新的一年对于你的财务意味着什么

由2015年夏季实习生康纳尔大学Kayleigh Yerdon撰写 让我们先祝所有人2016年快乐!午夜的钟声敲响,每一个新年都不可避免地伴随着各种各样的问题和个人评估。2016年的开始也不会不同。在混乱的铃声中迎来新的一年,我们很多人可能会问自己,我能做什么使得明年比去年更好?我该从哪里开始实现我的长期目标呢?而最常见的问题是,在即将到来的新年里我可以做什么规划来提升自己呢?

许多人都做新年规划。最常见的规划就像我们在2015年开始时制定的那样诸如“健身”和“吃得健康些”。事实上,近70%的受访者在2015年作出了类似的规划。当人们忙着为新年计划改变时,常常会忽略新年所带来的改变——尤其是金融方面。毕竟,事情总是随着时间的流逝变化的!以下是新年可能带给你的财务上的转变:

  1. 新年,新配置

尽管道琼斯指数年末与年初相比几乎没什么变化,但全球市场在2015年是不稳定的。随着市场的变化,你的投资组合中包含的资产和资产类别也许已经做出了相应的改变。每个资产和资产类别在你的投资组合中体现的比率或许也已经与年初时的不同。你应该定期重新衡量自己的投资组合(在每年开始的时候或者更经常性地这样做,这取决于你的策略)以期与你的风险承受力水平保持一致。

  1. 欢迎来到奖金季

新年对于许多人来说与奖金季的意义不谋而合。如果你近期收到或者正在期待一笔奖金——那么现在是用你额外的钱来做计划的好时机。用你的奖金支付债务或者把一些额外的钱用于投资——任何额外的、意外得到的钱都可以利用!

  1. 全球性的2016

查看一下国家大势。持续了解国际发展实事和新闻。2016年可能你不仅需要在你的家乡投资,还需要在全球市场上进行投资。无论这是某个国家产业的成功还是其他国家与你的国家之间汇率的成功——今年可能是你开始着手进一步扩大和多样化你的投资组合的一年。

  1. 当心利率上调

说到利率上调——近期美国加息和暗示未来利率的增加无疑会引发2016年市场的波动。这当然是2015年的一个巨大变化,尤其这是自2008年美联储最后一次改变利率以来的首次利率变化。因此,进入2016年,你也许会在制定个人投资计划时将这个因素纳入考量。如果波动性吓到了你,你可以选择一些投资风险更小的投资策略。

  1. 无意识的浪费?

在新的一年,审核你的自动订阅账单也是非常明智的行为。你有订阅杂志、音乐流媒体服务或其他付费项目吗?你应该在年底考虑检查你的订阅项目,评估你仍在使用的项目,并去寻找更具价格优势的折扣。这样你就不会被自动订阅(重新续费)你不再想使用的服务。

  1. 制定计划

当你走进2016年的时候,记住要为突发事件留出一些额外的资金。你不会知道今年等着你的是什么(希望都是好事!),但是你需要做好准备。

当开始制定你的新年规划和改变时,记住所有的变化本质上是随着每个新年的到来而变化的。新年对于你的金融和投资策略肯定意味着新的变化。我们希望2016年你可以开心、健康、财务顺利!

What the New Year Means for You Financially

By Kayleigh Yerdon, Summer Intern 2015, Cornell University Let’s start by saying, happy 2016, everyone! The stroke of midnight that kicks off each New Year inevitably comes with a variety of questions and personal assessments. The start of 2016 will be no different. Amidst the chaos of ringing in a new year, many of us may have found ourselves asking, what can I change to make next year better than last year? Where do I stand in terms of reaching my long-term goals? And most commonly, what resolutions can I make in order to improve myself in the coming year?

Many people make New Year’s resolutions. The most common resolutions as we began 2015 were things like “get fit” and “eat healthy.” In fact, nearly 70% of those polled going into 2015 had made similar resolutions. While people are busy making changes for the New Year, people overlook changes that the New Year might make for them – especially financial ones. Things change as time goes by, after all! Here is what the turn of a new year could mean for you financially:

  1. New Year, New Allocation

Although the Dow ended almost unchanged, globally the markets had a volatile 2015. As the markets moved, the assets and asset classes represented in your portfolio may have shifted accordingly. The percentages of each asset or asset class represented in your portfolio now may be very different than the percentages you began with. You should regularly rebalance your portfolio (at the beginning of each year or more often, depending on your strategy) in order to stay in line with your risk tolerance.

  1. Welcome to Bonus Season

The New Year is known to coincide with bonus season for many people. If you have recently received or are expecting a bonus – now is a good time to make a plan for what to do with your extra money. Use your bonus to pay off debt or put a little extra cash into your investments – any extra, unexpected money can help!

  1. A Global 2016

Look at national trends. Get up to date with international developments and the news. 2016 may be the year for you to not only keep investments in your home country, but also start to invest globally. Whether it’s the successes of certain national industries or exchange rates between other countries and your own – this year might start you looking to further expand and diversify your investment portfolio.

  1. Look Out For Rate Hikes

And speaking of rate hikes – a recent US rate hike and talk of future interest rate increases will no doubt spark some volatility in the markets in 2016. This is certainly a big change coming out of 2015, especially since 2008 was the last time the Federal Reserve changed interest rates. So, going into 2016, you may want to consider this volatility and factor it into your personal investing plan. If volatility scares you, you may consider choosing a less risky investment strategy.

  1. Automatic Waste?

With the turn of a new year, it is also wise to review your automatic bills. Have you subscribed to any magazines, music streaming services, or other paid programs? You should consider checking your subscriptions at the end of each year, assessing which ones you still use, and searching for better competing deals. This way you wont be automatically re-subscribed (and re-charged) for services that you no longer use.

  1. Have a Plan

As you walk into 2016, remember to keep a little extra money for surprises. You never know what’s in store for you this year (hopefully good things!), but you always want to be prepared.

As you begin making your own New Year’s resolutions and changes, keep in mind the changes that come inherently with each New Year. The New Year can certainly mean new things for your finances and investing strategy. We wish you a happy, healthy, and financially successful 2016!