这个假日季,使你的投资策略保持明智的小贴士

由Nicole Dugan撰写 即使你在整年中都将储蓄和投资股票放在首位,假日季也常常会破坏你的月度财政预算。从赠送礼物到筹备假日派对,12月总是一个使我们中许多人忘记原先的预算计划而进行过度消费的时间。这里有一些在假日里帮助你将开支保持在正轨上的小贴士,这样你就不会放弃你的储蓄和投资目标了。

数字的游戏

为了在假日期间坚持你的预算计划,你首先必须创建一个出来!从制定一个礼物购买清单开始并给每一个你想送礼的人设定一个金额上限。如果你非常了解对于清单上的每一个人自己愿意花费多少来购买礼物,将会使得坚持预算和避免在购买礼物上过度挥霍变得更加容易。

制定作战计划

有计划地购物。如果你对清单上的每个人的礼物心中有数,你就比较不容易冲动购物。通过精确定位你想购买的礼物,你可以在网上比较它们的价格从而省出一笔钱来。你或许可以在其中一家店铺以更便宜的价格买到另一家店铺中相同的商品,因此在你访问商场之前花一些时间上上网,从长期看来可以帮你达到节省的目的。

关于钱的一切

我们都知道假日是很昂贵的。除了购买礼物之外,你还要烤无数批饼干、购入许多装饰品。你或许会被邀请去一两个节日派对,这意味着你将有一笔给女主人的礼物的意料外开支。因此,任何可能的精简开支都是十分重要的。比如,若你与朋友们将参与一个秘密圣诞或是交换礼物活动,尽可能设定一个价格限制。你朋友们的钱包会感谢你的。

变得挑剔

并非所有支付方式都是生来平等的。在一个完美的世界中,你应该在六月时开始为假日存钱,然后带着现金走进商场去挑选你所有的礼物。在现实中,这并不总是可行的。尽你所能用现金或是借记卡支付你所有的购买开支。如果你必须使用信用卡,就选择那张年利率最低的,并设定一个计划在接下来的几个月内还清它。你甚至可以考虑把你的信用卡余额转移到一张第一年贷款利率为0%的卡里。然后你需要做的就是在一年之内还清它。

给你自己一份礼物

即使你把储蓄和每月投资固定的资金作为优先事情来处理,你可能也很难在假日季里依然保持留存一部分资金,因为你的钱夹太紧张了。接受这个事实,留存任何你可以留存出来的资金——多少都可以。允许你自己参与到假日庆典中去,但是确保给自己留出一小部分储蓄——你值得犒劳自己。

如果你依照这些小贴士创建了一个假日季的支出计划,你将不需要完全放弃之前承诺自己的投资计划。尽一切努力坚持你的预算,并跟自己保证所有的礼物都打包好之后无论剩下多少资金都会进行投资。

Tips for keeping your investing strategy in tact this holiday season

By Nicole Dugan Even if you have made it a priority to save and invest in stocks throughout the year, the holiday season can often throw a wrench in your monthly budget. From gift-giving to prepping for holiday parties, the month of December is a time when many of us forget about our budgets and over-spend. Here’s some tips to help you stay on track with spending this holiday season so that you don’t forgo your saving and investing goals.

The numbers game

In order to stick to your budget during the holidays, you first have to create a one! Start by making note of who you are purchasing gifts for and set an amount for each person. When you know exactly how much you are willing to spend on each person on your list, it makes it easier to stay on track and prevent splurging on gifts you can’t afford.

Create a Plan of Attack

Shop with a plan. If you have an idea of what you want to get each person on your list, you are less likely to shop impulsively. By pinpointing the gifts you want to purchase, you can save money by comparing the price of the items online. You may be able to get the same product cheaper at one store versus another, so taking the time to surf the internet before hitting the mall may save you money in the long run.

It’s all about the money

We all know the holidays are expensive. On top of purchasing gifts, there’s the countless batches of cookies you have to bake and the decorations to think of. You may get invited to a holiday party or two, which could mean the unexpected expense of a host of hostess gift. So, it’s important to cut costs when and where you can.  If you are participating in a secret Santa or gift exchange with friends, for example, suggest a price limit. Your friends’ wallets will thank you.

Be Picky

Not all payment methods are created equal. In a perfect world, you would start saving for the holidays in June and then walk into the mall with cash to purchase all your gifts. In reality, this isn’t always feasible. Make every effort to make your purchases with cash or debit card. If you have to use your credit card, select the one with the lowest APR and devise a strategy for paying it off in the coming months. You might even consider transferring your credit card balance to a card that has 0% APR for the first year. Then, you just need to make sure to pay off the balance before the year is up!

Give Yourself a Gift Too

Even if you have made it a priority to save and invest a certain amount each month, you may not be able to put aside that same amount during the holiday season due to the extra strain on your wallet. Accept this, and put aside whatever amount you can- anything counts. Allow yourself to participate in holiday festivities, but make sure to put aside a small amount of savings for yourself- you deserve it.

If you follow these tips to create a spending plan for the holiday season, you won’t need to completely abandon the investing strategy you have previously committed yourself to. Make every effort to stick to your budget and promise yourself to invest whatever is left over after every gift has been wrapped.