company to match your contribution (if available).

It’s also important to set savings goals for life events that may occur before retirement. These could be anything from buying a house to taking a much needed vacation. It’s important to sketch out a budget and try to follow it each month. Aim to save a certain amount each month; it’s ok if that amount isn’t attainable every single month- as long as you are making the effort to save most of the time.

Despite the distrust many of us may have in the stock market, it’s important to start investing. Whether you want to consult an advisor or do it yourself, there are numerous options out there to get started.

2) You’re salary will never go up as quickly as your rent does

When I first got my own place, the rent for a two-bedroom apartment in my area was between $2,000 and $2,600 dollars. If you were lucky, you might even be able to finda hidden gem that’s livable for under $2,000 per month. Now, in the same area, rents for a two-bedroom apartment range from $2,500 to $3,500. So if you’re planning to start saving when you get older and become more established in your career, think again. It’s very likely that a large chunk of any salary increases or promotions you receive will go towards keeping a roof over your head. According to MotherJones.com, since 1990, salaries have increased by 21% while the cost of living has increased by 67%.

3) Starting your own business is hard work

I gave a presentation to a group of college students in Florida a few months back. Some unexpected feedback-the majority of students are aspiring entrepreneurs. Gone are the days where academics dream of jobs on Wall Street- now the dream is to be your own boss and start your own company. I find it inspirational that so many young professionals have the drive and vision to become entrepreneurs. I view it as taking the world of business and industry back to its roots. Unfortunately, having a great idea isn’t always enough in today’s economy.

One thing to keep in mind, is that being an entrepreneur has the potential for great profit as well as great loss. In addition, you will probably need to be ok with not making any money for a while, maybe even a few years, while your business builds. Most small businesses need venture capital funding to get off the ground and start churning a profit. There are plenty of firms out there that invest in new businesses, but they, most likely, all want to see proof of concept before investing.

Making the transition from college life to living in the so called “real world” is tough- for me it was tougher than I imagined it would be. Being financially savvy is one thing that can make the transition a lot easier.

 

photo source: Grads Absorb the NewsKit from Pittsburgh, USA