政治与投资的碰撞

由2015夏季实习生 康奈尔大学 Kayliegh Yerdon撰写 就在媒体对于即将来临的总统大选进行越来越多的报道的时候,我们也开始思考政治新闻是如何影响我们的日常生活的。想想看——最近一次你在一整天中没有听说任何有关选举、候选人、或者重要的政治话题是什么时候?这个问题最常见的回答是:很久以前。

如果你试着想想政治新闻如何对我们的几乎整个人生产生影响,事情将会更加有趣。在我们可以完全理解周围的世界之前,我们的父母更可能基于他们所得到的信息做一些关于我们的重要决定——而我们则在一旁观察和学习。从这一点来说,我们中的许多人可能在那时就开始阅读或倾听不同的新闻资源。此外,我们在一生中身边可能都有许多在政治方面刚愎自用的人们。因此,我们周围的资源就成为了我们做决定时的影响因素。我们可能喜欢或者不喜欢我们所听说的某些事,并对它们做出相应的反应。

但是,如果政治对我们的生活影响如此大,它们不会对我们的投资方式同样也产生影响吗?思考一下:如果一个人只想购买国内的商品,他们可能也只考虑投资那些国内公司的股票。如果另一个人只对特定的某种劳动实践感兴趣,那些从事此类实践的公司就会对其更具吸引力。

实际上,政治观点属于投资定义中的“内在价值”。在投资世界中,我们使用“内在价值”这个短语来描述一家公司的实际价值——既包含这家公司的有形资产价值也包含它对于投资者的情感价值。这是真的:我们更倾向于投资那些我们真正喜欢或是从根本上认同的公司。

虽然了解你所投资的公司永远是个好主意,但对于所有投资者来说平凡又简单的一个建议是意识到你自己内心的偏见。如果按照你的政治信念调整自己的投资组合,你可能会错失一些你甚至没有意识到的重要投资机会。此外,在一些重大的政治活动时期(例如选举),股市的波动通常会被放大。因此,当白宫的政策改变时,缩小你投资的产业或者公司的选择范围可能会使你的投资组合承受巨大的变化。

在政治论战时期,作为一名投资者,认知到自己内在的政治偏见并基于股票的合法的长期或短期潜能做出合理化的投资决定将是十分明智的。下周请查阅可能对我们的投资决定产生影响的心理偏见的列表!

Where Politics and Investing Collide

By Kayliegh Yerdon, Summer Intern 2015, Cornell University While the impending presidential election continues to become more heavily covered in the media, we’re inclined to think about how much political news really affects our every day lives. Think about it – when is the last time you went a whole day and didn’t hear about an election, a candidate, or a big political issue? Most common answer to that question: a very long time ago.

What’s even more interesting to think about is how political news has affected each and every one of us for almost our whole lives. Before we could fully comprehend the world around us, our parents most likely made our big decisions based on the information they had – and we watched and learned. From that point, many of us probably started reading or listening to our own different news sources. Furthermore, we have probably all surrounded ourselves with politically opinionated people throughout our lives. So, the sources around us become the influences of our decisions. We either like or dislike the things we hear and we act accordingly.

But, if politics affect so much of our lives, could they not affect our investing styles, too? Think about it: if a person believes in only purchasing domestic goods, chances are they’d only consider investing in the stocks of domestic companies. If another person believes in certain labor practices, companies who employ those practices may instantly become more appealing.

In fact, political views are part of the investing definition of “intrinsic value.” In the investing world, we use the phrase “intrinsic value” to describe the actual value of a company – which is comprised both of its tangible value and the sentimental value it holds to the investor. And it’s true: we’re more likely to invest in companies that we really like or actually fundamentally agree with.

While knowing the companies you’re investing in is always a great idea, some plain and simple advice for all investors is to be conscious of your own biases. By adjusting your portfolio according to your political beliefs, you might be missing out on important investing opportunities that you didn’t even know you had. Furthermore, in times of great political activity (such as elections), the stock markets have generally seen amplified volatility. So, narrowing down your industry choices or company investments might subject your portfolio to great change when the policies of the White House change.

In times of political controversy, it is always smart as an investor to recognize your inherent political biases and instead rationalize each investment decision you make based on the stock’s legitimate long or short term potential. Check back in next week for a full list of the psychological biases that lead to our investment decisions!